My Favorite Movie……

This is such a well written post from my friend, Bill (aka: FlaHam). All of Bill’s post are so honest and from the heart that it really doesn’t matter to me what he writes, I’m a fan. Here’s one about his all time favorite movie, Forest Gump. If you’re a movie lover, you’ll enjoy this. If you like great writing, you’ll love this. If you want to meet a man, one of my cyber heros (who lives with COPD), who has a big fat heart, you’ll want to hang with Bill over at his cyberhome. Kudos to you, Bill.

Dealing with COPD

I am 63 years old, and have been going to the movies for more than 55 years, I must have paid to see almost a 1000 at the theater, (I also paid for at least an additional 600 tickets {that’s a lot of movie dates LOL}), but because some of these were at drive-ins, I have probably only seen 900 all the way through.  Then you add Blockbuster, Netflix, HBO, Showtime, Saturday morning creature features, and all the other pay for view channels and that adds at least, another 1500 or more movies, I have seen.  That folks means I have seen about 45 movies a year for 55 years.  That’s a lot of movies, and a lot of time spent watching them.  Of those 2500 + movies, I have seen 100’s more than once, and still other’s 2 or 3 times, and some (Midway, White Christmas, Raiders of the…

View original post 566 more words

About The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

The year 1895 was filled with memorable historical events: the Dreyfus Affair divided France; Booker T. Washington gave his Atlanta address; Richard Olney, United States Secretary of State, expanded the effects of the Monroe Doctrine in settling a boundary dispute between the United Kingdom and Venezuela; and Oscar Wilde was tried and convicted for "gross indecency" under Britian's recently passed law that made sex between males a criminal offense. When the news of Wilde's conviction went out over telegraphs worldwide, it threw a small Nevada town into chaos. This is the story of what happened when the lives of its citizens were impacted by the news of Oscar Wildes' imprisonment. It is chronicle of hatred and prejudice with all its unintended and devastating consequences, and how love and friendship bring strength and healing. Paulette Mahurin, the author, is a Nurse Practitioner who lives in Ojai, California with her husband Terry and their two dogs--- Max and Bella. She practices women's health in a rural clinic and writes in her spare time. All profits from her book are going to animal rescue, Santa Paula Animal Shelter, the first and only no-kill shelter in Ventura County, CA, where she lives. (see links below on Ventura County Star Article & Shelter) To find out more please go the The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap on facebook or Amazon or e-mail us at the gavatar addresses. Thank you. (photos: of Paulette, her family, and a reading at The Ojai Art Center, July 2012)
This entry was posted in REBLOGS. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to My Favorite Movie……

  1. What’s your favorite movie? I hopped over there and said mine was “Michael” with John Travolta. Remember the dog, Skippy?

  2. fournier0917 says:

    Great post… I love movies! Jean-Jacques

  3. feelingjoy says:

    Hi Paulette. Thank you for the reblog, My Favorite Movie. I left Bill this note…
    Hi Bill. I enjoyed your post thanks to The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap. I want to watch Forest Gump again! I haven’t seen this movie in many years and only a couple of times. Within the past three years, I’ve learned much! One thing, is to watch movies and TV shows to learn and not only for entertainment. When I watch something I look to see how I show up like the characters. When I began doing this, I woke up buried feelings. I cried and many times didn’t feel warm and fuzzy (now I’m beginning to laugh more). I thought, wow, is that what I look like! I’ve been on a path of transformation and this has been rewarding and not soooo easy! I hope to see the movie 42 this weekend at the theater. I know there will be much to receive from this movie. Pam

  4. Mustang.Koji says:

    Thanks for bringing this post to our attention!

  5. Celeste says:

    Interesting post. Thank you

  6. What a sad and funny movie that was. I have seen it a couple times. It speaks to the child within me. He played such a tender innocent and yet adult life.
    Yisraela

  7. Paulette that was a great share! Thank you. 🙂

    ANd thank you Koji because you know I needed a cheering up. 🙂

  8. natuurfreak says:

    I read a lot but don’t like films.I can not sit so long on one place with a problem of my reuma

    • Yes, that would make it hard to sit through a movie. Reading a book and the images that come from that are wonderful and magical as well. I have friends who will not see movies of books they read that they loved. I can certainly understand that. And, then there is you out there in nature, you can’t possibly improve on that show of life.🙂

Leave a Reply

