Oscar Wilde’s imprisonment inspired the writing of The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

Book Lovers Blog Hop

January 15, 2012

http://bookloverbloghopdailyspotlight.blogspot.com/2013/01/DailySpotlight.PauletteMahurin.html?showComment=1358268034029#c4660109220683419784

The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap
By
Paulette Mahurin
In 1895, shortly after Britain changed its laws to make homosexual activity a criminal offense, Oscar Wilde was tried and convicted for “indecency.” He was sentenced to two years of hard labor; slept on a hard wood board, ate watery porridge, was ordered to walk a treadmill for six hours a day and was denied pencil and paper. All this, for loving another man, wanting to be with that person, all very natural for him, no different than any other part of nature that can’t help itself from what presents, like a dog from wagging its tail, a cat from meowing, a bird from taking flight or a leaf of grass from being green.
When the news of Wilde’s imprisonment went out over telegraphs worldwide, it changed attitudes about same sex relationships from that of a social tolerance to an overt hatred and abuse. In my research of the book, I came across an article in the New York Times, dated April 5, 1895, in which it rallied against the immorality of homosexuality and Oscar Wilde in particular. This was a watershed time, a very dark time, historically for gays. It was also a time when lesbians, were they found out, labeled (diagnosed by physicians) as “insane” the treatment was rape, so they would learn to enjoy sex with a man.

This is the backdrop of my story, about a lesbian couple living in a small Nevada ranching town, that became subject to the outcry and abuse leveled verbally against the news that a gay man was convicted of a criminal offense. The news set the town into a frenzy… (Continue reading at the site’s link above and meet a group of wonderful best selling award winning authors. Also enter a giveaway for a kindle).

January 17, 2012

http://tlctouchedwithfire.wordpress.com/book-lovers-blog-hop/comment-page-1/#comment-30

Meet Paulette Mahurin!

First let me say a big heartfelt thank you to my lovely hostess, Terri Callsen for hosting me.

Author Interview Questions:

What genre do you write?

The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap is a historical fiction but I write in different genres. I’ve written non-fiction, a murder mystery, and romance but this book is my first full-length published book. For me, it’s not about the genre but the story, is it a good story?

 

What’s the best part about being an author?

I love writing. It’s a passion. And, that I can do it, that I am able to sit and spend the time writing puts me a zone that I love. And, I love stories. It’s so much fun, amazement, to see them come to life through my writing.

What’s the worst part?

Some of the feedback can be brutal, even if it isn’t directed against my writing in particular, like comments that are hateful, homophobic, racist or anti-Semitic. And, of course, in the beginning, before my skin was thickened through the process/the journey of getting it out and published with some great feedback, before all that I had some brutal comments that stopped me cold.  Luckily I learned from this to not take things too personally (still haven’t totally mastered that one), to filter out the things that are helpful and discard the rest.

How long have you been writing?

As far back as I can remember. I can never remember a time when I didn’t write but when I was ten I kept a diary and started to write short stories. I still have a lot of them and it’s fun to look back on them with my young handwriting in pencil on notebook paper. Writing has always been a place of safety, a sanctuary, for me, where I can be myself without worry about what will others think.

What are some of the things you’re passionate about?

Definitely writing but the biggest passion in my life is dogs, rescuing them. My husband and I have been into animal rescue for the past 28 years, mainly Rottweilers. I can’t imagine a world without dogs, that bring so much joy and laughter to my life, but then there’s the sorrow that they have such short lives and the overpopulation problem (animals on death row) kills me. All profits from my book are going to animal rescue, the Santa Paula Animal Rescue Center, the first and only no-kill animal shelter in Ventura County, CA. where I live. Thankfully the book’s been doing well and we’ve been getting funds to them. (Here’s a large-scale press article on my efforts here and the link for the shelter.  VC STAR Sept. 9, 2012 Sunday Life Section:
http://www.vcstar.com/news/2012/sep/08/ojai-authors-historical-novel-teaches-tolerance/SHELTER PROFITS ARE GOING TO: http://www.santapaulaarc.org/)

At the end of the day what keeps you “moving forward”?

I’m grateful to be alive. I’m just at the tail end of a long bout with Lyme disease, where I was seriously ill (heart and nervous system involvement) and to come through something like that (I’m 95% there) makes you appreciate life in a whole new way. I don’t take being alive for granted. I am motivated by many things: advocating for tolerance, advocating for animals, and as a Nurse Practitioner advocating for women and women’s health issues. I have a full life with a great husband and two dogs (from a kill-shelter) who I adore and just to hang with them is fulfilling enough, to have these other things on top of that…there isn’t enough time in the day.

 

When you’re depressed what helps bring you out?

Boy, that’s a powerful question. I am very aware of the fact that what I think impacts me. Negative thoughts create stressful chemistry, cortisone & adrenaline (which also suppress the immune system). Positive thoughts, endorphins & serotonin. There’s a whole book written on this by Candace Pert, “Molecules of Emotion.”  She was up for the Novel Peace Prize in medicine for her work. I try to watch my way of thinking, my worldview, and keep a focus to the positive.

I am also very aware that I have no control over most things in life. I’d like to feel differently but I’m a realist. When I have a down mood, and believe me I had plenty when going through my worst Lyme days, I ride it out. Things that also help are exercising, spending quality time with friends, writing, and even distracting myself with a good book or movie. Nature is also very uplifting and soothing for me and fortunately I live in a town that’s beautiful, my own home has a park-like setting with a creek running through it. When I look out the window at the calmness of the trees and nature it helps to calm my insides and I breathe with that and let pass whatever is there I might be resisting.

 

If there was one statement you could make that you stand for what would it be?

I am a human being, like all others. No better, no worse, than anyone else. I am not what I do so please don’t label and hate me if what I do doesn’t agree with you, your worldview, as long as I am not hurting anyone. This is the whole message in my book, The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap, tolerance. It centers around the imprisonment of Oscar Wilde for homosexual activity, for which he was sentenced to two years of hard-labour, not allowed pen and paper, slept on wooden board, fed watery porridge and ordered to a treadmill for six hours a day. For what? For doing what came natural, yet others could not tolerate it and so they had to label him bad, wrong, evil, and punish him for what he could no more help than a dog from wagging its tail, a bird from flying, or a leaf taking in carbon-dioxide, all things of nature.

 

How do you “combat” negativity when it presents itself?

I stay clear of it. I do my best to not get sucked in to someone else’s drama, and also not judge it to be “negative” or “bad” but just something that doesn’t work for me to be around and so I distance it from me. If it’s something I can’t distance myself from then I do my best to incorporate all the things I mentioned for how I combat depression to keep myself in balance. Negativity is such a subjective thing. What’s negative depends on “my buttons,” my physiology and upbringing, and what I’ve been conditioned to feel is negative, but there is also real evil and not-good actions out there to be mindful of. While working in the emergency room a few years back a gang member rushed in with a gun drawn. There’s no question in my mind that was not good. Not everything is that clear-cut.

 

What’s your favorite movie?

Way too many to answer. Really.

Who is/are the people that inspire you to keep moving forward?

My husband. My close family members.  A group of very good friends/good people who are there for me. People that I read about that are overcoming struggles or suffering, the heroes that abound doing simple acts of kindness to help make the world a nicer place. And, my dogs because I have to be there for them, to ensure they have a good life.

Do you have any links that you’d like to share with us?

AMAZON.COM:
http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_1?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=The+persecution+of+mildred+Dunlap

AMAZON U.K.
http://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_1?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=the+persecution+of+mildred+dunlap

GOODREADS:
http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/14061559-the-persecution-of-mildred-dunlap

SHELFARI:
http://www.shelfari.com/books/28821838/The-Persecution-of-Mildred-Dunlap

FACEBOOK:
https://www.facebook.com/ThePersecutionOfMildredDunlap

BOOK’S BLOG:
https://thepersecutionofmildreddunlap.wordpress.com/

TWITTER:

https://twitter.com/MahurinPaulette

BOOK’S WEBSITE:
http://bookpromogroup2.weebly.com/paulette-mahurin.html

PRESS ARTICLE:
VC STAR Sept. 9, 2012 Sunday Life Section:
http://www.vcstar.com/news/2012/sep/08/ojai-authors-historical-novel-teaches-tolerance/

Paulette Mahurin, an award-winning author, is a Nurse Practitioner who lives in Ojai, California with her husband Terry and their two dogs–Max and Bella. She practices women’s health in a rural clinic and writes in her spare time.

January 18, 2012

http://authorisabellasinclair.blogspot.com/2013/01/PauletteMahurin.html?showComment=1358530150909#c8558811022129734975

Friday, January 18, 2013

Guest Post by Paulette Mahurin

Hatred hits close to home for us all…
but are we willing to see it for what it is?
An excerpt from The persecution of Mildred Dunlap by Paulette Mahurin; a story of intolerance, a chronicle of hatred and prejudice, the devastating consequences, and how love heals…
He lapsed into a monologue of exaggerated details, altered beyond original description: The Negro must have lied, probably has some rich white women sponsoring him because he’s good in bed, and the Jew deserved to be imprisoned for having the gall to try to become something he was not born into. “People should know their place. When they are made by God to be inferior, they should just do their best to stay out of the way of the good hard-working folk who are the backbone of society.”
Mildred was disgusted. Anger welled up into her throat that wanted to be let out in a scream and she felt an urge to pick up one of the horseshoes and whack him to shut him up. As the blood began draining from her head, she felt sick to her stomach. “Oh my,” she mumbled, trying to ease out of the tirade.
He kept on and on, discharging a hatred that gave her chills. She knew then and there, beyond any doubt, that the fear she had felt when she first heard of Oscar Wilde’s conviction was not just about prejudice existing across a continent and ocean, but rather the ignorance that lives in closed minds everywhere. The seeds that grow and inflate the smallest minds into giants, those who believe they can take down anyone with their petty realities, was what she saw full-blown in Pursey. It mattered not whether his reality was based on prejudice, fear, or just plain ignorance, the end result would be the same, ruined lives. The tone in his voice reminded her of Josie that day outside the telegraph office. She now understood why up till that time this sort of talk didn’t bother her.
The hatred was now something personal and she knew, no matter the excuses, that she and Edra no longer were immune from suspicion.

Connect with Paulette via Twitter  Facebook  Book’s Blog  Goodreads  and Shelfari
Purchase her book on Amazo

January 21, 2012

http://mimibarbour.blogspot.com/2013/01/meet-paulette-mahurin-author-and-dog.html

Monday, January 21, 2013

Meet Paulette Mahurin – Author and Dog Lover!

Please welcome Paulette Mahurin to Believe! today. She’s written and has tirelessly promoted this wonderful book in order to give all the proceeds to a local animal shelter.

ALL FOR LOVE:
My Dog Tazzie By Paulette Mahurin Author of The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

I have had several loves in my life, but ranking at that top is Tazzie, my beloved Rottweiler girl, who went on to the rainbow bridge September, 2011, seems like yesterday. I still miss her, the wagging of her little stubby tail when I came home, the drool at the side of her mouth to let me know it’s meal time, the spot on the carpet where her body left and imprint, beside my bed, her collar still hanging in the entrance hall, and yes a year later little black hair keeps showing up. I loved her with every cell in my body. She lived a good long life, fifteen plus years for that breed is ancient. We got her from our local shelter, here in Ojai, CA, where I live with my husband, Terry and our two new babies, Max & Bella (also rescued from a kill-shelter), over sixteen years ago. She was a purebred, from a puppy mill in Arkansas, shipped out to a pet shop in Los Angeles, and sold to a couple who live in an adjoining city to ours, until the day she ran into the street and was hit by a truck. That was the day, they threw her away to be disposed of, seems the truck broke her femur and they didn’t want to help her. Since is was a straight fracture, it wouldn’t have required much, just keep her calm, but they still decided to throw her away. Lucky for me. Since my husband and I were into animal rescue for a lot of years already and I’m a Nurse Practitioner, taking care of a dog, no problem. She came to us with another problem, a tick infestation, of which I contracted a few, one carrying the Lyme bacteria. Tazzie’s femur was fully healed by the time I became very symptomatic, fell off the face of the earth. In my worst days she was there, through all the years, at my side, some days she was the only thing that gave me any reason to want to live (I was debilitated with meningitis, cardiac valve involvement, crippling arthritis, and no energy). I look back at that time as a gift from God, she my angel, because it brought me to myself, to face everything in my life up till now I ran from. In facing, sitting at the seat of my demons, I gained a new freedom, to just be, without any need to be anything. With and through Tazzie, I found myself, what I like to consider is my authentic self. What greater gift could there be? As the years moved along and I started to regain my health, hers failed. At first it was her hind legs growing weak, then her heart, a cancer in an eye, until the day, at the ripe old age of fifteen years and two weeks, she stopped drinking and went to sleep. She died at home, in my arms, three days later. It wasn’t long after that; I finished my novel, The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap. It was also a coincidence that the first and only no-kill animal shelter opened in Ventura County, Santa Paula Animal Rescue Center, where I live. Tazzie would want me to help other dogs like her, throw-aways, to be disposed of because they were born or were an inconvenience, so it was no stroke of genius on my part to decide to give all profits from my book to this shelter, in the memory of my one of my all time best friends and great loves of my life, Tazzie Mahurin. (August 25, 1996 – September 7, 2011) That’s why I tirelessly keep at it, promoting my book, in hopes someone will pick it, read it, spread the word, and fury kids like Tazzie will get out of those cells and find their forever homes.

AMAZON.COM:
http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_1?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=The+persecution+of+mildred+Dunlap
AMAZON U.K. http://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_1?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=the+persecution+of+mildred+dunlap
GOODREADS: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/14061559-the-persecution-of-mildred-dunlap SHELFARI: http://www.shelfari.com/books/28821838/The-Persecution-of-Mildred-Dunlap FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/ThePersecutionOfMildredDunlap
BOOK’S BLOG:  https://thepersecutionofmildreddunlap.wordpress.com/
TWITTER: https://twitter.com/MahurinPaulette
BOOK’S WEBSITE: http://bookpromogroup2.weebly.com/paulette-mahurin.html
PRESS ARTICLE: VC STAR Sept. 9, 2012 Sunday Life Section: http://www.vcstar.com/news/2012/sep/08/ojai-authors-historical-novel-teaches-tolerance /
SHELTER PROFITS ARE GOING TO : http://www.santapaulaarc.org/

JANUARY 27, 2012:

http://emeraldseer.blogspot.com/2013/01/guest-post-from-resplendent-paulette.html?showComment=1359309196504#c7453037989516786660

Saturday, January 26, 2013

Guest post from the resplendent Paulette Mahurin

KINDNESS
By Paulette Mahurin
Author of The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap
I’m often asked, “What is your inspiration for writing?” and one simple answer commonly arises, acts of kindness. Not just kindness in a vacuum but in the face of the world we live in, tragedy upon tragedy, a simple smile, a touch, giving someone some time, can mean so much. Here I am at a complete stranger’s blog site, Booksy Violet, her moniker on her e-mail, signing off communications Tracy/Violet, and I have to wonder who is this person?
My thoughts immediately go to all sorts of things, naturally, she’s a writer, like me, and then I draw a blank, at least in my thoughts, but in my heart, that’s another matter, for this stranger has filled it up. I’m bowled over with her kindness to want to help me promote my book, a simple act of kindness and what does it all mean? Since all my profits are going to animal rescue, Santa Paula Animal Rescue Center, the first and only no-kill animal shelter in Ventura County, CA. then it means she, Booksy Violet, is helping to save lives, furthering my motto of read a book, save a life.
But it doesn’t end there, for she is also helping to further a message of tolerance.
My book has been written up in large scale press and national magazines in the U.S. for its pro-tolerance/pro-human rights message and so my new friend, Tracy/Violet, you’re helping to forward something greater than just you and me, tolerance, a peaceful way of living in a world of differences. You’ve embraced all this by inviting me in, with your simple and wonderfully sweet act of kindness and I thank you. …

(To see the rest of the article and please go to : http://emeraldseer.blogspot.com/2013/01/guest-post-from-resplendent-paulette.html?showComment=1359309196504#c7453037989516786660)

February 2, 2013

Welcome Guest Author Paulette Mahurin and her book, The Persecution Of Mildred Dunlap

Welcome to Paulette Mahurin to the blog today.  She’s been gracious enough to stop by during the First Love Blog Hop to share an excerpt of her book, The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap.

“One can survive everything nowadays, except death, and live down everything except a good reputation.” Oscar Wilde

51dJYvThKeL

~Prologue

1895
Telegraphs clacked around the world with the breaking news of the conviction of Oscar Wilde. Mr. Wilde, noted celebrity and one of the most successful playwrights, novelists, poets, and short story writers, suffered a stunning defeat when he was sentenced to two years of hard labor in prison after being convicted for “gross indecency.” Wilde’s case, one of the first tried under Britain’s recently passed Criminal Law Amendment Act, criminalized sexual activity between members of the same sex, thus changing people’s attitudes about homosexuality from a mood of pity and tolerance to hatred and abuse.
The unofficial buzz in the tabloids was that Wilde was caught in the act with another male, Lord Douglas, the son of the Marquis of Queensberry, and Victorian London would have none of it. The news of trial and conviction spread fast and furiously to towns large and small around the world, exactly the kind of news story Red River Pass, a small town in Nevada, relished.

“I know you’re not going to say anything. But you know it’s true.” Gus looked over at the stacks of books. “That’s why I read so much. A book isn’t going to hurt me. A book isn’t going to form some opinion about me that could wreck my life. I learn about so many new and great things from reading. I keep to myself with a good book and a shot of whiskey and I’m right with the world.” He went on to tell him about some of the great books he had read over the years, mentioning a few of the ones in his private stack.

SHORT BIO:

Paulette Mahurin, an award-winning author, is a Nurse Practitioner who lives in Ojai, California with her husband Terry and their two dogs–Max and Bella. She practices women’s health in a rural clinic and writes in her spare time. She has been involved in dog rescue for the past 28 years. All profits from her book are going to the first an only no-kill animal shelter in Ventura County, CA. (Santa Paula Animal Rescue Center (http://www.santapaulaarc.org/)

February 4, 2013

Meet First Love Blog Hop Author Paulette Mahurin

From Paulette:
First let me give a big heartfelt thank you to Elyse Grant for inviting me over to this great blog site.

Since the subject matter of my book is intolerance, bullying another for their nature, I thought it’d be a good thing to take a look at what tolerance is. I know that I can always go deeper, look deeper, on that subject, for I often see things arise in me that are definitely intolerant, if I am to be very honest with you here. I see the way
someone dresses or acts and I think to myself, how could you do that? Or wear that? Or be that? Be that? Are you kidding me! If someone judges me, or worse tries to change something about me, unless it’s constructive toward relationship building and my betterment coming from someone who loves and knows me (but come on it is usually someone judging and wanting to change me, for the most part), if someone does that to me, I’m up in arms. Yet, when I do it, it feels right. I feel, and believe, I’m right. Boy do I have a strong ego; it creates reality out of thin air, instead of simply accepting what is.
What I’m trying to say is, I’m human. We all are and we all do this. We judge yet come out with ridiculous statements like, I don’t judge, I’m not judgmental, then we spew out, okay I spew out, things that are so judgmental and when I’m called on it, I defend why I’m not doing it. In writing this book, I saw a lot of this in myself, especially while writing about Josie, the hate filled rumor mongering bitch, who can’t keep her mouth shut, and what comes out of it is ignorant babble. I also see myself in Gus, the voice of tolerance and wisdom, I see how I want to open more, be more accepting, love more, and I also see how in opening I feel better, more alive.
When I started researching my book, the inspiration for the driving force of the story line, Oscar Wilde’s imprisonment, was always near at heart. He was my reminder, my metaphor, of the injustice of intolerance, all housed in beliefs, in laws, in narrow mindedness, all with roots of hatred for what is, another’s nature, that can no more change than a dog can not wag its tail. If we are to believe that God created all under the heavens and sun, then how could it be that there are creations that just aren’t right, not okay, less than human? Seems to me, this has to stem from some culturally based false belief, that gets passed down lifetimes after lifetimes, so by the time I’m into that belief, it feels real to me. Reality is created by thoughts, beliefs, and world viewpoints. If I think that guy likes me and fantasize over how I know he wants me, a reality is created inside of me. The brain doesn’t really know the difference between a thought and what’s actually happening, it secretes its chemicals, creating emotions, and man that is real. I believe I’m being rejected and it feels bad. That’s real and I’m feeling it.
If I believed Oscar Wilde was evil, or wrong, or acting illegally because he was a Gay man, then my mind is going to work it out to make it seems so. But what about what is accurate? Who among us would want to be prevented from loving? From intimacy, from the one we love? No one. It’s one of the most basic human needs from time and memorial, right along with our need to eat, drink, breathe, and if we had a switch or choice why would be chose devastation, humiliation, labeling that puts one in jail and kills? This has been the debate over sexual preference for decades, is it nature or nurture? The abundant view is nature. And, with this I agree. I agree and feel that Oscar Wilde did what came naturally, and in doing so, acting through what he could no more prevent than can a leaf from taking in carbon dioxide to survive, an ice cube melting in the sun, a fire’s warmth, all things of nature, and so what’s left is my fundamental question, can I tolerate it? Can I accept what is, see my insides resisting and wanting to change it, and breathe in a new possibility, that it is different, and I’m okay with different, because different is not bad, it’s just different. After all, aren’t we all different?
Bio:

Paulette Mahurin, an award-winning best selling author, is a Nurse Practitioner who lives in Ojai, California with her husband Terry and their two dogs–Max and Bella. She practices women’s health in a rural clinic and writes in her spare time. She is an animal advocate and has been involved with dog rescue, along with her husband, for the past twenty-eight years. All profits from her book, The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap, are going to the Santa Paula Animal Rescue Center (the first and only no-kill shelter in Ventura County, CA).  



About The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

The year 1895 was filled with memorable historical events: the Dreyfus Affair divided France; Booker T. Washington gave his Atlanta address; Richard Olney, United States Secretary of State, expanded the effects of the Monroe Doctrine in settling a boundary dispute between the United Kingdom and Venezuela; and Oscar Wilde was tried and convicted for "gross indecency" under Britian's recently passed law that made sex between males a criminal offense. When the news of Wilde's conviction went out over telegraphs worldwide, it threw a small Nevada town into chaos. This is the story of what happened when the lives of its citizens were impacted by the news of Oscar Wildes' imprisonment. It is chronicle of hatred and prejudice with all its unintended and devastating consequences, and how love and friendship bring strength and healing. Paulette Mahurin, the author, is a Nurse Practitioner who lives in Ojai, California with her husband Terry and their two dogs--- Max and Bella. She practices women's health in a rural clinic and writes in her spare time. All profits from her book are going to animal rescue, Santa Paula Animal Shelter, the first and only no-kill shelter in Ventura County, CA, where she lives. (see links below on Ventura County Star Article & Shelter) To find out more please go the The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap on facebook or Amazon or e-mail us at the gavatar addresses. Thank you. (photos: of Paulette, her family, and a reading at The Ojai Art Center, July 2012)
This entry was posted in ARTICLES, BLOGGER'S REVIEWS, INTERVIEWS, EXCERPTS, OSCAR WILDE, PROMO. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Oscar Wilde’s imprisonment inspired the writing of The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

  1. You do a great job of promoting your book!

  2. Thank you for your heartfelt work in what you stand on and for.
    Yisraela

  3. rumpydog says:

    I think it’s a damn shame that you humans are forever torturing each other. You’d never see a dog treat another dog like that.

  4. Clowie says:

    Sometimes tolerance seems to be a very rare thing.

  5. TBM says:

    Rape was part of the cure? That’s atrocious!

    • ^ Women’s History Then & Now – Madness. Cwrl.utexas.edu (2002-05-18). Retrieved on 2010-11-30. ” in the 19th century openly lesbian women were thought to be mentally ill. Those admitted to insane asylums often faced forced marriages. While in asylums, furthermore, they were subject to being sexually abused and raped under the care of their physicians in the belief that sexual encounters with men would ‘cure’ them” …

      TBM: There’s still a mentality around the world that rape will cure a lesbian (South Africa, Asia, Africa, etc.). This is why I continue to speak up, in the name of tolerance, because as you wrote, “That’s atrocious!”

      Thank you so much for stopping by. I’m always happy to make new cyber friends.
      Paulette

  6. K. S. Bowers says:

    Definitely will check out The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap. Congratulations on your book. Happy writing.🙂

  7. Red Haircrow says:

    Reblogged this on Flying With Red Haircrow and commented:
    A widely well-reviewed work not only for those interested in GLBTIIQ literature and works, but for anyone who seriously desires or should be exposed stories that highlight the discrimination that existed yet still sadly continues. We are all the same as humans, let’s remember that, no matter where we live, our ethnicity or culture: or who we choose or need to love.

Leave a Reply

