My girl Bella and my computer are in the hospital

We went out for two hours yesterday and when we returned Bella wouldn’t move,

had a severely swollen hind right leg, was shivering, and very lethargic. Terry

carried her to the car and into the vet’s office. She had a 106 temp. She was

X-rayed, started on three different antibiotics, had blood drawn, and measures

to quickly reduce temp, IVs started. Today, her temp broke and is normal, she’s

walking, eating, doing her stuff, but that leg is still swollen and a puncture wound

was seen so it’s been diagnosed as a septic joint until we hear differently about

the lab work. She won’t be out of the woods until the infection/inflammation

clears. She’s in real good hands but with this we have our hands full.

And, my computer crapped out so I had to buy another one. The new one

is waiting arrival and info being transferred. Terry’s been gracious to lend

me his to do some catch up. I may be off line for a bit. Who knows how

long. Meanwhile, I’ll be thinking of all my great cyber friends and wishing

you happy days and peaceful nights.

About The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

The year 1895 was filled with memorable historical events: the Dreyfus Affair divided France; Booker T. Washington gave his Atlanta address; Richard Olney, United States Secretary of State, expanded the effects of the Monroe Doctrine in settling a boundary dispute between the United Kingdom and Venezuela; and Oscar Wilde was tried and convicted for "gross indecency" under Britian's recently passed law that made sex between males a criminal offense. When the news of Wilde's conviction went out over telegraphs worldwide, it threw a small Nevada town into chaos. This is the story of what happened when the lives of its citizens were impacted by the news of Oscar Wildes' imprisonment. It is chronicle of hatred and prejudice with all its unintended and devastating consequences, and how love and friendship bring strength and healing. Paulette Mahurin, the author, is a Nurse Practitioner who lives in Ojai, California with her husband Terry and their two dogs--- Max and Bella. She practices women's health in a rural clinic and writes in her spare time. All profits from her book are going to animal rescue, Santa Paula Animal Shelter, the first and only no-kill shelter in Ventura County, CA, where she lives. (see links below on Ventura County Star Article & Shelter) To find out more please go the The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap on facebook or Amazon or e-mail us at the gavatar addresses. Thank you. (photos: of Paulette, her family, and a reading at The Ojai Art Center, July 2012)
This entry was posted in PERSONAL POSTS. Bookmark the permalink.

108 Responses to My girl Bella and my computer are in the hospital

  1. Adam Hughes says:

    oh I am sorry to hear that. I hope she get’s better soon

  2. tazzielove says:

    Your computer knows you need to take care of The Bella.

  3. Thinking of y’all, Paw– all good thoughts for you and Bella. BIG hug

  4. ladysighs says:

    I am so sorry to read this. What could have happened to her while you were away? I know you are giving her good care.
    Sorry about the computer….but nice to have a new one. But I hate getting used to new things. Seems nothing works like the old stuff. Enjoy your off line time and give all your love to Bella. :)

    • The vet thinks it was a spider or some lethal bug bite. Rule out tick with a blood test. She’s home and resting but won’t be out of the woods entirely for another 3-4 days. Computer stuff another story all together – but compared to situation with Bella not a biggie right now. I can confiscate Terry’s to get a few answers off. Have a good weekend.

  5. Oh No!! Precious sweet Bella, I am so so sorry this happened to her. I will be watching for updates, paw hugs, Savannah

  6. I hope all continues well with Bella…such a nasty shock.
    Thinking of you all.

    • You’d think after all these years of having dogs with all sorts of ailments and working in a very busy ER that I wouldn’t be shocked but honestly Helen this scared me. It was so fast and she was so ill. But, she’s turned a corner and is perking up. So fingers crossed there won’t be any set backs and our two year old girl will be around for many more years.

  7. I hope Bella makes a speedy recovery.

  8. Oh dear, the whole pack sends healing love and light to Bella! xoxoxo, Mama, Ku, Nalle, Zoe, and Apollo

  9. Ouch. Double whammy. Hope Bella is on the mend pronto. Sorry to hear about the computer. I have the idea technology these days are meant to last a limited length of time.

  10. natuurfreak says:

    So this was een day full of problems.Hope Bella will be better soon. and a new computer gives also problems a fdew days learning all the new things and starting in high speed haha.

  11. bert0001 says:

    wishing a speedy recovery

  12. Bad things certainly always seem to happen in sets :( I hope Bella and your computer issues get better soon.

    • Thank you so much. She’s home and stable and so far so good. Fingers crossed she’ll remain that way. The vet said she went into caridac shock with that high fever. That was scary but it is behind us and I feel hopeful that was the worse and we’re in a down hill coast from there. Sure do appreciate your support.

  13. barb19 says:

    So sorry to hear Bella is not well – I hope they find out soon why her leg is swollen like that; at least her temp. has gone back to normal. What a worry – and now your computer is sick too. . . it never rains but it pours!
    Thinking of you and Bella.

    • Thank you so much, Barb. They ruled out tick borne illness with blood work and the vet thinks it was a toxic spider or bug bite. Of all the dogs/pets we’ve had this one was a first with how fast it all happened which really threw us for a loop. She’s only two years old. She’s home now, eating, resting, wagging her tail, but pooped and still low energy. But, I’m hopeful the worse is behind us. Sure do appreciate your support.

  14. ChgoJohn says:

    It’s hard to see your dog suffer. I hope the tests come back quickly, she responds to the treatment, and is back on all fours real soon.

    • That’s so true. She does seem to be responding to the antibiotics in that her fever broke and has remained down now for several hours, she’s eating okay, and has started to wag her tail again. She’s resting pretty much non-stop but she’s home and I’m sure that will make a big difference to her, being with us and her brother, Max. Thank you so much for your supportive words.

  15. Mags Corner says:

    Keeping your sweet Bella in our thoughts and prayers. We hope she will be back doing wonderfully well very soon. Hoping the new computer is to you and ready to go very soon too. Hugs and nose kisses

  16. Oh no! Best wishes to Bella, sending her sloppy dog kisses. You’re a good mom!

  17. fournier0917 says:

    I’m lost for words ay this sorry piece of luck you have just suffered. The good side is Bella pulling thru. Though we may not hear from you for a few days due to computer problems, you remain in our thoughts as always.

    Rest up, be well and have a good weekend with Terry and your furry family. Jean-Jacques

    • Bless your sweet heart for your kind words and friendship. I can use Terry’s computer to post a few comments and don’t mind being off the grid for a while. Probably good thing for the next few days while we ensure Bella remains stable and heals up completely. She’s so happy to be home, sleeping in her own bed. A very special wag from her to you and yours.

  18. Angie says:

    I hope Bella will be feeling better soon and the medication fixes her up quickly!

  19. Angeline M says:

    Sending hugs to Bella!

  20. So sorry, Paulette. I hope Bella is better soon ~ hugs ~ Amelia <3

  21. Clanmother says:

    Oh no!!! You are all in my thoughts and prayers. And give Bella a big hug from me. Funny how our computers have come to mean something more than a machine – they are the conduits of communication. Take good care!!!

    • Thank you so much , Rebecca. We need all the good energy we can get. Bella was doing fine but then this morning couldn’t keep her breakfast down which is a problem because she needs the antibiotics to stay in her system. If we can’t resolve that it’s back to the hospital. Appreciate your loving support along with all our wonderful other cyber family.

  22. Teepee12 says:

    Was Bella bitten by something maybe? Spider? Snake? Hugs to her and you. Being without a computer is like missing a limb … and having your dog sick and the same time is double awfulness. I’ll still be here when you get back.

    • Thank you so much. The vet thinks it was a spider or some toxic bug bite that infected her limb and spread to her other organs (septicemia). In all the years, with all the dogs we’ve rescued, fostered, adopted, I’ve never experienced something like this, so sudden. Every day behind us that she’s stable is a good day.

  23. gita4elamats says:

    Poor Bella and poor you! Sending healing love and hugs from Tara and me. Hang in there, precious Bella and get well real soon. How’s Max? {{{HUGS}}} xoxox.

    • Tara and your healing love and hugs was exactly what was needed and a huge thank you. Overall Max is doing well, but we have to keep them separated which means one of us with Max and the other keeping an eye on Bella and trust me Max is sucking it for every bit of attention he can get. Hugs and tons of love back to you all. Auntie Paw

      • gita4elamats says:

        I’ve been following the comments and am so glad that Bella is picking up. I thought that Max would be worried about her. {{{HUGS}}} xoxox and wags from Tara. :D

      • She’s doing much better today. Ate almost an hour ago and kept it down. We’ve been giving her yogurt and probiotics so hope that helps keep her stomach calm to continue to keep the antibiotics in. The swelling in her leg’s gone down and all else is looking up. Max was skittish when she first came home, wanting to sniff her, and acting like he wasn’t quite sure about it all. Probably cause it happened so quickly and we were all in shock and worry. We’ve pretty much had to keep them separated except for a few times during the day when I’ll hold him (in my lap!) while Terry hangs with Bella so they get their together time. Thanks for checking in. Love to ya’ll.

  24. I am so sory that Bella is ill. I pray that your sweet girl will soon be well. And I do hope that your computer problem is sorted out soon. My computer problems began in the spring and I have “limped along” with my old HP. I got at new one but Lisa is using it until her HP is repaired by HP. Hers is less than 2 years old and the warrranty is still good. My computer is missing 17 keys as the resultl of one spoiled cat sitting on the keyboard with me trying to pry her off the keys. Such is life when we have pets. I am sending positive karma Bella’s way. I know that you have been and are still worried about your baby. ~yvonne

    • Thank you so much, Yvonne, for your words of support on both counts. Oh no, on all those missing keys on your computer. Some day it’ll make a funny story, all for the love of a kitty. Bella really appreciates the positive karma and needs it. She turned a corner when her temp broke yesterday but then this morning didn’t keep her breakfast down. We’re doing one-on-one with her to keep her calm and try to keep the food and antibiotics down so she doesn’t have to go back to the hospital. She’s taking it all in stride and her tail is wagging while Max is moaning for his lion’s share of the attention. You know how it goes. xoxox

  25. kanzensakura says:

    I am so glad precious Bella is home. I pray for her continued recovery and peace for you. it is hard when they suffer, isn’t it? I hope all of you get the recuperative rest and the healing you need. Blessings to all of you!

  26. Dear Paulette,
    I hope all goes well for poor Bella, our girls send their love and sisterly healing thoughts.
    Also hope that the computer issue is resolved soon and we can have you back in our cyber world, which is a little empty without your lovely smile!
    C&the gang

    • Bropaw! I knew when Bella had a special wag of her tail this morning she was picking up on some very special furry cousin energy. It had that very special doodle UK vibe to it. You’re a sweetheart and always in my heart. Your words and kindness mean the world to all of us here. Hugs to you and your gang.

  27. Sorry Paulette. I hope everything turns out ok…

  28. seeker says:

    First things first, BELLA! Dear God please have mercy on Bella the love of Paulette’s life. Paulette, take care…

    • Oh she felt that and you just got a special wag. It was a huge relief when her fever broke and we knew she was responding to the antibiotics. Now that she is home to keep them down her with her food is our main mission. We’re pretty hopeful for a really good outcome. Your loving support and kindness means a lot to us. xoxo

  29. BELLA BE WELL!!!!! I am sure your house is full of well wishes for Bella and for those of you who love her. But here’s some more, just in case. <3

  30. Clowie says:

    I hope Bella gets well soon. We’ll still be here, looking after Bella is the most important thing.

    • You understand, Clowie. Right now Terry’s watching her while I confiscated the computer. We’re taking turns and then there’s Max who’s enjoying all the extra attention he’s getting to keep him from whining, “Where’s mine!” Thankfully, she made it through the roughest patch, now to keep her tummy calm so she holds the medication and food down, which has also been a problem but (fingers crossed) I think it’s under control now. Thank you for your big hearted support.

  31. 68ghia says:

    Oh no P!!!
    I hope Bella is allright!

    • Thanks so much, G. She’s coming along and miles better than that first day but still has a few road blocks to pass before out of the woods. She’s happy to be home, getting A-team attention and love. Now just to keep all the medication down so she heals that infection. Take care yourself and have a good weekend. I’ll be thinking of you tonight dancing for your exam. xoxo

  32. Kerry Dwyer says:

    Sorry to hear that Bella is sick. I hop she gets better really quickly.

  33. FlaHam says:

    Paulette, Wishing Bella a speedy recovery!!!! And looking forward to you being part of my day again. Take care, get Bella fully on her feet again, and take care of yourself, Bill

  34. Denise Hisey says:

    Oh, poor Bella. And poor mama!
    Hang in there Paulette.

  35. Paulette, I am so glad to read in the comments that Bella is doing better. I’m sorry I didn’t see this earlier, and there you were stopping by to see me and being so kind and considerate while your baby was going through this health-scare AND dealing with a broken computer to boot. I guess Bella really did need those fur-baby hugs me and my kids sent to yours. Big hugs to you too! Breathe… and love on your little girl. It’s zero fun when our babies are sick, but soooo glad she’s responding to anti-biotics. And take your time away from the blogs if needed–we’ll be here!

    You’re a wonderful person, I’m so happy to “know” you!
    Christy

  36. Poor Bella, give her big hugs from me.

  37. I find it amazing how much pain some of our four-legged friends will endure without ever “telling” us that they are hurt. My dog, Wolfer (who is waiting in Heaven for me) was so pain-tolerant that I had to keep checking him to see if all systems were “go.” He would never “tell” me if they weren’t!

    I just read your update on Bella, so I know she’s on the mend. Whew!

  38. I am sorry to hear Bella is not well. I wish her a speedy recovery. Ya’ll take care.

  39. Kev says:

    Aww, I do hope Bella recovers soon! Dead PC hey? Not much you can do about that,except for what you have done lol

    • Hi Kev, Thank you! Bella was doing great till a few minutes ago when she upchucked her meal and the vet said to stop the antibiotic. Now we keep an eye on her to be sure she remains stable. But, so far so good. She was one pretty sick little furry girl. I got a new MacBook Pro that’s working, yeah!! Hope you’re having a good weekend.

      • Kev says:

        Oh bless her! It pulls at the heartstrings to see an animal ill or even to just think about it. It”s probably because we know they can’t do anything much for themselves and they just suffer whereas we can nip to the chemist or the drs. I don’t know.

      • Hi Kev, I think she felt your blessing cause she’s been wagging and doing better since I last wrote to you. I agree with what you say, we are their guardians and it’s true they can’t just run out to the vet to get what they need, can’t even feed themselves if no access to food. And, they give back so much love and gratitude for so little given to them. Angels they are. So happy to chat with you and sure do appreciate your support. Thank you!

      • gita4elamats says:

        I’m so glad that Bella’s better! Please give her a big hug from me and Tara. One for Max, too. Wags and BOL!

      • Bella thanks you. Max thanks you. Terry thanks you. I thank you. And we all hug Tara, you, and Mats. xoxoxo wag wag.

  40. FreeRangeCow says:

    Aw. I know I am late, but poor Bella! Is she doing better??? :o(

  41. WordsFallFromMyEyes says:

    106 temperature! That is DIRE. She is so well cared for though, which is so very very good.

    • After all the years of rescuing, fostering, adopting dogs that was a first for us to have her go so bad so rapidly. Scared us to death. She was in septic and cardiac shock. Thankfully, we got her in when we did and she’s now recovered. Humbling experience. Thank you so much for your comment on this one.

  42. Aw that is so sad! How is she doing?

  43. So glad to see from the above comment that Bella is doing well now.

Leave a Reply

