Why Do I Love To Write

I never thought I’d post anything on this blog site outside of things related to my book, The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap, until an author/blogger Kay Ziegler started to ask me questions for an interview, or I should say a question. I received an e-mail from her with just one question, stating others were to follow. I don’t know if it was the space of that one question, without a list of others pressuring me to get on with it, or what, that really sent me down deep with an answer. That’s what I’m posting here today. I just sent it back to her and don’t know if it will turn into a post from me or there will be another question. I’ll leave that up to her. I love to know about authors that I read, that I enjoy, and that’s why I’m going to share a little bit about myself in a few posts. Here goes:

When I was ten, my older brother was 18. That’s when I began
writing, that’s also when he landed in a metal institution, diagnosed
with schizophrenic. He was morbidly obese and severely bullied
in Jr. High and High School, and had no friends. As a result
of his obesity and mental illness, he had terrible body odor and
was repulsive to be around. He was also inappropriate sexually
in that he’d try to kiss female family members. I couldn’t have
friends over, and as I result I didn’t have friends outside of the
family until I was in Jr. High School myself. I couldn’t talk about
it because I was so ashamed of being related to him that I didn’t
want to draw attention to it, so I wrote. I wrote to express the
feelings of rejection I felt in life because I had a brother who
was damaged. I was young and didn’t understand what was
happening. I couldn’t talk to my parents about him, they had
their own heartache, and I wouldn’t talk to my cousins or other family,
out of fear. I was afraid of becoming like him, fat, socially
isolated, and insane. If I talked about him something inside of me
would start to surface, so I kept a lid on it, except when writing.
I wrote, and when I did, I felt safe to say anything I wanted to. My
writing world became my sanctuary, where I felt free to be who I was,
my authentic self. To this day, I feel the same about writing but now
I’ve grown and developed into a woman who can relate to
friends and am happily married with a great job that I love.
Along with rescuing dogs, writing is my passion, a gift
of Grace, that came to me when I most needed reprieve
in my life.

About The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

The year 1895 was filled with memorable historical events: the Dreyfus Affair divided France; Booker T. Washington gave his Atlanta address; Richard Olney, United States Secretary of State, expanded the effects of the Monroe Doctrine in settling a boundary dispute between the United Kingdom and Venezuela; and Oscar Wilde was tried and convicted for "gross indecency" under Britian's recently passed law that made sex between males a criminal offense. When the news of Wilde's conviction went out over telegraphs worldwide, it threw a small Nevada town into chaos. This is the story of what happened when the lives of its citizens were impacted by the news of Oscar Wildes' imprisonment. It is chronicle of hatred and prejudice with all its unintended and devastating consequences, and how love and friendship bring strength and healing. Paulette Mahurin, the author, is a Nurse Practitioner who lives in Ojai, California with her husband Terry and their two dogs--- Max and Bella. She practices women's health in a rural clinic and writes in her spare time. All profits from her book are going to animal rescue, Santa Paula Animal Shelter, the first and only no-kill shelter in Ventura County, CA, where she lives. (see links below on Ventura County Star Article & Shelter) To find out more please go the The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap on facebook or Amazon or e-mail us at the gavatar addresses. Thank you. (photos: of Paulette, her family, and a reading at The Ojai Art Center, July 2012)
This entry was posted in PERSONAL POSTS. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why Do I Love To Write

  1. Pingback: Third Sunday Blog Carnival: Volume 1, No. 12 | Third Sunday Blog Carnival

  2. seeker says:

    I’m sorry to hear about your brother. I too have a brother who was so talented until a Bipolar side of him showed up. I certainly hope through your writing your feeling towards your brother have changed. Writing is very cathartic. Thanks for sharing the personal side of you Paulette. God Bless, Perpetua.

    • Thank you for this. I think that writing was a part in my coming to understand my brother but mostly I think it was really just life and getting a few developmental stages under my belt. Nursing school also helped, especially when I did my psych rotation. Fortunately, I was able to spend a lot of time with him as an adult; have him to my home to stay, help with groceries when he was in a care facility, take him out to movies and visit with him, etc. Blessing back to you, Perpetua.

Leave a Reply

