Review from Romania: A journey of self discovery…tolerance…above all, unconditional love…

This review was written by a Romanian author, a literature and language teacher in her country, a writer I admire, one who has lived through a culture of great oppression. I have read her work and love this author. To receive this from her is an honor. It is my prayer, my dream, that closed minds open and hearts learn what it is to tolerate differences, whether through my work or others, for all of us to know peace on earth.

5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read, food for thought!, December 21, 2012
This review is from: The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap (Paperback)

An impressive read, where tension builds up from the very first pages, following Mildred Dunlap’s life and that of her only friends – Edra and Charley. A life she lives as she wants to, not as the others consider she should. Mildred’s plain looks fed town talk despite her generosity “to most of the people in the town when financial need arose”.
The opening pages mirror the small community’s reaction at hearing the news of Oscar Wilde’s imprisonment because of homosexuality. This will trigger the surfacing of feelings, dormant up to then- prejudice, intolerance and hatred-that live in closed minds. It also brings havoc in the existence of the people who fall victim to the persecution, ignorance and mockery of the other inhabitants of Red River Pass.
The characters are credible and appealing. Along the story we witness significant changes in their behavior and attitude towards each other and towards the whole mean community; a community whose only means of entertainment is gossip and meddling in other people’s lives. Lack of compassion and understanding, pointing fingers to the others brings nothing but destruction.
A strong storyline, with characters who take the reader on their journey of self discovery and revealing the bitter secrets well hidden up to then. Tolerance towards people who`ve chosen another style of life, friendship and, above all, unconditional love may overcome all barriers and mend old soul’s wounds.
I enjoyed the read that hooked me and kept me reading till the end. An excellent novel and food for thought. Without doubt, The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap is one of the best-written books I’ve read this year. I wholeheartedly recommend it.

About The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

The year 1895 was filled with memorable historical events: the Dreyfus Affair divided France; Booker T. Washington gave his Atlanta address; Richard Olney, United States Secretary of State, expanded the effects of the Monroe Doctrine in settling a boundary dispute between the United Kingdom and Venezuela; and Oscar Wilde was tried and convicted for "gross indecency" under Britian's recently passed law that made sex between males a criminal offense. When the news of Wilde's conviction went out over telegraphs worldwide, it threw a small Nevada town into chaos. This is the story of what happened when the lives of its citizens were impacted by the news of Oscar Wildes' imprisonment. It is chronicle of hatred and prejudice with all its unintended and devastating consequences, and how love and friendship bring strength and healing. Paulette Mahurin, the author, is a Nurse Practitioner who lives in Ojai, California with her husband Terry and their two dogs--- Max and Bella. She practices women's health in a rural clinic and writes in her spare time. All profits from her book are going to animal rescue, Santa Paula Animal Shelter, the first and only no-kill shelter in Ventura County, CA, where she lives. (see links below on Ventura County Star Article & Shelter) To find out more please go the The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap on facebook or Amazon or e-mail us at the gavatar addresses. Thank you. (photos: of Paulette, her family, and a reading at The Ojai Art Center, July 2012)
This entry was posted in REVIEWS, REVIEWS: THE PERSECUTION OF MILDRED DUNLAP. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Review from Romania: A journey of self discovery…tolerance…above all, unconditional love…

  1. Such good reviews. You can be proud.

  2. Μάρσα says:

    Excellent reviews. I hope to get plenty of good reviews such as this one. I’m sure you don’t know that my mom is a wanna – be- a – writer and she has written two novels but you see these days are difficult here in my country and publishers don’ t help if someone is unknown. She hopes to publish her books one day and, who knows, maybe you can read them then.
    I’m Marsa and I send you my best regards.
    taskylonea.wordpress.com

    • Hello Marsa and thank you for stopping by and this comment. Where are you, your mother, living? If she can get her work completed and edited (by a friend if she can’t afford to do it herself) and put on a pdf then she can self publish and network with the self-publishing community, a wonderful group of supportive authors who help each other. She can have her work put in a book, for free through Amazon Createspace and a kindle book for free through Kindle Direct Publishing. When she’s ready, and if she decides she wants to forgo the conventional publisher, feel free to contact me and I’ll get those links to you. Her success is my success. Big cyber hug to you for this lovely communication about your mom. And, tell her from me, if she’s writing, then she’s a writer, not a wanna-be-writer.🙂

      • Μάρσα says:

        Thank you so much from the bottom of my heart for your sweet words. I live in Athens, Greece and I believe you know the situation here. I don’t lose hope though. Thank you so much for calling me a writer. It makes me feel good! But above all thank you so much for your helping hand, but it’s a little bit difficult for me because if I want to publish my works through American publishers or Amazon, I must translate them and it’ s not easy for me. Let me say that my dream is to publish my works in your country but it’s only a dream for the reasons I’ve said. You know, some of my roots are American… my grandfather was half-American…but unfortunately I don’ t have any relatives there any more.
        I send you my gratitude with my large hug.
        And I’m wagging my tail with joy to you…

      • Yes, I understand the situation in Greece. I lived in Corfu many years ago and love your country. Perhaps you could find someone, at a local school, who speaks English and you could do some kind of exchange to get your words translated? See if there is someone teaching English as a second language and perhaps one of the students would be willing to do some sort of exchange with you? Maybe even post on your blog a question to your followers asking if anyone has any suggestions on how to get you help to see your dream come true. A famous person once said, “Dream the dream that God would dream for you.” I say to you why not? Please don’t give up on your dream. Big cyber hug.

      • Μάρσα says:

        Thank you so much for your help, your useful advice and your time to answer me. Beautiful words which I will have in my mind all the time. I wish you Merry Christmas and happiness to you all. I’ll keep in touch with you. Besides, I follow your blog long ago.
        I’m wagging my tail with joy to you….Marsa.

      • My pleasure. It’s been a delight communicating with you.🙂

  3. David says:

    Very, very well-written reviews. Keep up the great work!

  4. I am not familiar with the basic story except what I read here. It reminds me of how others have been persecuted over history for being different from what the world or others believed. Christians were persecuted in ancient times for keeping the seventh day Sabbath and were killed, imprisoned etc. And others the same for other differences. Honestly it goes against my spiritual conscience to accept alternate lifestyles, homosexuality, lesbians, transgenders etc. However having said that, I don’t and never would harass or cause them harm. I just simply don’t agree with that and know that it is Biblically unacceptable. I would however defend them if someone was causing them harm. Because I don’t agree with causing harm to others. This was interesting and am trying to get a feel for all your site is about. I love the vast topics that other sites don’t have.
    Good post
    Yisraela

    • Thank you, Yisraela. What you wrote about Christian persecution is exactly the point of the book, but with differing target groups; a lesbian couple, a gay man, a Jewish man, and an African American to highlight homophobia, racism, and anti-Semitism in 1895 (based on factual events that took place) You’ve made some excellent points and I’m grateful you came here and shared. If “we” can learn to accept our difference as that, different, and not something to be abused, persecuted or harmed, then maybe new doors can open to shine a light on tolerance, and create peace on earth. Wishing you very happy holidays and hope you come visit again.

Leave a Reply

