Mother’s Day…

HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY TO MY FRIEND GHIA. To add to the present your son gave to you I am reblogging this because you’ve touched my heart so deeply with your honesty and authenticity. Your words here, this magnificent post that made me cry and love you more, is my offering to all mother’s everywhere, whether your kids are human, fury, borrowed, HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY. And, Ghia: I’m sure old Sash and my old girl Tazzie are wagging down on us as we speak.

Photo on 2013-05-12 at 08.58 #3

lighting a candle for Old Sash and Old girl Tazzie
And, for all the Mother’s who have graced this earth.

jaycee68

not only in the States WP…

The Daily Prompt.

More entries.

Missive :

Today is Mother’s Day in the United States. Wherever in the world you are, write your mother a letter.

Photographers, share a photo that says mothering.

I’m indeed not going to write mom a letter. I cooked for her today. Well, mostly. She did the finishing touches, and made the dessert, and we all had a relatively peaceful lunch. I will write about her, and about being a mother though.

Having kids, giving actual birth to them, is hard work. It hurts like a bitch. You have a bunch of people standing around your nether regions, looking into a place YOU don’t even get to look at, unless maybe, if your lover is very nearsighted and has to wear glasses all the time.

So, giving birth is not romantic. It’s not pretty. It’s messy and violent, and…

View original post 750 more words

About The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

The year 1895 was filled with memorable historical events: the Dreyfus Affair divided France; Booker T. Washington gave his Atlanta address; Richard Olney, United States Secretary of State, expanded the effects of the Monroe Doctrine in settling a boundary dispute between the United Kingdom and Venezuela; and Oscar Wilde was tried and convicted for "gross indecency" under Britian's recently passed law that made sex between males a criminal offense. When the news of Wilde's conviction went out over telegraphs worldwide, it threw a small Nevada town into chaos. This is the story of what happened when the lives of its citizens were impacted by the news of Oscar Wildes' imprisonment. It is chronicle of hatred and prejudice with all its unintended and devastating consequences, and how love and friendship bring strength and healing. Paulette Mahurin, the author, is a Nurse Practitioner who lives in Ojai, California with her husband Terry and their two dogs--- Max and Bella. She practices women's health in a rural clinic and writes in her spare time. All profits from her book are going to animal rescue, Santa Paula Animal Shelter, the first and only no-kill shelter in Ventura County, CA, where she lives. (see links below on Ventura County Star Article & Shelter) To find out more please go the The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap on facebook or Amazon or e-mail us at the gavatar addresses. Thank you. (photos: of Paulette, her family, and a reading at The Ojai Art Center, July 2012)
This entry was posted in REBLOGS. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Mother’s Day…

  1. 68ghia says:

    This was such a kind thing to do Paulette😉
    I’m sure we all struggle with uncertainties regarding the care of innocent beings – it’s a very difficult road to travel.
    Let’s light a candle for our two furry kids tonight – unlike human kids, they are consistent in their love for us, and yes, I’m sure they are looking down at us, telling us it will be all right, we should just not give up🙂

    • See above: candle lit and what a huge bright light it shinned. Since it’s your nighttime now, or heading into it we lit a candle that will burn with yours, our hearts joined together, and will continue into our evening. We’re doing our first candlelight vigil together. I can feel the wagging as we speak. On another note: I don’t know any human being that doesn’t struggle with uncertainties, that is if they are in their right mind.🙂

  2. tazzielove says:

    That’s a well written great post. Very moving and real.

  3. I write this with leaky ducts.
    Saw this on Ghia’s blog. Wonderfully written.

  4. seeker says:

    Isn’t her written aweseome. I just love her honest demeanor.

  5. Yes, it is and I love her honesty also. So refreshing.🙂

  6. What a wonderful tribute. Happy Mother’s Day. I had no children. Only my feline ones. But I love and care for them as real children.
    With love
    Yisraela

  7. Great share Paulette. I really enjoyed her writing style.

  8. I lost my mom. A cancer took her away from home, but not from my Heart.
    I love you, Mommy. Wherever you are I know you can hear me and my Heart.
    Arrivederci, mamma cara.

    Eli

Leave a Reply

