Amazon Reviews: A Story Everyone Needs To Read

A few more Amazon reviews came in and I want to thank all who took the time to read and give feedback. I’m very grateful for your time and reviews. Thank you.
4.0 out of 5 stars Prejudice and judgement, March 29, 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)

I just finished this story and loved it. I was captivated by the characters wanting to slap a couple of people and hug others. The characters in this story, major and minor, could be anyone we know today; and they are not cardboard characters but fully fleshed out so we know their likes and dislikes and why they act the way they do. It’s a tale of prejudice and small minded people, but also of people who are good neighbors and who do not judge others. And most of all, a tale of friendship and of love.

5.0 out of 5 stars Completely Wonderfully Written, March 29, 2013
This review is from: The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap (Paperback)

I can say I never expected to find this book so captivating, I never knew how hard homosexuality was back in the 1890s until I read Paulette’s book. It made me cry, laugh and get angry. Homosexuality in those days was a crime and Mildred’s story is one that everyone needs to read. As my mom said “It was profoundly heart wrenching and tremendously well written.” This book is set in the time of Oscar Wilde’s trial and conviction of his homosexuality. It was big news back in those days and a crime around the world, Mildred Dunlap had to deal with persecution, Death and Love all at one time. This book is so wonderful and would make such an amazing movie and I believe this book will become a best seller. We accept homosexuality today as part of normalcy in our lives I couldn’t imagine what they went through then having to hide it and act like it wasn’t there. I want to go on and on about this book but if I did I would have to tell the story and well I don’t believe in spoilers sopick your copy up today and read The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap by Paulette Mahurin.

5.0 out of 5 stars Small Town Life in Nevada 1895, March 28, 2013

There was such a lot that I loved about this book. For a start, the story rattled along at a good pace that never waned and always kept me interested. So very often, even with books that I would recommend, there seems to be some flat spot along the way but not with this one. As a bonus, each chapter is headed by an Oscar Wilde quote.
The story is about Mildred and Edra, in love at a time of little tolerance and living with small town gossip and ignorance that they are sure will uncover the truth about them… until Mildred comes up with a plan.
I was surprised and pleased by the twists and turns in the story. I expected it to be much more predictable and I admired the way the author set up the reader to think that Mildred’s plan, after a few shaky encounters and problems, would come through and save them, when actually the story takes on a whole new and unpredictable turn, just as things do in real life.

5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful and Relevant!, March 25, 2013
By

What a great book! I loved this book. The message is so powerful and relevant. The author did a superb job of creating complex, realistic, characters to deliver this message. The story really unfolds as you turn the pages. It gathered steam and I could not put it down. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap speaks to acceptance (or in this case the lack thereof). It is as important today as it was in the setting of this book to accept others for what they are, not what we wish or expect them to be. I think this book should be required reading for all junior high level students. Do yourself a favor and pick it up today.

5.0 out of 5 stars What a book!, March 19, 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)

This was a really interesting take on homosexuality for sure. It shows how a wonderful, loving, giving woman could be so wrongly bullied and persecuted.

5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, March 18, 2013
This review is from: The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap (Paperback)

I a straight male and I found the book both entertaining and informative concerning the subject of homosexuality. I recommend this book highly.

5.0 out of 5 stars READ THIS, AND GROW!, March 17, 2013
This review is from: The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap (Paperback)

What makes a good story? Look in these pages, and you’ll find one. But much more, you will find as subtle and gross rendering of what feelings, thoughts and behaviors human beings can do to, and for each other. What the author achieves in her whole intent (exemplified by the profits of sales going to a no-kill animal shelter), is to simply and directly touch the reader’s heart with a very clean mirror, that sees the dark and light in beloved and stranger alike, and has to come to terms she can live with, like it or not, and find as good a freedom, as the moment allows for. Well done effort by an insightful writer.

5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful reading, March 12, 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)

The story of two women surviving in a time when condemnation was easily used to persecute those who acted different from the mass population is easily portrayed in this story. The fact that 2 women are gay and love each other is accepted by a few in those early years and an indication that this style of living started with the need for protection of each other.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews

About The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

The year 1895 was filled with memorable historical events: the Dreyfus Affair divided France; Booker T. Washington gave his Atlanta address; Richard Olney, United States Secretary of State, expanded the effects of the Monroe Doctrine in settling a boundary dispute between the United Kingdom and Venezuela; and Oscar Wilde was tried and convicted for "gross indecency" under Britian's recently passed law that made sex between males a criminal offense. When the news of Wilde's conviction went out over telegraphs worldwide, it threw a small Nevada town into chaos. This is the story of what happened when the lives of its citizens were impacted by the news of Oscar Wildes' imprisonment. It is chronicle of hatred and prejudice with all its unintended and devastating consequences, and how love and friendship bring strength and healing. Paulette Mahurin, the author, is a Nurse Practitioner who lives in Ojai, California with her husband Terry and their two dogs--- Max and Bella. She practices women's health in a rural clinic and writes in her spare time. All profits from her book are going to animal rescue, Santa Paula Animal Shelter, the first and only no-kill shelter in Ventura County, CA, where she lives. (see links below on Ventura County Star Article & Shelter) To find out more please go the The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap on facebook or Amazon or e-mail us at the gavatar addresses. Thank you. (photos: of Paulette, her family, and a reading at The Ojai Art Center, July 2012)
This entry was posted in REVIEWS, REVIEWS: THE PERSECUTION OF MILDRED DUNLAP. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Amazon Reviews: A Story Everyone Needs To Read

  1. Congrats on the reviews!

  2. Uzoma says:

    You’re riding high, my friend! I’m very proud of you!

  3. I may not always understand, and I may not always agree, but there is a light and hope and love in all things in the place only we can touch.
    Yisraela

  4. Just finished the book on my Kindle; loved it. I thought you did a great job making the characters 3-dimensional. And the story was interesting; I loved the Oscar Wilde quotes heading each chapter. I left a review on Amazon.com (Grandma Zona)

    • Wow, you just made my day! I just ran over there and put your review in this post right at the top. How wonderful to have you stop by to let me know so I can give you a big cyber hug. I’m really grateful for your feedback and that you took the time to write a review. Thank you, Grandma Zona aka Ruth Rainwater.

  5. natuurfreak says:

    Congrats on the reviews.There a great evolution with years ago but there is a lot to do so homosexuality people can live more happy .

  6. fournier0917 says:

    It’s time, or should I say past time I read this famous book of yours, The persecution of Mildred Dunlap. I will start by trying to find regular paper book edition here in Canada, as I am not a kindle book user. Old fashion I suppose but I must have that feel and smell of paper in my hands to truly appreciate a good book. I am looking forward to reading it so as to join in on the multitude of praises. Jean-Jacques

    • Thank you for your lovely kind words. The only place to get the paperback is through Amazon. I also love to hold a book in my hands but a friend gave me a kindle for Christmas and now I’m balancing between downloaded books and paperbacks. As long as it’s a good story and I enjoy it, I’m finding I am okay with both. If you can’t get it on Amazon and decide you want to try it on your computer, I will gift you the pdf to read. No pressure or obligations.

  7. seeker says:

    I am speechless from reading all the wonderful reviews. I really am enjoying myself reading these and for sure there will more to come. Have a blessed Easter.

  8. fournier0917 says:

    Very impressive indeed. You must be very proud, and so you should, as I am of you taking the time to read my humble writing efforts. Thank you for sharing. Jean-Jacques

Leave a Reply

