Dog, Cats, Pet Owners: Pet Food Recall

Pet Food Recall info and great links for FDA recall and Dog Food Advisor. Thank you Rumpy Dog for posting this. We’re all grateful for all you do to spread the word to help us help our fury family.

Rumpydog

Yesterday I got the news that every caretaker dreads: My dogs’ food is on a recall list.

Natura has issued a voluntary recall of some of their Innova, Evo, California Natural and Healthwise products. The products on the recall list include food for dogs, cats, and ferrets.

I was afraid, and could not rest until I’d checked the list of potentially contaminated products to see if I had any in my home.

Fortunately, I do not.

But I was still worried. What do I do? Do I keep feeding my dogs this same brand, or do I try something else?

Unless I am willing to go it like Celi at The Kitchen’s Garden, I’m going to have to trust somebody to provide me with food for my animals.

Who am I going to trust?

Two things about Natura impressed me yesterday. First of all, they chose to issue…

View original post 136 more words

About The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

The year 1895 was filled with memorable historical events: the Dreyfus Affair divided France; Booker T. Washington gave his Atlanta address; Richard Olney, United States Secretary of State, expanded the effects of the Monroe Doctrine in settling a boundary dispute between the United Kingdom and Venezuela; and Oscar Wilde was tried and convicted for "gross indecency" under Britian's recently passed law that made sex between males a criminal offense. When the news of Wilde's conviction went out over telegraphs worldwide, it threw a small Nevada town into chaos. This is the story of what happened when the lives of its citizens were impacted by the news of Oscar Wildes' imprisonment. It is chronicle of hatred and prejudice with all its unintended and devastating consequences, and how love and friendship bring strength and healing. Paulette Mahurin, the author, is a Nurse Practitioner who lives in Ojai, California with her husband Terry and their two dogs--- Max and Bella. She practices women's health in a rural clinic and writes in her spare time. All profits from her book are going to animal rescue, Santa Paula Animal Shelter, the first and only no-kill shelter in Ventura County, CA, where she lives. (see links below on Ventura County Star Article & Shelter) To find out more please go the The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap on facebook or Amazon or e-mail us at the gavatar addresses. Thank you. (photos: of Paulette, her family, and a reading at The Ojai Art Center, July 2012)
This entry was posted in REBLOGS. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Dog, Cats, Pet Owners: Pet Food Recall

  1. Thanks for the reblog. I don’t use those foods for the Scrap-meister. I use Merrick products. But it’s getting to the point where I might consider doing what my sister does–she makes her won dog food and biscuits out of all organic foods. Then again, she is the sister who is rich…

  2. natuurfreak says:

    We must remain vigilant for both our food and that of our pets but beware of fear psychosis

  3. Thank you for the post. I don’t use this brand, but experienced a recall of pet food before. It scared me so. I am currently trying to see if rice as it is used in some cat foods is a problem. It was on the news some time back as something humans shouldn’t eat a lot of. But some pet foods have rice as one ingredient. How does it affect cats then?
    They get exposed to enough as humans do.
    Yisraela

    • While cat anatomy is very similar to human anatomy their physiology differs and what might not be good for humans isn’t necessarily bad for cats. The rice scare you’re referring to was the discovery of higher than healthy levels of arsenic. Arsenic in animals at high enough levels can be lethal. Where the tainted rice was discovered, I’m not sure. Whether rice based animal food is safe, even if possessing small amounts of arsenic, is a hard question to answer. I doubt we could even get accurate data to resolve this. For me, it seems prudent to pay attention to recalls and if a large population of pets are on a certain brand food and there aren’t any reports in the news of trouble or any recall from the companies then I would say that it’s probably an okay brand to stay with.

  4. Thank you for reblogging! We use an Evo brand, but fortunately it was not on the list.

Leave a Reply

