Reject (1994)

Yesterday, I reblogged the song, The Prayer, and wrote it was dedicated to my cyber friend and her family. Today she posted a photo with a story under it that moved me to tears. I feel a little like an intruder sharing this but it says “reblog” on the page and so I will because this is the kind of love the world needs to see more of. This beautiful man with his son and adopted Steer family, named “Reject”. My heart is with Julie and her beloved Ants as they journey through a rough patch.

jmgoyder

IMAG0082IMAG0083IMAG0084

β€œReject” is the name Anthony gave a steer whose mother had rejected him at birth, and who Ants raised by hand. When he was little, this steer loved Ants so much that he would run at him, jump up and try to hug him around the neck with his two front legs.

View original post

About The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

The year 1895 was filled with memorable historical events: the Dreyfus Affair divided France; Booker T. Washington gave his Atlanta address; Richard Olney, United States Secretary of State, expanded the effects of the Monroe Doctrine in settling a boundary dispute between the United Kingdom and Venezuela; and Oscar Wilde was tried and convicted for "gross indecency" under Britian's recently passed law that made sex between males a criminal offense. When the news of Wilde's conviction went out over telegraphs worldwide, it threw a small Nevada town into chaos. This is the story of what happened when the lives of its citizens were impacted by the news of Oscar Wildes' imprisonment. It is chronicle of hatred and prejudice with all its unintended and devastating consequences, and how love and friendship bring strength and healing. Paulette Mahurin, the author, is a Nurse Practitioner who lives in Ojai, California with her husband Terry and their two dogs--- Max and Bella. She practices women's health in a rural clinic and writes in her spare time. All profits from her book are going to animal rescue, Santa Paula Animal Shelter, the first and only no-kill shelter in Ventura County, CA, where she lives. (see links below on Ventura County Star Article & Shelter) To find out more please go the The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap on facebook or Amazon or e-mail us at the gavatar addresses. Thank you. (photos: of Paulette, her family, and a reading at The Ojai Art Center, July 2012)
This entry was posted in REBLOGS. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Reject (1994)

  1. tazzielove says:

    Animals know the heart of the human. Reminded me of this Christian the Lion video. For anyone who hasn’t seen it, it’s a remarkable expression of interspecies love. Just like what Paulette has posted her about the Steer, Rejected.

    • Going to get the tissues.πŸ™‚

    • feelingjoy says:

      OMG…beautiful story on Christian the lion! I shed some tears. I’ve never seen this, thank you. I also enjoyed seeing the pictures and story of Reject and Anthony. Grateful, Pam

      • I’m with you on enjoying seeing Reject and Anthony. Not going to forget that one.

        I’m so happy you got to see the Christian video. It kills me every time. Not sure if you ever saw or remember the movie/book, “Born Free”? The elderly man at the end was the man who raised the lion cubs with his wife that the movie was written for. He helped them locate Christian. I think youtube has a 45 minute video with the full story.

        Have a great day, Pam xoxo Paulette

      • feelingjoy says:

        Hi Paulette. Yes, I’ve seen “Born Free” years ago. And now I’d like to see the movie again. I will look for the youtube, thank you. Have you seen the movie “Hachi – A Dog’s Tale” (2009) with Richard Gere? Beautiful story! I cried like a baby! I know the movie helped me release some feelings buried deep within, which have to do with my birth dad. During a visit with my dad and step mom, my step mom asked me if I’d seen the movie “Hachi”? We were having a conversation about dogs. I said no and she said the movie has a beautiful story. I forgot about the movie until one day I was in Costco and spotted the one and only copy they had in the DVD section. I grabbed it and grateful because I knew that copy was for me! I know my step mom doesn’t realize the gift she gave me. I see how the Divine Spirit was speaking through her. Have a great day too!, Pam oxox

      • I saw, loved and cried my heart out over that movie. We rented it again and I watched the special features which showed how Richard Gere wanted to train with the dog, who stared in the movie, to create a bond for authenticity. I don’t know if that came with the DVD you purchased at Costco but it was also a very special watch. The only statue erected in Japan, to a dog, is Hatchi. That’s how moving and powerful that story was for an entire village. That must have been some purge for you. I can certainly understand what a great gift that must have been. So glad you mentioned that and this wonderful movie. Hugs, Paulette

  2. I’ve seen Born Free and the video about Christian the lion. Made my hear swell and I wanted to celebrate as I do after reading this post. Thanks for sharing. it never hurts to the wonders in this world.

    • I loved the movie Born Free and was so interested when years later I saw the Christian video and learned that the man in the end who walked with the lions was who the movie was about. What a life he must have lived. Know what you mean about a heart swell.πŸ˜‰

  3. natuurfreak says:

    Great story ,i know the film born free and looked also to that wonder video about Christian the lion.It touch my heart.

  4. What an awesome story to see me through the day.
    Shalom
    Yisraela

  5. seeker says:

    Paulette, Ants and Reject sure take care of one another. They found love with each other and of course Julie. I am getting a good infection about reblog, Paulette. I just reblog about a cat. It’s another good story for the animal lovers in a no kill zone. Happy Sunday.

  6. jmgoyder says:

    Oh thx so much Paulette!

Leave a Reply

