Canine hero!

http://www.wimp.com/babysaved/

About The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

The year 1895 was filled with memorable historical events: the Dreyfus Affair divided France; Booker T. Washington gave his Atlanta address; Richard Olney, United States Secretary of State, expanded the effects of the Monroe Doctrine in settling a boundary dispute between the United Kingdom and Venezuela; and Oscar Wilde was tried and convicted for "gross indecency" under Britian's recently passed law that made sex between males a criminal offense. When the news of Wilde's conviction went out over telegraphs worldwide, it threw a small Nevada town into chaos. This is the story of what happened when the lives of its citizens were impacted by the news of Oscar Wildes' imprisonment. It is chronicle of hatred and prejudice with all its unintended and devastating consequences, and how love and friendship bring strength and healing. Paulette Mahurin, the author, is a Nurse Practitioner who lives in Ojai, California with her husband Terry and their two dogs--- Max and Bella. She practices women's health in a rural clinic and writes in her spare time. All profits from her book are going to animal rescue, Santa Paula Animal Shelter, the first and only no-kill shelter in Ventura County, CA, where she lives. (see links below on Ventura County Star Article & Shelter) To find out more please go the The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap on facebook or Amazon or e-mail us at the gavatar addresses. Thank you. (photos: of Paulette, her family, and a reading at The Ojai Art Center, July 2012)
This entry was posted in DOGS RESCUED, PERSONAL POSTS. Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Canine hero!

  1. 68ghia says:

    Such a beautiful, heartwarming story P!!
    Dogs – they should never be underestimated!

  2. Amazing story and dito doggie 🙂

  3. What a smart dog. You hear stories of pets saving their owners and it brings tears to your eyes. How is it they are so s-m-a-r-t?

    • This dog is gifted. I’ve no other way to understand this, outside of the mystery that creates everything, some living forces have gifts that are so natural, innate, that no thinking is required. I’ve read of these gifts in dogs who sniff out cancer and other illness in people even before diagnosed. Why did the elephants know to climb the mountains before the tsunami hit in Thailand and none of the people did? So many questions and no answers. I’m with you on tears to my eyes with these kinds of stories, whether furry or human doing the act. Miracles!!

  4. Clanmother says:

    Another poignant reminder that our lives are richly blessed by our fellow creatures that call earth home. Thank you for starting my day out brilliantly….

  5. What a smart dog who more than repaid his debt to the family. There is not enough money to equal his worth. He has the look of meekness and kindness. What a handsome fellow. Priceless as they say.

    • I completely agree with you. For him, another day just getting on with life and once it’s over back to sniffing, eating, scratching, paying close attention to his god given senses and having the incredible fortitude to stay the course with what is right. I love this dog but then never met one I didn’t love. So happy when you stop by. 🙂

  6. I so believe in animals senses. What a perfect story.

  7. kanzensakura says:

    We may rescue them, but they save us. When I had cancer several years ago, my dear departed Pugsley was a blessing to me. Before I went in the hospital, he could sense something was wrong. he’d get between my husband and I and turn so his paws were around my neck and he would purr me to sleep. When I cam back home, he would like on the bed beside me and be so gentle. – when was having trouble sleeping, he’d go into where my husband was and worry him until he could come and check on me. He was always there for me.

    • Pugsley sounds like a most wonderful friend. They are so intuitive, compassionate, and sensitive. I love that you had him to help you, be there for you, through it all. I know how it is, going through an illness with a furry companion, best friend, at my side. I absolutely love that you took the time to share this here. Hats off to Pugsley. I just love that name. Bet there’s another story there. Hugs! 🙂

  8. Lucy says:

    How wonderful!
    Lucy 🙂

  9. Awww, Lucy, every time I see your photo I break into the biggest smile. I just love it. Yes, the story is wonderful. So glad you got to see it. 🙂

  10. seeker says:

    Dogs are the bestest. Thank you for the post.

  11. Mags Corner says:

    What a wonderful story. There are a lot of people who just don’t realize how grateful rescued dogs and cats are. Thank you so much for sharing this very heart-warming story. Hugs

    • That is so true. To see the faces of dogs & cats in cages waiting for someone to come along and rescue/adopt them, then to see the look they possess when a family comes along. Those expressions say exactly what you’re saying and it shows on them so clearly you have to be blind to not see it. I’m so happy you saw this. Always glad to share with another animal loving friend.

  12. gita4elamats says:

    What an extraordinarily perceptive dog, my hero! 🙂

  13. FlaHam says:

    Paulette, I truly love these heart warming stories. Thank you for sharing it. Bill

  14. Lada Ray says:

    I just want to give him a huge hug. 🙂

  15. natuurfreak says:

    what a lovely story.

  16. Sage says:

    I love hearing stories like this. Dogs can be the first alert in so many instances.

    • That is so true, Sage. Interestingly, more attention is being paid to this ability in dogs on many fronts, search and rescue, cancer research, medical assistance for people with diabetes, seizures, etc. for advance alerting and helping when an incident is about to happen, etc. We can learn so much from you and our other fury brethren. One of my favorite topics. 🙂

  17. And this is why I’m a dog-person! 🙂

  18. WordsFallFromMyEyes says:

    That’s a gorgeous, gorgeous story. Love it.

    I wonder if that was SIDS – just stopping breathing? My God, that would be horrific.

Leave a Reply

