Recent Amazon Reviews: Thank you for your reviews

Thank you to all who have read and reviewed my book. I’m grateful for your time and feedback, in the name of tolerance and to assist with getting dogs & cats into their forever homes.
AMAZON.COM (U.S. & India)
5.0 out of 5 stars Life’s Truths, May 12, 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap (Kindle Edition)

This story exemplifies the harm and pain ignorance and fear that happens when people cease to be individuals and follow one’s own conscience and better judgement. Once they give up their own voice and allow others to make decisions for them and speak for them, how then is the responsibility for the consequences divided or shared? Friendship and trust are saving graces for the main characters in contrast to the negative parts of society we see in Josie and her group. Throughout, the quotes of Oscar Wilde remind us about one of the story threads, yet touch so many other truths of life. Once I began this book, I had to keep going.

 
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic read, May 10, 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap (Kindle Edition)

This was so good that I couldn’t put it down. I read the entire thing in one setting. I love and hate books like this. Love them because they grab your attention and don’t let go, hate them because the end so quickly. I definitely recommend this book.

5.0 out of 5 stars A great book, May 9, 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap (Kindle Edition)

This book is a brilliant study of both human nature and prejudice. Knowing how the protagonist became so twisted and bitter made her more real, but no less vile and villainous. The main characters were well written and easily identified with. All in all this was a well written book with a satisfactory ending. Well worth reading.

5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, May 9, 2013
This review is from: The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap (Paperback)

This wonderful book not only held my attention, but made me think more seriously about the life-style and hardship of a life differing from the norm. The time frame in the late 1800, was well depicted, as were the character development.
It is one of my favorite books of this year.

5.0 out of 5 stars The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap, May 13, 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap (Kindle Edition)

Thought provoking. The ideas that hatred can evoke are beyond reason. People with open minds and true intentions are worth looking for.

5.0 out of 5 stars The sad persecution of Minds., May 6, 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap (Kindle Edition)

This was thoughtful and well written book. It made me consider how much we miss in life when we cannot open our hearts and minds to the differences in the people around us who have so much joy and love to share. We are all unique and that is the best part
Great story.

4.0 out of 5 stars The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap, May 10, 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap (Kindle Edition)

I had reservations about reading this novel when I first started it, thinking it would just be another story about a Lesbian couple. I decided to continue on and I am glad I did. The intolerance and bigoted behavior of a certain group of women in this small town was unacceptable. The author brings you into the story and you forget the reservations you had about reading the book and instead get involved in the friendships and different cultures of the people in the town who came together to help each other out during the terrible times.

5.0 out of 5 stars A real gem, May 6, 2013
By
This review is from: The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap (Kindle Edition)

I loved this book. The characters came alive, each with his/her own vices and virtues to create a perfect fabric of life in a small town – then and now. Thank you – it was a gift.

5.0 out of 5 stars The persecution of Mildred Dunlap, May 13, 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap (Kindle Edition)

Wonderfully written story of what nasty gossip can cause and the tragedy it can cause to good people. Licked the free thinkers who tried to help those in need.

5.0 out of 5 stars Not for everyone, but I loved it, May 6, 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap (Kindle Edition)

Not for those uncomfortable with realistic portrayals or touchy subjects. I loved it. Made me think. Wish there was more on the cousins.

5.0 out of 5 stars Paulette, please write more!, May 6, 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap (Kindle Edition)

This book was a home run. I couldn’t put it down – a very quick read. So well written and what a great storyline. Tolerance and friendship overcoming hate and ignorance. Also love the proceeds being donated to an animal shelter. As a dog owner and lover I appreciate what Paulette is doing.

5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic story, May 7, 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap (Kindle Edition)

This story was so good. It says lot on how people can be good and evil I highly recommend this book

5.0 out of 5 stars Very touching story, May 7, 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap (Kindle Edition)

I read this book in just a few nights, and very much enjoyed it. The story was touching and well detailed. Thank you.

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, May 8, 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap (Kindle Edition)

I found this book to be great…I learn something from reading this book. You will surely njoy…. please do buy. You won’t be disappointed.

4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, May 8, 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap (Kindle Edition)

Welcome to the most dysfunctional small western town where everyone has a secret and an ulterior motive. No secret is safe and the most innocent comment can be misconstrued as evil and twisted. A God fearing town where gossip, hate, suspicion, and jealousy prevail. Will good win out? Can people live their lives as they deem fit? Can all be accepted for the good in their hearts versus judgment on their looks, race, or religion? Read and find out. A touching story of friendship, acceptance, and individuality.

4.0 out of 5 stars I’ve enjoyed it thoroughly!, May 2, 2013
By
This review is from: The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap (Kindle Edition)

I was immersed in the story from the start and I finished it in a single day. I thought the story was very nicely written and I hated that it had to end. I’ll look forward to the author’s future works.

5.0 out of 5 stars Paulette Mahurin’s book, May 5, 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap (Paperback)

Paulette Mahurin’s book The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap is a great reminder of narrow minded thinking and social intolerance. This doesn’t occur just in small communities or in the past. It is just as insidious in big cities but perhaps more diluted. Perhaps it is easier to hide in cities if one is not part of an “accepted norm”. It is not just in the past, but social justice is an ongoing issue in today’s society. The legal rights of gay couples is still a current topic in religion and politics. This story serves to show the human side of those that do not fit the “normal” or what is acceptable. Sometimes seeing the human side helps sway a prejudice into a softness. I think the story is well written. I could visualize the environment and characters, and felt empathy for them. I liked the point the book is making.

5.0 out of 5 stars Loved It, May 7, 2013
By
Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap (Kindle Edition)

This was a book I was unable to put down.

Maybe the ending could of been not so abrupt.

Thanks for writing about a subject matter many of us have not given a second thought.

4.0 out of 5 stars A realistic look into life., May 6, 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap (Kindle Edition)

The tongue can be used for good or for harm and the author illustrates the effects . It behooves us all to be careful of what we hear and speak.

4.0 out of 5 stars Who s truth, May 5, 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap (Kindle Edition)

This book showed the heartache of people that live a different lifestyle than what is the normal there is one truth in the Bible and it is up to us to find it, I take the words as written others as to and take away to suit themselves

4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, May 13, 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)

The story line was a good one and it was well written and edited. The book was set at the turn of 20th century so some of the discussion about sexuality and homosexuality didn’t ring true to the time period. But that’s a minor criticism.

AMAZON UK:

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Makes you think, 6 May 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap (Kindle Edition)

This is not my usual type of book, but I thought it sounded interesting.I thought the book captured the time as I imagine it to be very well,the small town feel, and town gossips,and the hardships of life at that time.Also the fear of anything different.I thought this was going to be a tale of woe, but it was actually uplifting and showed the goodness in people as well as the bad,I have to say I’m glad my time is now and not back then,good book.

 

AMAZON CANADA:

5.0 out of 5 stars incredibly relevant in today’s society, May 8 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap (Kindle Edition)

The theme of this book was hard to take given the relevancy of the same issues. It breaks my heart when people interfere and judge others. Kindness and compassion are often absent. I was fearing a horrible ending, but happily this book ended with a surprise twist that I would have never suspected. This is an important read and speaks to judgement of all types.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
 

4.0 out of 5 stars A Poignant portrayal of women, Jan 31 2013
By
Great Historicals (Canada and USA) – See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)
This review is from: The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap (Kindle Edition)

Set in the 1880s Nevada, The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap is about a lesbian couple earning their livelihood on a Nevada. They live quietly, happily, keeping to themselves. Then, Britain brought in a law that made homosexuality an illegal act and the famed Oscar Wilde was charged, convicted, and imprisoned, news set telegraph wires resounding throught America.

Mildred Dunlap and her lover are terrified that attention and suspicion will now fall upon them. While they try to keep themselves inconspicuous, town gossips stir up terrible trouble. As suspicions grow worse, they are helped by someone who unexpectedly comes to their aid.

Written on every page are messages of true love, individual prejudices, odium, and the power of love to overcome. A pleasantly gripping story that definitely engaged me. I’m not surprised that there are so many 5 star reviews of this novel. It is definitely worth reading.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 

5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, Dec 23 2012
By
Wanda “Wandah Panda” (Pretoria, South Africa) – See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)
This review is from: The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap (Kindle Edition)

Before I started to read the book the author insisted on a fair and honest review.
That made me nervous. Very nervous, so as I started to read the book it was with relief that I fell in love with the story. In essence it is about prejudice and gossip and how speaking without thinking can ruin lives and have done so already.
What came as a surprise was Charlay. A man knocked to the floor by grief, friending a woman and a man who on first appearance confirms to the times and norms but both of them have a secret, a secret which could get them jailed or ostracized in a small town. Both these people have another thing in common, they read. As Charlay gets drawn into a plan by one of his new friends which leaves him in the middle of the gossip rumour it is his other friend that provides him with rationalisation and insight he needed. Charlay’s growth in the book is immense and I loved reading about him and his journey into a less judgemental way of thinking. I loved the part in the book where he is told, that what he was raised to believe may not be the truth, that he, as a man in his own right received a mind by the Grace of God and that if he should use it to think for himself then he should see it as a gift from God. Charlay did not disappoint.
This is one of those books which you will either love or not, but I do believe that all can learn much and that most will love the moral of the story. Hellen’s story, a minor subplot in the book is a tragic reminder and I have only come across one other character that I hated more than I do Josie.
I give this book a 7 *** *** * review rating.

AMAZON FRANCE:

5.0 étoiles sur 5 Gift for my freind, 12 janvier 2013
Achat authentifié par Amazon(De quoi s’agit-il ?)
Ce commentaire fait référence à cette édition : The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap (Broché)

I already read this book in e version and I liked it so much I bought it as a Christmas Gift for a friend.

About The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

The year 1895 was filled with memorable historical events: the Dreyfus Affair divided France; Booker T. Washington gave his Atlanta address; Richard Olney, United States Secretary of State, expanded the effects of the Monroe Doctrine in settling a boundary dispute between the United Kingdom and Venezuela; and Oscar Wilde was tried and convicted for "gross indecency" under Britian's recently passed law that made sex between males a criminal offense. When the news of Wilde's conviction went out over telegraphs worldwide, it threw a small Nevada town into chaos. This is the story of what happened when the lives of its citizens were impacted by the news of Oscar Wildes' imprisonment. It is chronicle of hatred and prejudice with all its unintended and devastating consequences, and how love and friendship bring strength and healing. Paulette Mahurin, the author, is a Nurse Practitioner who lives in Ojai, California with her husband Terry and their two dogs--- Max and Bella. She practices women's health in a rural clinic and writes in her spare time. All profits from her book are going to animal rescue, Santa Paula Animal Shelter, the first and only no-kill shelter in Ventura County, CA, where she lives. (see links below on Ventura County Star Article & Shelter) To find out more please go the The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap on facebook or Amazon or e-mail us at the gavatar addresses. Thank you. (photos: of Paulette, her family, and a reading at The Ojai Art Center, July 2012)
This entry was posted in REVIEWS, REVIEWS: THE PERSECUTION OF MILDRED DUNLAP. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Recent Amazon Reviews: Thank you for your reviews

  1. 68ghia says:

    you deserve every good review P😉

  2. FlaHam says:

    Paulette, I was quite fortunate to encountered you and became a friend, because of our you provided me a copy of Mildred Dunlap, which I cherish! Artzee’s was one of the best. And had one of the best lines I have read in a review. Please write more!—please do, I so enjoyed Mildred. Thanks — Bill

  3. FlaHam says:

    Paulette, I was quite fortunate to have encountered you and became a friend, because of our friendship you provided me a copy of Mildred Dunlap, which I cherish! Artzee’s comment was one of the very best. And had one of the best lines I have read in a review. Please write more!—please do, I so enjoyed Mildred. Thanks — Bill ps– I really need an editor LOL LOL

    • So do I! lol. Not kidding. My book still has a couple typos in it that makes me cringe but if I take it off the market then it’s off for 3 + weeks and as long as it’s selling I want to keep it there to get the funds to the furry friends. But, I’ve had people write reviews correcting the spelling, lol. All in stride. And, with you I’m in good company. Thanks so much for all your support and kind words.🙂

  4. Great reviews and so well deserved. So glad to see your book getting continuous attention. X

    • It’s very wonderful when someone reads your words and takes the time to comment back. I just wrote to someone it’s our food, whether on our blog site, our books… that interchange is so wonderful.

      I also enjoy commenting on writing that I like, which is the case with yours. I’m not kidding when I say I’ve gotten some good ideas on writing from how you set up your scenes.🙂

  5. seeker says:

    Now lets go for the longest best seller.

  6. Jemmy Farmer says:

    My dear friend, I have nominated you for The Wonderful Team Member Award! Congratulations! Please visit this

    http://jemmyfarmer.wordpress.com/2013/05/07/the-wonderful-team-member-award/

  7. I’ve just bought it from Amazon UK. It might be a little while before I can read it because I’ve got quite a few to get through at the moment. I’ll let it skip a few places in the queue though and get to it asap. I can’t wait actually. I’ll do a review as soon as I finish.
    Cheers

Leave a Reply

