Amazon Review: I’m a Huge Fan Of The LGBT Community…A Great Read

4.0 out of 5 stars I’m glad I won this in a giveaway – good book!, August 17, 2012
This review is from: The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap (Paperback)

I won this book through a Goodreads giveaway and this is the first one I read that was a giveaway.

This kind of book is the type I definitely would read partly because it’s regarding a woman who is a lesbian. I’m a huge fan of the LGBT community and I did my thesis paper on Queer Theory so you can see how I’m easily inspired by anything related to the LGBT.

However, it wasn’t exactly what I expected. I thought the “persecution” of the main character would be regarding her homosexuality status, but that wasn’t the case at all, instead it was for other reasons. It was about how the town is so small and the gossip is encouraged there all the time. There’s this character who has strong prejudices against Mildred Dunlap and no one would find out until later in the novel. I won’t name the character because I want people to read this good book.

Overall, I think it’s a great book and I never thought about the implications of the homosexuality in that kind of community, especially when it can be negatively influenced by someone, like “queen bee” as common in high school. It makes me think a little like the movie “Mean Girls” which the story resembles, except it was back in the late nineteenth century in a small town. Funny, I don’t get the sense that it was back in that century but I do get the sense of the general store and buggies with horses.

However, I liked the plot and I liked how the author brought different perspectives of a few characters other than Mildred Dunlap so we get the sense of what they are thinking and their actions. The book has a lot of historical facts that show how people can judge on these news and other people. In fact, I do feel sorry for the two men who boys reported were in embrace romantically, which was not true with the boys’ true perspective and how one of the men killed himself. Tragedy – I like how the author fit that in to show how the town view this kind of issue.

The book has a few lessons to teach the characters, especially friendship. Again, it’s a pretty good book and you all should read it! I was just fortunate to win this through Goodreads.

About The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

The year 1895 was filled with memorable historical events: the Dreyfus Affair divided France; Booker T. Washington gave his Atlanta address; Richard Olney, United States Secretary of State, expanded the effects of the Monroe Doctrine in settling a boundary dispute between the United Kingdom and Venezuela; and Oscar Wilde was tried and convicted for "gross indecency" under Britian's recently passed law that made sex between males a criminal offense. When the news of Wilde's conviction went out over telegraphs worldwide, it threw a small Nevada town into chaos. This is the story of what happened when the lives of its citizens were impacted by the news of Oscar Wildes' imprisonment. It is chronicle of hatred and prejudice with all its unintended and devastating consequences, and how love and friendship bring strength and healing. Paulette Mahurin, the author, is a Nurse Practitioner who lives in Ojai, California with her husband Terry and their two dogs--- Max and Bella. She practices women's health in a rural clinic and writes in her spare time. All profits from her book are going to animal rescue, Santa Paula Animal Shelter, the first and only no-kill shelter in Ventura County, CA, where she lives. (see links below on Ventura County Star Article & Shelter) To find out more please go the The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap on facebook or Amazon or e-mail us at the gavatar addresses. Thank you. (photos: of Paulette, her family, and a reading at The Ojai Art Center, July 2012)
This entry was posted in REVIEWS, REVIEWS: THE PERSECUTION OF MILDRED DUNLAP. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

