Reblog I’m not Gay and I don’t hate you. A child’s needless death.

Very powerful post about a beautiful young boy who committed suicide because he was bullied. Thank you to my friend, Colleen, for this heartfelt compassionate poignant post to help raise awareness on human rights.

The Chatter Blog

This is just a little blog that just a few people read on a regular basis.  I know I won’t reach hundreds with my thoughts.   And they are just thoughts, and opinions.  I will be lucky if I have tens of people read this and relate in some way.   Though I’m just one, I’m one like many.   I get up every day and do the best job I can at living and being a good person.   I don’t know how to fix the world, but I know how to not be a problem to it.   It’s really pretty simple.

I don’t hate.

I try not to inflict problems in to this world and in to other people’s lives.   It just doesn’t seem like the right thing to do.

Today was another shake me up kind of day.   I am sometimes so naive it…

View original post 848 more words

About The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

The year 1895 was filled with memorable historical events: the Dreyfus Affair divided France; Booker T. Washington gave his Atlanta address; Richard Olney, United States Secretary of State, expanded the effects of the Monroe Doctrine in settling a boundary dispute between the United Kingdom and Venezuela; and Oscar Wilde was tried and convicted for "gross indecency" under Britian's recently passed law that made sex between males a criminal offense. When the news of Wilde's conviction went out over telegraphs worldwide, it threw a small Nevada town into chaos. This is the story of what happened when the lives of its citizens were impacted by the news of Oscar Wildes' imprisonment. It is chronicle of hatred and prejudice with all its unintended and devastating consequences, and how love and friendship bring strength and healing. Paulette Mahurin, the author, is a Nurse Practitioner who lives in Ojai, California with her husband Terry and their two dogs--- Max and Bella. She practices women's health in a rural clinic and writes in her spare time. All profits from her book are going to animal rescue, Santa Paula Animal Shelter, the first and only no-kill shelter in Ventura County, CA, where she lives. (see links below on Ventura County Star Article & Shelter) To find out more please go the The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap on facebook or Amazon or e-mail us at the gavatar addresses. Thank you. (photos: of Paulette, her family, and a reading at The Ojai Art Center, July 2012)
This entry was posted in REBLOGS. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Reblog I’m not Gay and I don’t hate you. A child’s needless death.

  1. seeker says:

    At school, when I was younger people were more inclined or accepting about other people’s orientation. It didn’t matter what one’s sexual orientation is. Now I’m a tad older people are so intolerant that has a negative effect on younger generation. Or maybe I was naïve then and today there’s more awareness.

  2. fournier0917 says:

    Well count me in as being reached with your thoughts. I as you will fight these bullies in what ever way I can. Though who for the most part are insecure, and at some point mistreated youths who are twisted out of intelligent shape, and sadly for society as for themselves grow to adulthood incomplete beings. Thank you for keeping the memory of this young boy alive.

  3. fournier0917 says:

    Thank you for this. I am indeed very touched of having been included among the tens you refer to responding, which I have done so feeling very inadequate and lost for words, which as you know is not my habitual problem. Thank you again, and my heart goes out to his family. Jean-Jacques Fournier

  4. Thanks for this reblog, Paulette. So sad and true what you said. As society we have come so far and sometimes yet we are still in the stone age emotionally. What a tragic loss

  5. There have been too much of this anymore. Even one life taken is too many. What a angry, unjust world.
    Yet I still try to find some goodness.
    Yisraela

  6. lgyslaine says:

    Very good reblog Paulette. Excellent article

  7. natuurfreak says:

    Bullying is not to understanding..We must re-educate people back.Pesting is not to accept.
    Sorry for my bad English

  8. So sad that the close mindedness and bullying of people cause such unhappiness in a child

  9. Clowie says:

    I am often puzzled by the hatred in the world.
    School can be a very spiteful place, that’s always been true, but it does seem to be getting worse. People are more aware of the problem, but don’t seem to be able to solve it.

  10. Left a comment at Colleen’s blog. At the heart of the matter I think it is that we focus on our differences and we fear those differences. If we could just focus on what makes us all alike, we’d be so much kinder to each other.

  11. A heartbreaking story. What an unfair world.

    • Hi LCTC,

      Yes, it is heartbreaking and there is unfairness in the world, for sure. But, there is also so much good; kind people who connect to create a better energy out there, helping, heroes, all the unsung kindness in the world that the press doesn’t want to print about. I feel it’s important to publicize stories like this not to point out the negative or tip the scales but to raise awareness so more voices step into the fray. Like here. One never knows the ripple effect.

      Thanks for stopping by and your comment.

Leave a Reply

