Paradox of our Age

The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap:

Lot of wisdom and truth here which is sad. I wish there was something counter to post along with it, like how the people of Bhutan live (with their GNP being happiness) and the exiled Tibetan’s whose faces glow in photos and the villages in Africa where the people live off the land and they joyfully dance and laugh. I don’t know how much of that exists but the western culture can sure learn from it. If anyone has any links to things like that please feel free to share/post here. Happy day to all my cyber family out there.

Originally posted on My Daily Minefield:

paradox of our time

The authorship of this essay has been attributed to everyone from the comedian George Carlin to His Holiness, The Dalai Lama.  According to the best facts I can find, the author is Dr. Bob Moorehead, the former pastor of Seattle’s Overlake Christian Church.  This is a truncated version of his original writing, which can be found at  http://www.snopes.com/politics/soapbox/paradox.asp

View original

About The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

The year 1895 was filled with memorable historical events: the Dreyfus Affair divided France; Booker T. Washington gave his Atlanta address; Richard Olney, United States Secretary of State, expanded the effects of the Monroe Doctrine in settling a boundary dispute between the United Kingdom and Venezuela; and Oscar Wilde was tried and convicted for "gross indecency" under Britian's recently passed law that made sex between males a criminal offense. When the news of Wilde's conviction went out over telegraphs worldwide, it threw a small Nevada town into chaos. This is the story of what happened when the lives of its citizens were impacted by the news of Oscar Wildes' imprisonment. It is chronicle of hatred and prejudice with all its unintended and devastating consequences, and how love and friendship bring strength and healing. Paulette Mahurin, the author, is a Nurse Practitioner who lives in Ojai, California with her husband Terry and their two dogs--- Max and Bella. She practices women's health in a rural clinic and writes in her spare time. All profits from her book are going to animal rescue, Santa Paula Animal Shelter, the first and only no-kill shelter in Ventura County, CA, where she lives. (see links below on Ventura County Star Article & Shelter) To find out more please go the The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap on facebook or Amazon or e-mail us at the gavatar addresses. Thank you. (photos: of Paulette, her family, and a reading at The Ojai Art Center, July 2012)
This entry was posted in REBLOGS. Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Paradox of our Age

  1. saymber says:

    My husband and I were talking about these things just yesterday – technology has created the illusion of a connected world. We were talking about cell phones and how people are so obsessed with them and other media devices. It’s panic and a catastrophe to miss a call or text – most people are living far away from family and friends…a far cry from our ancestral past of villages, small towns, campfires and homesteads. Most of our friends are cyber friends and I think that’s true for a lot of people who are in places where they don’t really fit in with tangible people. It is a true dilemma for us – we loathe what technology has done in the same breathe as we are grateful for it! Reblogged!

    • Boy, you said it! I have a friend who calls her son from her cell phone, texts him, and they live in the same house! It’s part of the reason we’re an obese society, cause we don’t get off our butts and move to do something. The double edge sword is there with the things technology helps with but the lack of up front and personal relating is taking its toll on our civilized society. I could go on and on with this one. Thanks a ton for stopping by and chatting. Appreciated! Glad you reblogged.

  2. saymber says:

    Reblogged this on saymberblondi and commented:
    The dilemma of a world with or without technology….to loathe or embrace it? How do we find balance with it?

  3. tazzielove says:

    Island cultures in the South Pacific where geography requires people to get along may be one, like The Cook Island.

  4. FlaHam says:

    Thank you for sharing this, I have seen it in other forms over the years, and even in different context, but the validity has never changed. Take care, Bill

    • Hi Bill, Agree with what you wrote, good point – the double edge sword of advancement and changes in various forms. The breakdown of the central family with kids (babies) having babies, populations exploding, coupled with technology is a dilemma of magnitude that is going to change the future in ways I can’t even comprehend. Have a good day, friend.

  5. So sad, so true. And I am guilty of playing in to some of it. Though becoming more and more aware of how. And trying to change, albeit slowly. But making the efforts.

    • Honestly, Colleen, I think that’s probably true for most of us, myself included. It’s the balance that’s important, to not throw the baby out with the bathwater. There’s so much I can improve on and it’s fine and dandy for me to be on my Monday morning soap box but really truth be told, I’m with you. Doesn’t change how I feel about it. Does that make me a hypocrite? Who knows.

      • I am not always aware of it….it is like a slow awakening for me. It’s when I sit back and contemplate how I am spending my time, and what I am doing, and who I am doing it with or for… It’s when I contemplate that I become more aware. But in the busy-ness of life it becomes hard to see….again. Because there is so much we “have” to do. It’s in the quiet moments, which are rare.

        I don’t think we are hypocrites. I’ve learned through many lessons and flat out being told…that there is a huge step between that recognition and the actual changes.

        We ask: Do I need to lose weight (or stop drinking, or stop taking drugs, or stop neglecting….etc)

        We say: Yes

        HUGE GAP

        Taking steps to make the changes. :)

        (Sorry, I get chatty! :) )

      • Please don’t ever apologize for being chatty. All you say is so welcome here and I learn from it. Say as much as you want, any time. What I meant by the hypocrite statement was referring to my love/hate relationship with the technology. What I am aware of that I sometimes feel guilty about. For example, I get glued to my computer screen at the expense of my husband and dogs at times. Sometimes when I’m writing and other times when I’m just nosing around at blogs or reading something and should stop. The times I think I do know better. So is my complaining about the downside of technology hypocritical when I’m a culprit? That’s what I meant.

        What you wrote about the recognition, the becoming aware of it, the gap, and little steps of changes… great point. I liked that a lot. Thanks! :-)

  6. natuurfreak says:

    Tecniek and progress are not bad but we must use it as it is needed and find the golden path to a sensible use .Hope you can understand my bad Englisch

  7. It is definitely hard to find a balance; but I think we must if we are to advance as a civilization. But if it weren’t for technology, we wouldn’t know how bad some things are nor how good other things are. I hear people wanting to go back to a simpler time, but I don’t think it was simpler. We still had problems then, we just didn’t know about them quite as fast.

    • Excellent point. It is in the balance, but it seems like “we’re” a little out of balance with losing some of the interpersonal relating in our western culture. I may be wrong, just how it seems to me where technology has infused. But, all that said and once again to repeat, I’m all for balance. On the bad things and good things, I wish we’d hear more about the good things, that also seems a little out of whack, as far as news goes, but hey you said it perfectly, we had problems then and the human condition is what it is. Really appreciate your input.

  8. I agree we have a huge disconnect. Everyone’s staring at a screen, large or small, not talking to each other even at dinner.

    On the other hand, we have this technology to help us. Hope this walk on the funny side cheers everyone up a little bit. I live with my daughter and her family. They live upstairs and I live downstairs. We do not simply run up or down the stairs–barge in–when one of us needs something. We phone each other first. That was our deal. Guess what. They don’t pick up the phone most of the time because they’re busy.

    Yesterday I went downtown to a function with two lady friends. I drove. I don’t know how I did it because my car beeps, but I left my lights on. So, click, click, the battery was dead when we returned. I’ve not decided if I should renew my cell so didn’t have one. One of the ladies had her cell but the battery was low. The other lady had one too but didn’t know exactly how it worked. Finally we managed and called roadside assistance (CAA)–what did we do in the OLD days?

    The CAA driver couldn’t find city hall and the parking lot we called from. He had a GPS but didn’t know the street address. He finally sort of found us when he called and we directed him.

    Sometimes technology isn’t so smart, or is it the operator? Haha.

  9. I imagine in all eras that there were paradoxes. Why? Because life is full of them, meaning people are full of them. ;)

  10. That is most honest and cleverly put.
    Yisraela

  11. seeker says:

    I think I’ll just rely on you to find good writers in the web. You seem to have an uncanny ability to find them. Thanks for bringing this Paradox, I always enjoy reading this.

  12. adinparadise says:

    All very true. Our values do seem to have become skewed, and I’m sure people aren’t happier just because they have more stuff.

    • Agree about not being happier because of more stuff. I can see the advantage tech has to lend to more convenience which has a quality benefit but the “stuff” factor vs. valuing relationships, nature, animals, art, etc. that’s where a lot suffers, in my humble opinion.

  13. supernova says:

    Super post, I hope mankind can take on the lessons and message these give :-) James

  14. Clowie says:

    There’s a lot of truth in it and it’s sad.
    But one positive thought about social media – amongst all the nonsense that’s out there people do manage to forge connections with like-minded people and do some good. It isn’t always easy to find someone with shared interests locally.

    • Leave it up to you, my friend Clowie, to point out this great value and it’s so true as I sit her communicating with you and appreciating you and your biped so much, which would never have happened without the technology. Appreciate your wisdom, my friend.

  15. Lada Ray says:

    So true, all of it… :)

  16. 68ghia says:

    All very true Paulette.
    Not much we can do to change it I’m afraid…

Leave a Reply

