God Help Us All

This short film won  first place of the 2006 film Festival in Germany , well recommended, it only takes 6 minutes……
open link below

http://www.cultureunplugged.com/play/1081/Chicken-a-la-Carte

 

This left me speechless and heartsick.

About The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

The year 1895 was filled with memorable historical events: the Dreyfus Affair divided France; Booker T. Washington gave his Atlanta address; Richard Olney, United States Secretary of State, expanded the effects of the Monroe Doctrine in settling a boundary dispute between the United Kingdom and Venezuela; and Oscar Wilde was tried and convicted for "gross indecency" under Britian's recently passed law that made sex between males a criminal offense. When the news of Wilde's conviction went out over telegraphs worldwide, it threw a small Nevada town into chaos. This is the story of what happened when the lives of its citizens were impacted by the news of Oscar Wildes' imprisonment. It is chronicle of hatred and prejudice with all its unintended and devastating consequences, and how love and friendship bring strength and healing. Paulette Mahurin, the author, is a Nurse Practitioner who lives in Ojai, California with her husband Terry and their two dogs--- Max and Bella. She practices women's health in a rural clinic and writes in her spare time. All profits from her book are going to animal rescue, Santa Paula Animal Shelter, the first and only no-kill shelter in Ventura County, CA, where she lives. (see links below on Ventura County Star Article & Shelter) To find out more please go the The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap on facebook or Amazon or e-mail us at the gavatar addresses. Thank you. (photos: of Paulette, her family, and a reading at The Ojai Art Center, July 2012)
This entry was posted in PERSONAL POSTS. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to God Help Us All

  1. tazzielove says:

    Reblogged this on tazziesplace and commented:
    If only we could we could bring water and food to everyone in the world.

  2. mixedupmeme says:

    I would have a hard time being remotely interested in even trying to conceive any more children if I had to live like that.
    Not blaming anyone for that though.
    A powerful film for sure.
    But somehow I felt the emphasize of throwing away food should not be the focus.
    The problem of hunger etc in the world is way more than wastefulness. The roots of the problem are deeper. I guess the whole culture of the have and have nots is just an acceptable concept. And until those attitudes are broken, nothing will change.

    I wish I were more articulate. I’m just rattling my first impressions. One always wishes one could do more than sit here feeling guilty on a full tummy. 😦

    • Thank you, meme. You articulated this very well and I agree with what you wrote. Overpopulation is the one of biggest international problem. But, to handle it smacks in the face of religious ideology and cultural programming that goes back centuries. People like Bill & Melissa Gates & Warren Buffet have thrown millions of dollars toward trying to do some good and they have come up with some help to stop malaria in third world countries but the problems are so vast and wide, big picture, that what they did barely puts a dent in the problem of needless suffering. I don’t know what the answer is. Perhaps posting this, and things like this, help some, and that’s a good thing… but for the big picture I don’t see any big change in our lifetime.

  3. fournier0917 says:

    I wish I could say you made my day, but I could hardly see the images by the time this horror story came to the end. But there is no end, is there, to the suffering to which these poor people are subjected.

    When I was very young, I tried to talk to that god people still refer to, or of whom they ask for help, but I never got an answer either.

    Sad when you think of how much we waste on hate and greed, not to mention indifference, by they to who have the power. Jean-Jacques

  4. 68ghia says:

    That’s the world. Avarice, greed, plenty, and around the corner, abject poverty.

  5. This breaks my heart. I know it’s about hunger and feeding the poor multitudes, however, the girlfriends could have ordered one diner, saved money and had less waste (but the poor wouldn’t have supper that night). Still, them that has, gets (more) and wastes because they can.
    I went to a Chinese Buffet about a year ago and it made me ill to see how people piled up their plates, ate little, left plates to be taken away and went for MORE… because they can at one low price etc.

    • I hear you. Just reminded me of a woman a few years ago making sandwiches for the homeless in San Francisco. She was arrested because she didn’t have the proper health paperwork. My husband and I have been to a bakery that has plenty of day old waste that they throw out because it violates something or other. What ever happened to the big picture?

  6. jmsabbagh says:

    This film says it all about the reality that the many want to ignore .The dismay and the poverty bring tears to the eyes and wounds to the hears.There are those who have stomach ache for having to much to eat and there are those who have stomach ache for having nothing to eat.The UN with it’s billions is dong nothing to fight the atrocities of Poverty,Human trafficking,and human rights.Thank you for this great post.Sincerely jalal Michael

  7. FlaHam says:

    Paulette, you are for ever finding ways to stir my emotions in a positive manner. Sometimes the stir makes me feel good, some not so good. This film is another example. I truly wish to thank you for these events, these words, these films you share, and the thoughts that come because of them. Take care — Bill

  8. natuurfreak says:

    It breaks my heart.I never understood that so many people are hungry i n this time. and here they had so much to eat .

  9. That was very difficult to watch. I work in a field where I am made aware on a regular basis that people, right here, are hungry. For all of the progress we see around the world, why are people still hungry? I wanted to turn it off but knew that would not change anything. And me turning off a video because it’s “sad” is no way to help.

    • Interesting, I had a similar reaction of why am I watching this and stressing myself over the images that stick in my head. Not very meditative of me. Yet, I kept at it, like you and it’s lingered. I don’t know what I can do about it, other than my daily acts of kindness and consideration and continue to do what I can for the charities I’m helping. It’s a little overwhelming. Maybe someone else will see it and be motivated to help someone. I don’t know. I’ve been pondering and sitting with this one. It is good to commiserate with a friend, though. Tks.

      • I think, as one person, we would be overwhelmed by the magnitude of what this shows us. But, like you, I believe the things we do as individuals is important. Take away one person’s kindness and charity and what does it affect? Who does it affect. Your one post will do it’s ripple effect. Oh…maybe this will be my post. Inspired by you… you are a great one to get us pondering.

      • You manage to say the calming lovely right thing. I run a number on myself, the inside of my head screams, “you’re not doing enough” and here I am with Lyme disease and chronic fatigue making myself nuts. Going to continue to do what I can without killing myself, that’s my challenge-keeping a balance. I honestly hope that there are ripple effects from this, from all your incredibly inspiring posts, from others as well. That idea alone makes me feel better. Thanks.

  10. Clowie says:

    There’s so much waste in our civilisation – and not just food. Almost everything we buy is produced by exploiting someone in a poorer country – our clothes, our phones etc.

  11. There is often so much raw emotion to deal with here. It is a good thing to realize that my actions affect the lives of others. I use to lie awake at night and cry for everyone who was sick, abused or hungry and had no hope. God helped me to see that each of us has the answer to ending these hopeless situations. However, it won’t happen during the age of Grace, ironically. It will happen during the 1,000 year reign of Christ on earth. Thank you for touching my heart today.

Leave a Reply

