A Thank You From Lady Luck

IMG_0402

I feel your love and can’t thank you enough.

I’ve been with my new family, in my new forever home, now for eleven days. It was really hard for me to adjust at first and I was depressed, not wanting to eat, not even wanting to wag my tail. I was confused, wandering around trying to find my real family that I’d been with for what must have been fifteen years. Day by day, after two vets examined me, after baths and massages, after being hand fed, I perked up. Now, I’m doing much better. My appetite isn’t what it used to be but I am eating and I get biped food which is really yummy. My biped mom told me that there are a lot of kind people all over who have wished me well. I wanted to say a huge thank you and that I feel the love. Hope you all feel the love back to you from me.  Wag wag, Lady Luck

About The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

The year 1895 was filled with memorable historical events: the Dreyfus Affair divided France; Booker T. Washington gave his Atlanta address; Richard Olney, United States Secretary of State, expanded the effects of the Monroe Doctrine in settling a boundary dispute between the United Kingdom and Venezuela; and Oscar Wilde was tried and convicted for "gross indecency" under Britian's recently passed law that made sex between males a criminal offense. When the news of Wilde's conviction went out over telegraphs worldwide, it threw a small Nevada town into chaos. This is the story of what happened when the lives of its citizens were impacted by the news of Oscar Wildes' imprisonment. It is chronicle of hatred and prejudice with all its unintended and devastating consequences, and how love and friendship bring strength and healing. Paulette Mahurin, the author, is a Nurse Practitioner who lives in Ojai, California with her husband Terry and their two dogs--- Max and Bella. She practices women's health in a rural clinic and writes in her spare time. All profits from her book are going to animal rescue, Santa Paula Animal Shelter, the first and only no-kill shelter in Ventura County, CA, where she lives. (see links below on Ventura County Star Article & Shelter) To find out more please go the The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap on facebook or Amazon or e-mail us at the gavatar addresses. Thank you. (photos: of Paulette, her family, and a reading at The Ojai Art Center, July 2012)
This entry was posted in DOGS & CATS, DOGS & CATS GOING HOME, DOGS RESCUED, PERSONAL POSTS, PHOTOS. Bookmark the permalink.

70 Responses to A Thank You From Lady Luck

  1. tazzielove says:

    So sweet. She’s a gem. <3

  2. So glad to hear you are adjusting! So many do love you!

  3. kanzensakura says:

    I cannot hold back the tears that began as I looked at your lovely sweet face Lady Luck. You are such a blessing to us all. I am so very glad you are better and hope the improvement just keeps going on! I am so sorry your family of 15 years is not around you, but here is a new family: a family that loves and cherishes you and holds you In our hearts. Please give Pauline a warm snuggle. She is the angel that has taken you under her wing, as you well know. Keep up the good work! SamCat sends his greetings and best wishes for continued improvement. and to enjoy that biped food! He likes blueberries.

  4. You’ve done a great job with the old lady….and isn’t she a game old girl to adjust at her age.
    More burritos…?

    • Sure do appreciate your stopping by. Yeah for an old girl I think I’m doing quite okay. wag wag and a special lick to you, Helen. <3 Lady

      (From biped mom: Definitely more burritos and for breakfast this morning a three meat small pizza. Not kidding. Lunch she we be served a turkey pot pie. My husband is giving me looks, "Why her and not moi?" Need I say more?)

  5. Dear LL:
    Change is hard especially when one is not so young anymore. Glad to hear you’re settling in. I know your new biped mom won’t allow anything bad to happen to you if she has anything to say about it. I hear you have a couple of sweet roomies. Enjoy. It doesn’t get better than this. <3 Tess

  6. cindy knoke says:

    15 years old!!! Oh so sad, but thank you Paulette and the new parents.

  7. Bless you Paulette for taking her in. It makes my heart ache thinking about people who toss away their companions when they get old or sick. Old age for them is when they really and truly need love and support.

  8. mrpipponders says:

    All the best of luck in your lovely new, loving home! Pip

  9. You’re quite a lady, and that goes for both of you. Endearing to that highest degree!

  10. FlaHam says:

    Paulette, this just warms my heart to such a great degree. Thank you so so very much for the update and I am so so happy Lady Luck is on the rise. Take care, Bill

  11. Awwww….lady luck is beautiful <3

  12. Littlesundog says:

    She’s such a beauty! I’m so happy for both of you!!

  13. Barbara says:

    I’m so glad to hear that you are feeling a little better now Lady, and I know that you will soon get used to your new surroundings and soon realize how much you are loved there. You are in the bestest hands, no doubt about that.

    • Aww, thank you so much and a very special passionate wag to you. I know you spread a lot of love around, helping all my dog cousins, and are an animal lover and your support here, your kind words, are deserve a very special-wagging-my-tail thank you. <3

  14. At last the site opened up. Msut be my computer or maybe Yahoo. Anyhow I’m so glad that Lady continues to enjoy the good life. She is such a sweet looking dog and so deserving of all your kindness. May she continue to enrich your life as the enriches yours.

    • Thank you so much for this and all your other great feedback and advice. It took a while to help her out of her slump (depression?) and she was looking malnourished. She’s put on some weight and is eating okay (meal to meal but we’re getting the hand of her pattern; she doesn’t like the same thing too many times in a row, just like us humans). She is a very sweet girl and is bonding nicely with all of us. She’s taken to both me and my hubby which is great because we divide our duties with her. I’m the food maven and Terry gets her up middle of the night to go out and do her stuff so she doesn’t soil herself. It’s like having a baby but the rewards for all of us are so heart-filling. And the best gift is our other two have been consistently tolerant (no food aggression, no growling, no trying to hump or play inappropriately with her). It’s all such a relief and joy in a busy way. I know you understand. Love, Paulette

  15. How wonderful that Lady is feeling more comfortable in your lovely family, she is a very lucky girl. You and your hubby are special people xx

  16. SO glad to know that Lady is beginning to adapt. With your kind attention, how could she not? :) You’re an angel! xxxoooxxxooo

  17. Kev says:

    Absolutely love it! :)

  18. Lady Luck is so sweet, bless her heart. :) So glad she’s found a good home again.

  19. Angie says:

    Such a beautiful old dog! So glad you’ve got her!!! :D

  20. Denise Hisey says:

    Callie sends her love from Seattle! Woof!

  21. Clowie says:

    I’m glad Lady is feeling a bit better. It must be terribly confusing to find yourself in a new home at that age.

    • She’s doing much better, Clowie. Her turn around in two weeks has been amazing. She was very confused and depressed when she first came her and now she’s barking to be let into the house after she’s had enough sunning, begging at the food line, attempting to chew bones,guarding the windows where she can see outside, and just yesterday tried to assert dominance over Max by well… you know the hind motion. And she continues to eat human food with a healthy lab appetite. She’s very sweet and worth her life in gold. We’re lucky we have her and it’s working out. At her age, most likely around 15, it’s an any day something could happen so we’re grateful she’s gotten through the abandonment and enjoying before her time comes. <3

  22. Deb says:

    She’s precious, and so sweet. One thing that breaks my heart is a sad dog. I’m glad she feels a bit better now.

  23. Biped people ain’t bad after you get used to them for a while.

    Could not reply with wordpress, having this problem many blogs, am trying face book log in now

  24. Love and genuine care goes a long way. I’m happy Lady Luck found her way home to you.

  25. Sage says:

    I’ve thought about Lady Luck’s story many times since I first read about her journey into your lives. How hard it must have been for her and how fortunate she is to have such a loving family to spend the rest of her life with.

    • Thank you for this loving comment. I’m sure she’s feeling and wagging over it as we write. Understandable that you’ve thought of her, her sweet face is what hooked us from the minute we heard about her story. Thankfully, she’s doing better and better every day and is enjoying her time with us. She’s got a great appetite, as long as we feed her what she wants (pizza, burritos, TV dinners) and still enjoys her walks out on our lawn. She’s soooo sweet. <3

  26. Emily Grace says:

    Lady Luck reminds me of our Buddy Dog with her white chin and black hair coat. :) Buddy was an adoption later in his life. He’s maybe 13 now, and so long as I keep his food intake under control (target weight always a consideration with these Labrador genes:) – he can manage jumping in the farm trucks for much-loved rides!

    Clicking over from Sheri deGrom. :)

    Best,
    Emily Grace

    • Hi Emily,

      What a treat to have you stop by, especially from Sherry’s site. She’s a tremendous inspiration of strength and grace.

      I love that your handsome Buddy Dog and our Lady Luck could be siblings. I took the hop over to your place to find a photo of him and couldn’t resist posting it here: http://beefandsweettea.com/2014/04/25/the-friday-favored-8th-edition/ for some of my friends to have easy access. They really do look a lot alike. Lady’s a lab mix and we’re not really sure how old she is. The longer she’s been with us (now a little over 2 months) the younger she gets. She had no appetite when she arrived, probably from depression, but now is eating like a little (well…maybe not so little, ;-) ) piglet. She’s a sweetheart and we feel lucky to have her as part of our family.

      Please give your Buddy Dog a rubbie from me and a big cyber hug to you! <3

  27. Oh how sweet. Change always takes some time depending on the animal and the situation it was in. Just like humans animals need time to adjust and find that whatever scary things it faced are going now to be better.
    Yisraela

    • Hi Yisraela, So nice to see you here. And so happy to share our Lady Luck with your lovely self. Very true what you wrote about it taking time. Lady has finally come around and appears to be acting like her “normal” sweet doggie self. Good appetite, wanting to hang with us, bark at strangers, get rubbies and walks, etc. So glad she’s turned around. Take care. <3

Leave a Reply

