Romanian Blogger, Bianca M. Calin Interview

http://bianca2b.wordpress.com/2012/08/10/interviu-cu-paulette-mahurin/

 

Interviu cu Paulette Mahurin!

Posted on 10/08/2012
1 Vote

Paulette Mahurin este autoarea cartii “The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap” ,carte ce mi-a fost data pentru recenzie chiar de catre ea.Paulette este o persoana foarte draguta si amabila,si a acceptat bucuroasa acest interviu!Mai mult,in cam o saptamana sau doua,vom avea si un concurs mai mare.Fiti pe faza! :)

Siii,in plus,Paulette are sange romanesc!Ambii ei bunici au avut sange romanesc,la fel si mama ei,si,binenteles,si ea.Nu e super fain?!Sunt foarte incantata de colaborarea mea cu Paulette si de-abia astept sa va aud parerile despre ea si despre cartea ei. Mai intai,va prezint cartea. :)

The year 1895 was filled with memorable historical events: the Dreyfus Affair divided France; Booker T. Washington gave his Atlanta address; Richard Olney, United States Secretary of State, expanded the effects of the Monroe Doctrine in settling a boundary dispute between the United Kingdom and Venezuela; and Oscar Wilde was tried and convicted for gross indecency under Britain’s recently passed law that made sex between males a criminal offense. When news of Wilde’s conviction went out over telegraphs worldwide, it threw a small Nevada town into chaos. This is the story of what happened when the lives of its citizens were impacted by the news of Oscar Wilde’s imprisonment. It is a chronicle of hatred and prejudice with all its unintended and devastating consequences, and how love and friendship bring strength and healing.

Iar acum,interviul.Enjoy! :D

I’m thrilled to be invited here all the way from Romania, by Bianca Calin. The world gets smaller every day, books bring us together in new and wonderful ways, like this today.

1. Would you like to tell us something about you?

To introduce myself, I’m a Nurse Practitioner, which in America means I’m similar to a general practitioner medical doctor, who sees and assesses a patient and works out a treatment plan, mine are usually integrative (combining alternative with western). I’m currently specializing in women’s health part time in a rural clinic in Ojai, CA. where I live with my husband, Terry, and our two rescue dogs (from a kill shelter), Max & Bella.


2. Would you like to tell us something about your books?

My book, The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap, takes place in 1895 just after
Oscar Wilde is imprisoned for having sex with another man, and the impact this has on a small Nevada town, especially a lesbian couple. It’s a chronicle of hatred and prejudice with all its unintended consequences and how love and friendship heal. Although its genre is considered historical fiction, it’s really a love and friendship story, with a message about tolerance.

3. How did the story come to me?
I saw a photo of two women, in turn of the twentieth century clothing and an idea came to me that they could be lesbians on the frontier afraid of being found out. I researched that time period and found it
was when Oscar Wilde was imprisoned which was a perfect connection to propel the story, his unjust persecution threaded the plot and moved it forward.
4. When was the first time you wrote?
I started writing around the time I was ten years old, but it was when I was in college that I got serious about my writing and write two award winning non-fiction short stories.

5. Who inspires you?
Ordinary people with extraordinary stories, everyday men and women in their human struggles, which is portrayed by talented writers, filmmakers, artists, around the world. There is so much talent, it is hard to pick one source of inspiration for it changes on a daily basis, one day my dog can inspire me to see what kindness and loyalty are about, another the smiling face of a staving child in Africa with those, big open clear eyes,
acts of kindness, heroism, demonstrations of tolerance, but mostly the absolute profound awareness that this life, this experience, this bright beautiful alive moment could end, in a heartbeat, and so it is an inherent gratitude for the gift of life that is my fundamental inspiration, that I try never to lose sight of.

6. Which is your favorite series or book?
Not to sound cliché, it’s the one in front of me, whatever it is, that takes me away, creates imagery, that ignites my brain to
fly into a story with abandon and which haunts me days after I’ve closed the covers. Too many to pick out one. I like to think that’s a good thing for all the authors out there, lol.

7. From where does your inspiration come?
That’s a great question and a mystery to me. I could answer but it would be partial, a link somewhere late in the chain from its inception, for inspiration is that magical mystery thing, that words don’t seem to adequately represent, that inner knowing that description would make less. It’s just an innate experience that seems to connect with an, ah ha!

8. Which is your favorite movie?
Again, there are so many. For action, I love The Bourne Identity, for inspiration
The Shawshank Redemption was great, there are too many. I grew up going to movies, dated a guy in college whose father was a big wig at Paramount Studios and we went to three movies a week (for free), and even today a Netflix comes in the mail … my hubby and I are on the couch with popcorn and off on a new adventure, it happens too many times to pick one.

9. What do you think about Romania?
I love this question because my mother’s blood-line has Romanian in it. And, I love that Romania is a beautiful country visually but has its issues and history with persecution (the Christian, Jewish, Hungarian, the tyranny under communism, etc.) which makes anyone living there and appreciating the deep complex history a great reader for my book, where good people run into bad things, in a landscape of natural beauty, but it is these good people who end up helping each other. It’s a nice metaphor here for Carmen helping to spread the word about my book, a story I’m passionate about for its message of tolerance, by allowing me to come and talk to you. There is another facet of passion here and that is the profits are going to the first no-kill animal shelter in the country where I live in California.

10. What do you think about Romanian Literature?
Although I am not well versed in Romanian Literature, I have a great respect for its history and modern day writers, especially the marvelous Nobel Peace Prize recipient, Herta Muller, for portrayal of the cruelty of Ceausescu. Historically, it was the Romanian writers who helped forward the idea of nationalism by participating in the revolutions of 1821 and 1848, depicting in their lives a passion that I’m sure came across in their writing. I know that today there is a long list of noted and wonderful Romanian writers flowing works around the world.

11. What do I think you this blog?
First let me say, I love its creator. I have seen her jump in to help strangers promote their work, selfless giving, coming from a heart place that is very endearing, all this is apparent in this blog.
It is my hope that I help bring a few more visitors from all around the world to follow and meet its host, a sweetheart.

A special message to my new Romanian friends here, and yes I call you friends, because before anything else I am a human wanting to connect and make the world a better place, to send a few ripples of kindness out with no aim of expectation or obligation on anyone receiving, other than perhaps a feeling of joy, happiness, and internal comfort. I wish for all reading this, and in particular my new Romanian friends, peace, continued peace, prosperity, friendships that sustain through hard times, and always a book to read, especially when the need is the most.

Please all feel free to connect with me on facebook and say hello.

Facebook

Ce parere aveti despre Paulette si cartea ei?Salutati-o pe Paulette intr-un comentariu si aratati-i putin dragoste! ❤ ❤

Like this:

You and one other blogger like this.
  • The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap
  • clotildajamcracker

 

One thought on “Interviu cu Paulette Mahurin!”

  1. Pingback: Romanian Blogger Q&A with Author Paulette Mahurin « The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap
About The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

The year 1895 was filled with memorable historical events: the Dreyfus Affair divided France; Booker T. Washington gave his Atlanta address; Richard Olney, United States Secretary of State, expanded the effects of the Monroe Doctrine in settling a boundary dispute between the United Kingdom and Venezuela; and Oscar Wilde was tried and convicted for "gross indecency" under Britian's recently passed law that made sex between males a criminal offense. When the news of Wilde's conviction went out over telegraphs worldwide, it threw a small Nevada town into chaos. This is the story of what happened when the lives of its citizens were impacted by the news of Oscar Wildes' imprisonment. It is chronicle of hatred and prejudice with all its unintended and devastating consequences, and how love and friendship bring strength and healing. Paulette Mahurin, the author, is a Nurse Practitioner who lives in Ojai, California with her husband Terry and their two dogs--- Max and Bella. She practices women's health in a rural clinic and writes in her spare time. All profits from her book are going to animal rescue, Santa Paula Animal Shelter, the first and only no-kill shelter in Ventura County, CA, where she lives. (see links below on Ventura County Star Article & Shelter) To find out more please go the The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap on facebook or Amazon or e-mail us at the gavatar addresses. Thank you. (photos: of Paulette, her family, and a reading at The Ojai Art Center, July 2012)
This entry was posted in BLOGGER'S REVIEWS, INTERVIEWS, EXCERPTS, INTERVIEWS. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

