Pals

Pals

The dog on the left is blind. The other one, his guide.

About The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

The year 1895 was filled with memorable historical events: the Dreyfus Affair divided France; Booker T. Washington gave his Atlanta address; Richard Olney, United States Secretary of State, expanded the effects of the Monroe Doctrine in settling a boundary dispute between the United Kingdom and Venezuela; and Oscar Wilde was tried and convicted for "gross indecency" under Britian's recently passed law that made sex between males a criminal offense. When the news of Wilde's conviction went out over telegraphs worldwide, it threw a small Nevada town into chaos. This is the story of what happened when the lives of its citizens were impacted by the news of Oscar Wildes' imprisonment. It is chronicle of hatred and prejudice with all its unintended and devastating consequences, and how love and friendship bring strength and healing. Paulette Mahurin, the author, is a Nurse Practitioner who lives in Ojai, California with her husband Terry and their two dogs--- Max and Bella. She practices women's health in a rural clinic and writes in her spare time. All profits from her book are going to animal rescue, Santa Paula Animal Shelter, the first and only no-kill shelter in Ventura County, CA, where she lives. (see links below on Ventura County Star Article & Shelter) To find out more please go the The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap on facebook or Amazon or e-mail us at the gavatar addresses. Thank you. (photos: of Paulette, her family, and a reading at The Ojai Art Center, July 2012)
This entry was posted in PERSONAL POSTS, PHOTOS. Bookmark the permalink.

59 Responses to Pals

  1. seeker says:

    This is what I call a Guide Dog!

  2. Deb says:

    Beautiful pets!🙂
    xxx

  3. Denise Hisey says:

    That is one of the sweetest pictures I’ve ever seen, Paulette.
    Dogs have the most amazing way of teaching us the purest form of love.

  4. FlaHam says:

    Paulette, what a wonderful photo, what we humans could learn from this simple snapshot. Take care, Bill

  5. Uzoma says:

    This pic speaks volumes. It’s wonderful and touching at the same time.

  6. mixedupmeme says:

    I am no longer amazed at what animals can and do do.
    I am more amazed at what humans can and don’t do. 😦

  7. I remember reading about these dogs and several other pairs like them. And we have had some pairs of dogs at our shelter where one dog is the eyes for the other. Dogs are awesome!

  8. Angie says:

    Love it!!! So sweet!!!

  9. Such a sweet photo! Are the dogs siblings? I have a blind cat. Since he’s indoors, he finds his way around OK.

  10. fournier0917 says:

    A most touching example of kindness. Makes one think.

  11. feelingjoy says:

    Thank you Paulette for this post! This picture has touched me. After looking at the picture, the little voice in my head said the blind dog represents you and the dog, which is the guide represents God.

  12. gita4elamats says:

    This is why I love dogs, they are wonderful teachers of compassion and unconditional love!😀

  13. Thank you for sharing this scene of exemplary trust and compassion – emotions some readily attribute only to humans, who are, however, capable of doing the most monstrous acts to each other day in and day out.

  14. Aw, too sweet. Best of pals – just love it!

  15. BeWithUs says:

    A pic filled with so much warmth…awww….

  16. natuurfreak says:

    What a great photo of friendshap and love.,why people can also do that?

  17. It’s amazing to me how animals find a way but humans fail each other in so many ways. Love the picture, Paulette.

    • gita4elamats says:

      ‘Dog eat dog world’?!🙂

    • It amazes me also, Tess. This photo brings up so much love and joy in me, and sorrow which is what you’re speaking to. We have unfortunately been blessed, and cursed, with the capacity to think about our conditioning and formulate all sorts of beliefs that separate us, put us at war with each other, create grudges, whereas animals do what they have to and move on, we don’t. Lot to learn about forgiveness and so many other things from these magnificent creatures.

      When I was at my worst with Lyme disease, it was my dog, Tazzie, that offered me the most comfort. Not that my husband and friends didn’t try or want to but there was something about her by my side through the worst of it, day and night, dedicated to being there for me, that got me through a lot…it’s why I dedicate my profits from the book to rescue animals. ‘Nuff from my mouth… Have a good day.🙂

  18. How can people say that dogs don’t have feelings? “They” never knew a dog apparently!

    • That is so true! Sometimes I think mine are more in touch with theirs than I am. It’s all so right there and up front with them. And, gawd forbid we leave the house without taking them with, guilt trip like no other, lol. But, one of the most incredible things, other than their presence in this moment, is how in tune and sensitive they are to appear at the side of those bonded with. There were so many times, my dog Tazzie (RIP) would be in the other room and I’d be hurting (meningitis, etc) and she’d appear, magically and stay with me till it passed then get on with her own stuff.

      Thank you God for giving us your name spelled backwards, Dog.

      Have a great day and as always rubbies to Scrappy.🙂

  19. scott2608 says:

    Wonderful post and photo!

    • It is. I don’t know who took it or it’s origin but it’s been circulating the net and different sites and moved me so much I wanted to share. It’s an amazingly special photo. Really nice to have you stop by, love your photography.🙂

  20. Misaki says:

    So sweet🙂

Leave a Reply

