Review from author Jake Adler, “Reminded me of the Nobel Prize winning author John Steinbeck’s…”

  • Jake Adler says

    Paulette Mahurin’s book is an absolute delight to read. It reminded me of the Nobel Prize winning author John Steinbeck’s book Of Mice and Men. There are few books that I find that I have read over the years that stay in my memory, this is one of them.

    (Thank you, Jake Adler, for this review which I just found on Shelfari. I’m thrilled and grateful for your kind words about my book)

    ALL AMAZON.COM REVIEWS at link below:

    http://www.amazon.com/The-Persecution-Mildred-Dunlap-ebook/product-reviews/B008K9DV4U/ref=dp_top_cm_cr_acr_txt?ie=UTF8&showViewpoints=1

    Β Recent Amazon.com reviews:

    5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, May 18, 2013
    By
    Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    This review is from: The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap (Kindle Edition)

    This book made me realize how hatred and rumors can wreck lives of others. This story kept my attention to the end. I would recommend this book to anyone. Especially those who are trying to understand things in life that they don’t agree with.Amazon.com (U.S. & India)

    5.0 out of 5 stars great book – very pertinent to today’s time, May 18, 2013
    Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    This review is from: The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap (Kindle Edition)

    I got this book for free on amazon and I am glad I read it. I was angry at the ladies of the town and their respective spouses throughout the entire book. I think that is testimony to the story content and how it was written. The men to me were just as guilty of the persecution for their lack of action as the ladies were with their gossip. The only thing I didn’t like about this book was the ending. It seemed like there was a big jump from the funeral to Josie and her husband leaving town. For instance I would have liked more about Gus’s involvement in their exodus. Other than that I really enjoyed this book and might even pick it for one of my 3 book clubs. It has great discussion-material potential.

    5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic read . . ., May 16, 2013
    Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    This review is from: The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap (Kindle Edition)

    This book is about life, love and acceptance. A lesson to be learned, or relearned, by all. Thanks to Ms. Mahurin!

    5.0 out of 5 stars A very good book, May 17, 2013
    This review is from: The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap (Kindle Edition)

    Most of the free books that I download aren’t worth reading. This one was an exception. The author wrote about a controversial subject with sympathy and grace. She encourages the reader to look
    at homosexuality in a different light, by creating a sympathetic and kind character like Mildred. I was hooked to the end.

    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    4.0 out of 5 stars A delightful. Story of acceptance and love, May 18, 2013
    This review is from: The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap (Kindle Edition)

    I enjoyed this book very much. Well written, and embraced the most simple act of friendship and love. I highly recommend this book.

     

    SHELFARI REVIEWS:

    • Rated 5 stars

    β€œLoved this story. Two women try to keep their true relationship a secret from the town gossip mongers during the late 1800’s and find out who their true friends are.”

About The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

The year 1895 was filled with memorable historical events: the Dreyfus Affair divided France; Booker T. Washington gave his Atlanta address; Richard Olney, United States Secretary of State, expanded the effects of the Monroe Doctrine in settling a boundary dispute between the United Kingdom and Venezuela; and Oscar Wilde was tried and convicted for "gross indecency" under Britian's recently passed law that made sex between males a criminal offense. When the news of Wilde's conviction went out over telegraphs worldwide, it threw a small Nevada town into chaos. This is the story of what happened when the lives of its citizens were impacted by the news of Oscar Wildes' imprisonment. It is chronicle of hatred and prejudice with all its unintended and devastating consequences, and how love and friendship bring strength and healing. Paulette Mahurin, the author, is a Nurse Practitioner who lives in Ojai, California with her husband Terry and their two dogs--- Max and Bella. She practices women's health in a rural clinic and writes in her spare time. All profits from her book are going to animal rescue, Santa Paula Animal Shelter, the first and only no-kill shelter in Ventura County, CA, where she lives. (see links below on Ventura County Star Article & Shelter) To find out more please go the The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap on facebook or Amazon or e-mail us at the gavatar addresses. Thank you. (photos: of Paulette, her family, and a reading at The Ojai Art Center, July 2012)
This entry was posted in REVIEWS, REVIEWS: THE PERSECUTION OF MILDRED DUNLAP. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Review from author Jake Adler, “Reminded me of the Nobel Prize winning author John Steinbeck’s…”

  1. tazzielove says:

    Wow, impressive review.

  2. seeker says:

    Comparative review, wow, That is just good news, Paulette. My wish for your book that it be produced in the the BIG screen.

  3. FlaHam says:

    Paulette, what a wonderful review. If I had written something this got this review, I would frame it and hang it over the fireplace. To be compared to Stienbeck that is so sweet. Take care, Bill — and the best thing is that Mildred is a damn fine book.

    • I know, it’s so humbling. Hard to even find the right words of thank you for the person who wrote it. Hope today’s a good day for you. Been sending you lots of good healing thoughts and hope to God you make it home soon. Take care & please be well, friend.πŸ™‚

  4. fournier0917 says:

    Celebrity, if not already, may be by now too lacking to describe writing you and your writing achievement of The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap. Once again wonderful for you to be recognized so, and once more CONGRATULATIONS! I am indeed proud to have made your acquaintance Paulette, if but thru the good hospices of blogging my scribbles. Jean-Jacques Fournier

    • Your words are way too kind. One reader, one review, even a few, … I’m grateful and fortunate. But there are the critics as well. All in balance. I love and admire your poetry, and so many of my other blogging family’s writing, so much talent to be shared and learned from. I’m grateful for all of it. I humbly thank you for your kindness and support. I pray it transcends into doing some good where that is needed.πŸ™‚

  5. GEEZ OH PETE!

    (I don’t know what that means but it seemed appropriate!!) Great review, and well…he’s right!

  6. Awesome review Paulette and of course my beautiful friend you are so very worthy! ❀

  7. gita4elamats says:

    Compared to Steinbeck, awesome!πŸ™‚

  8. 68ghia says:

    As always P, in my opinion, well deserved cudos!!!

  9. natuurfreak says:

    very wonderful review Paulette

  10. Lucky YOU, to receive such a lovely review. Congratulations, Paulette. Wonderful to hear.

  11. Are you working on another book, Paulette? I believe much of the world is awaiting more from you…πŸ™‚ I know I am!

    • “His Name Was Ben” is with the editor as we speak. We’ll see where it goes from there…it is a very risky subject (based on a true story of two cancer patients who met and fell in love).

      You have another in the hopper also? I want to read more from you in book form. In the meantime, your incredibly funny, sensitive, wise, all over the map blog site will do.
      πŸ™‚

      • Yes, I am working on “Never Turn Back,: the fictionalized version of my grandmother’s and mother’s journey and trials from Finland to Paris (where they survived WWII), then to America. It’s a real departure from my first book in both genre and voice, since it is quite dramatic. I’m about a quarter-way through the first draft.

      • Oh that sounds terrific. Love the title and premise of the book. Can’t wait to read it.πŸ™‚

  12. cindy knoke says:

    Such impressive reviews and so well deserved!

Leave a Reply

