Indepth Interview with Blogger Valerie Bowen

http://www.opusnpen.com/contest.html

Contest to win a kindle compliments of Paulette Mahurin author of:
The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap (scroll down to enter)

Paulette Mahurin Bio:
My husband and I have been rescuing rottweilers for the
last twenty-eight years. When Tazzie, our last one, died
at the age of fifteen plus years, it left a huge whole in my
heart. She had been through the worst years of my life
with me, a life altering long bout with Lyme Disease,
and there were days when looking at her was all that
gave me motivation. After her death, we went to
a kill shelter to look at another rottie puppy that had
been thrown away, and still with a heavy heart I
couldn’t bear to see all the dogs behind bars, looking
so depressed, awaiting their death sentence in this
kill shelter. I became compulsive about wanting
to help, yet not knowing how to. This was around
the time I finished my novel,  The Persecution of
Mildred Dunlap. It was also around the time I first
heard of the plans to open the first no-kill animal shelter
in Ventura County, where I live. It was a no brainer
for me to want to support this. I contacted the
shelter and told them I wanted to have the profits
from my book go to help them, and so began
my journey in doing what I can to help
avoid the tragedy of animals being put to death
for no reason, other than they were born. The shelter
is The Santa Paula Animal Rescue Center.
https://www.facebook.com/santapaulaarchttps://www.facebook.com/ThePersecutionOfMildredDunlap
https://thepersecutionofmildreddunlap.wordpress.com/
http://bookpromogroup2.weebly.com/paulette-mahurin.html

Interview with Paulette Mahurin

Picture

First let me say thank you to Valerie Bowen, who helps 
so many of us indie authors, you are a gift!Q: Tell us something about yourself, where you’re based, and how you came to be a writer?

I’m a Nurse Practitioner, specializing in Women’s
Health in Ojai, Ca. where I live with my husband,
Terry (a retired NASA attorney) and our two
rescued from a kill shelter dogs, Max & Bella.
Writing has always been natural for me, as far
back as I can remember. When ten, I started
to write short stories. My serious writing began in 
college when I wrote two award winning short
stories.

Q: What genre do you generally write and have you considered other genres?

My current work, The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap,
is historical fiction. I’ve several other books on the
back burner of various genres: romance, murder
mystery, and don’t seem wetted to any specific
genre. I really enjoyed writing the recent book
but also loved writing an award winning story 
about a couple that met in an oncologists office,
both with terminal illness, and fell in love. I’m
currently working on developing that into a full
length novel.

Q: Are your books available as eBooks? Were you involved in that process at all? Do you have any plan to write any eBook-only stories? And do you read eBooks?

I have to buy a kindle on my to-do list. I am not
adverse to having my stories on books or e-books
and I have no particular plan to write an e-book
only story. I downloaded my pdf, the text from
my novel, onto kindle direct publishing, my book
is available on amazon in kindle and book form.
I have read e-book versions on my computer 
but not on a kindle or nook yet. I’m looking forward
to getting my kindle and downloading a bunch
of the indie author’s books I’ve run across. 

 Q: How much of the marketing do you do for your published works or indeed for yourself as a ‘brand’?

All the marketing has been word of mouth and
reviews. I’ve been very fortunate so far that
some of the people who’ve read my book 
put me in contact with the press, magazines,
and submitted my book before a prestigious
Art Center (The Ojai Art Center) to be
chosen as their read of the month by the Literary
Branch this last July. I reach out to other authors,
network where I can and put my book out
to be seen wherever I can. I also connect
with bloggers for interviews and reviews.
There is a vast network out there willing
to help indie authors, on facebook, The
World Literary Cafe, Goodreads, and bloggers.
I’ve tried not to leave any stone unturned. 
The one thing that has really been helpful
is I am willing to exchange: to authors a 
review, to bloggers a giveaway or post
to my book’s facebook or blogsite, to help
give attention back to anyone who helps me.

Q: Do you write under a pseudonym? Do you think they make a difference to an author’s profile?

I write under my own name. I think the bottom
line is not the name but the work. I do think
that readers like to know who the author is,
and if they like the work to read about them.
Q: What are you working on at the moment / next? Do you manage to write every day?

In the last two months, I’ve been putting in a lot
of time promoting, The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap, writing articles, being interviewed,
going to book signings, a reading, staying on
top of following leads and communicating with
every one I’m in contact with. I have put in 
some time on my next book and am up to 
chapter seven. One way or another, I do
write every day with rare exception. 

Q: Do you plot your stories or do you just get an idea and run with it?

Both. There are aspects I plot and then while
writing and things flow spontaneously that work,
I keep them in. For example, I plotted out the
overall story line, centering around a lesbian
couple who had just heard the news of Oscar
Wilde’s imprisonment and were now fearful
of being found out. Why were they now fearful?
What solutions would they come up with to
avoid being found out? These ideas came
to me and when they come in rapid fire
I have to organize them. Once they’re written
down and I’m into the editing phase things
get shifted around, cut, and flow on their
own–it’s the what feels right phase that
has used the plot then discarded what doesn’t
flow or stops the story from moving.

Q: Do you have a method for creating your characters, their names and what do you think makes them believable?

With this time piece, I researched appropriate
names, because a name that doesn’t fit could
jar the readers attention off the story. My 
method for working with (creating) the 
characters is to give them life, a voice, and
fit them into their role to be directed but to
also give feedback. I have a general idea
about the characters and then as I write
and the scenes develop, I feel how it sits
with me when I read it. Once I get the overall
idea about the person/character then I sense
what feels authentic or not from them. It’s
a process. And, like anyone in life they
are a dynamic changing process of 
emotions, moods, awakenings, relationships,
that define them differently in any given
situation

Q: Some writers like quiet, others the noise of a coffee shop etc., do you listen to music or have noise around you when you write or do you need silence?

I like it quiet. I get distracted by anyone in the
room or background noise. I don’t multitask
very well, including listening to music and
writing, etc.
Q: Do you have pieces of work that you think will never see light of day?

Not that I’m aware of.

Q: What do you like to read?

It varies. I love a good story that holds my interest,
a well written story where I appreciate the talent,
such as The Grapes of Wrath, by Steinbeck. I like
a good historical non-fiction that’s written 
interestingly so I learn things, like Founding Brothers,
by Ellis, or a help book like, The Four Agreements,
by Ruiz. There are just too many, ultimately depending on how well it captures  and
holds my interest.

Q: If you could invite three people from any era to dinner, who would you choose and what would you cook (or invite three people, hiding the takeaway containers)?

Vicktor Frankl, the author of Man’s Search For
Meaning, who spent years in a concentration
camp and wrote about it, in the most spiritual
account of anything I’ve ever read. Ghandhi,
because he walked his own walk and I admire
that, and Socrates, because he talked his talk,
died for it, and I don’t know very many who
would risk that, risk everything to not sell
their soul. The richness of being with authentic
people, involved in real conversations without
trying to get into ego boasting is very appealing
to me, to bear one’s naked soul. It’s refreshing
in this day of hiding behind who we think we
ought to be or want to be so someone else
will think better of us. It’s silly and a waste
of time. I’d serve a good loaf of fresh baked
bread, a beautiful pot of veggie soup filled
with everything imaginable and seasoned
to perfection, a cheese platter, and fruit.

Q: What do you do when you’re not writing? 

Spend time with my hubby and dogs, at the
dog park, hang with family & friends, and work
on rescuing dogs. I also do a lot of pro-bono
medical work with women with cancer,
or other health issues.

Q: Are you on any forums or networking sites? If so, how valuable do you find them?

Very valuable. It’s helped me get my book out there.
Very grateful that there are so many out there
and so many good people willing to help us indies.

Q: Where can we find out about you and your work? 

Click on the links below to be

FACEBOOK PAGE:
BOOK’S BLOG”
GOODREADS:
AMAZON:


Enter to win a free kindle

This is the first of three kindle giveaways.  This raffle starts September 1 and runs through September 30. The next will run the entire month of October and the final raffle will be run the entire month of November. Limit one free kindle winner per person.

About The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

The year 1895 was filled with memorable historical events: the Dreyfus Affair divided France; Booker T. Washington gave his Atlanta address; Richard Olney, United States Secretary of State, expanded the effects of the Monroe Doctrine in settling a boundary dispute between the United Kingdom and Venezuela; and Oscar Wilde was tried and convicted for "gross indecency" under Britian's recently passed law that made sex between males a criminal offense. When the news of Wilde's conviction went out over telegraphs worldwide, it threw a small Nevada town into chaos. This is the story of what happened when the lives of its citizens were impacted by the news of Oscar Wildes' imprisonment. It is chronicle of hatred and prejudice with all its unintended and devastating consequences, and how love and friendship bring strength and healing. Paulette Mahurin, the author, is a Nurse Practitioner who lives in Ojai, California with her husband Terry and their two dogs--- Max and Bella. She practices women's health in a rural clinic and writes in her spare time. All profits from her book are going to animal rescue, Santa Paula Animal Shelter, the first and only no-kill shelter in Ventura County, CA, where she lives. (see links below on Ventura County Star Article & Shelter) To find out more please go the The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap on facebook or Amazon or e-mail us at the gavatar addresses. Thank you. (photos: of Paulette, her family, and a reading at The Ojai Art Center, July 2012)
This entry was posted in BLOGGER'S REVIEWS, INTERVIEWS, EXCERPTS, INTERVIEWS. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

