Ethel needs her forever home

 

All profits from my book, The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap are going to support SPARC and help wonderful fury friends like Ethel find their forever homes. SPARC is the first and only no-kill animal shelter in Ventura County, a county that has over a million residents.
About The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

The year 1895 was filled with memorable historical events: the Dreyfus Affair divided France; Booker T. Washington gave his Atlanta address; Richard Olney, United States Secretary of State, expanded the effects of the Monroe Doctrine in settling a boundary dispute between the United Kingdom and Venezuela; and Oscar Wilde was tried and convicted for "gross indecency" under Britian's recently passed law that made sex between males a criminal offense. When the news of Wilde's conviction went out over telegraphs worldwide, it threw a small Nevada town into chaos. This is the story of what happened when the lives of its citizens were impacted by the news of Oscar Wildes' imprisonment. It is chronicle of hatred and prejudice with all its unintended and devastating consequences, and how love and friendship bring strength and healing. Paulette Mahurin, the author, is a Nurse Practitioner who lives in Ojai, California with her husband Terry and their two dogs--- Max and Bella. She practices women's health in a rural clinic and writes in her spare time. All profits from her book are going to animal rescue, Santa Paula Animal Shelter, the first and only no-kill shelter in Ventura County, CA, where she lives. (see links below on Ventura County Star Article & Shelter) To find out more please go the The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap on facebook or Amazon or e-mail us at the gavatar addresses. Thank you. (photos: of Paulette, her family, and a reading at The Ojai Art Center, July 2012)
This entry was posted in DOGS NEED HOME. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Ethel needs her forever home

  1. lionelsnod says:

    I so hope that Ethel finds her forever home! What a lovely dog. My wife desperately wants another dog, but since I live in Illinois, unfortunately I can’t have Ethel :( We will however, visit our local, no-kill, animal shelter here to find him/her. I have JoJo from there and will always support them anyway I can. What a wonderful thing you’re doing. God bless!

    Paul R. Hewlett

  2. At least Ethel did not land in a kill shelter. She’s at SPARC (the first and only no-kill in the large county where we live). Thank you, Paul, for adopting yours from a shelter. Blessing your you & yours, including JoJo. :-)

  3. Such a pretty and sweet looking dog. I hope she is afopted soon. I am so glad that you are in a position to donate your book earnings to the rescue center. It is very generous of you.

    • Thank you so much. Yes, I feel very fortunate with my life that I am able to donate the profits (and thankfully we’ve gotten a check to them every month for a while now). My husband and I do not have children, outside of our dogs, and are both professional people who have been blessed with being able to help and to help the dogs/cats in this shelter while also promoting the no-kill shelter idea is something I’m deeply passionate about. Happy Holidays to you and yours.

  4. What a loving and adorable face. I hope she gets a home just right for her and some person who will be a great match for her. I have spent years working with animals wild and domestic. And in our large home, we took in stray cats and I cleaned them up, gave them their shots as I am a vet tech and had them tested for leukemia, distemper, parasites. Then I socialized them and it seemed that I rarely had to advertise as I’d get calls. And I believe that in 95% of the situations the owner and pet was the right match. I still hear from some of the people who got a cat from me. I use to think that every animal had to be saved, but in my work, realized from a heartfelt way, that some animals have just been abused or neglected so much that it is like people with PTSD and they are so miserable and never quite have the life you so hoped for. Unfortunately I wish there were homes for all animals, but know that with our world economic system that isn’t realistic. Many animals people can’t afford to keep now are being dumped or going to shelters and as the homelessless and woes of people’s financial life is being altered, the ones to suffer first are the pets. I would much rather in love see an animal quietly and humanely euthanized that live it’s life out on the mean cold streets of the world, fighting for food, shelter, love and medical care. I appreciate those who help the animals and nature. Your hearts are in a good place.
    Yisraela

  5. cindy knoke says:

    Oh I love her! She looks like she has some St. Bernard. Some day soon…….We have a REally big yard!

    • Oh wouldn’t that be wonderful. When that day comes please share photos. All new fury kids welcome here, along with their people. And, yes, I saw her face and thought exactly what you wrote, Oh I love her! And, the name, Ethel, is so darn cute. She needs to go to a family with other dogs named, Lucy, Ricky and Fred, lol. :-)

  6. She looks so sweet. You’re an angel for the work that you do to help these beautiful souls.

  7. I know, she’s sooooooo sweet looking. Thankfully, she’s landed in the only no-kill shelter in the large county I live in and has a great chance at being adopted. :-)

  8. Animals are so easy to love.

  9. natuurfreak says:

    What a lovely dog.I hope he find a place were they love him forever

  10. fournier0917 says:

    You already know how much I admire and appreciate Paulette’ s bigheartedness, so I shall go directly to wishing Ethel continued “bonne chance” in the quest for her new welcoming home! JJ

Leave a Reply

