Surprised today

While sitting in the doctor’s office with my husband today, I picked up one of the local Ventura papers. Thumbing through it I came to the editorial page written by Professor Scamp, a happy dog, (the page that talks all things dog: rescue, events, etc.), and saw… Well, Have a look below. Needless to say, it was a pleasant surprise.

 

http://www.venturabreeze.com/8.7.13.pdf

14
August 7 –August 20, 2013
Ventura
BREEZE
Professor Scamp, Ph.D
(Pretty Happy Dog)
Paulette Mahurin is a CARL (Canine Adoption Rescue League) volunteer who has
written the book The Persecution of Mildred and all of the profits from her book are
going to the Santa Paula Animal Rescue Center (the first and only no-kill shelter in
Ventura County). The book has been receiving critical acclaim internationally and was
recently nominated by the Rainbow Project, the committee that sits on the American
Library Assn. as the book to read to LGBT children. I’m thrilled that she is giving all
of her profits to SPARC so I hope that you buy the book.
Paulette Mahurin, an award-winning bestselling author, is a Nurse Practitioner who lives
in Ojai with her husband Terry and their two dogs – Max and Bella. She practices women’s
health in a rural clinic and writes in her spare time. She is an animal advocate and has
been involved with dog rescue, along with her husband, for the past 28 years.

 

About The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

The year 1895 was filled with memorable historical events: the Dreyfus Affair divided France; Booker T. Washington gave his Atlanta address; Richard Olney, United States Secretary of State, expanded the effects of the Monroe Doctrine in settling a boundary dispute between the United Kingdom and Venezuela; and Oscar Wilde was tried and convicted for "gross indecency" under Britian's recently passed law that made sex between males a criminal offense. When the news of Wilde's conviction went out over telegraphs worldwide, it threw a small Nevada town into chaos. This is the story of what happened when the lives of its citizens were impacted by the news of Oscar Wildes' imprisonment. It is chronicle of hatred and prejudice with all its unintended and devastating consequences, and how love and friendship bring strength and healing. Paulette Mahurin, the author, is a Nurse Practitioner who lives in Ojai, California with her husband Terry and their two dogs--- Max and Bella. She practices women's health in a rural clinic and writes in her spare time. All profits from her book are going to animal rescue, Santa Paula Animal Shelter, the first and only no-kill shelter in Ventura County, CA, where she lives. (see links below on Ventura County Star Article & Shelter) To find out more please go the The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap on facebook or Amazon or e-mail us at the gavatar addresses. Thank you. (photos: of Paulette, her family, and a reading at The Ojai Art Center, July 2012)
This entry was posted in PRESS RELEASES & ARTICLES, PROMO. Bookmark the permalink.

63 Responses to Surprised today

  1. FlaHam says:

    Paulette, I smiled so big when I saw this. It is so so neat that your being recognized from a far and wide for the work you have done, and the efforts you have made for the care of animals. It’s wonderful. Take care, Bill

    • Thank you so much, Bill. I rarely pick up magazines or newspapers when in the doctor’s office but we had a little wait and there was this paper staring at me. While thumbing through, I saw the photo of my book. Never knew newspapers could talk, lol!
      Glad to share this with my cyber buddies.

      Have a great weekend. 🙂

  2. gita4elamats says:

    What a fabulous surprise; so happy for you! ❤

  3. tazzielove says:

    Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrreat surprise. 😉

  4. fournier0917 says:

    Well I followed your advice and read the, well deserved continuity of accolades for your wonderful best selling “The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap” as well as your long establish and known care giving exploits, to which I wholeheartedly continue to applaud. However I did learn something new , which somehow had missed, and that is your husband’s name, Terry. I do hope you’re sitting in the doctor’s office was for something minor, and that all is well. Best wishes to both you and Terry. JJ

    • Very kind of you to mention the doctor’s visit. My hubby tore a ligament in his leg and we had a good (well not so good) long wait. That newspaper kept looking at me…it’s the weirdest thing. So very happy to share this with you my special cyber poet buddy. Wishing you and Marianne a wonderful weekend. 🙂

  5. Oh my…oh my…Awesome news. Congratulations, Paulette. Good on you.

  6. seeker says:

    That is a wonderful surprise. Kudos to you.

  7. Clowie says:

    That must have been a lovely surprise! It’s great.

  8. OMGolly! 🙂 I forget the term, is it “POOPSIE PIE”? 🙂 Well WOOT WOOOOOOT anyway! Congratulations. You have earned the KUDOS!

  9. Mags Corner says:

    What a nice surprise that was…I would loved to have seen your face. You deserve the recognition. Hugs

    • Awww thank you so much. There we were sitting waiting for my husband’s name to be called and I picked up the paper. Of course, I wanted to look at the page that a dog did the editorial on, that featured all things dogs. I did a double take and showed my husband. We were both completely surprised. The weirdest thing is I rarely, if ever, pick up a magazine or paper when in a doctor’s office but this time… So happy to share with you. 🙂

  10. Angie says:

    What a great surprise!!! I’ve learned a little more about you 😀 Good for you!!! Keep up all your good work and fabulous writing!

  11. chris9911 says:

    oh my goodness Paulette! I am so glad professor scamp wrote this article on you, your family, & your dogs. Wonderful caring people that give so much back to helpless furry friends deserve much publicity and accolade. I think you are leading by example and you are just too cool!

  12. Teepee12 says:

    Wow, that’s great! I hope it made your day. It sure would have made mine!! Congratulations 🙂

    • I was soooooo excited. It was so unexpected. There I was turning to the dog page and saw it. What a nice treat, especially since we were in the doctor’s office for my hubby with a torn ligament! Made him happy to see it as well. Happy weekend. 🙂

  13. Misaki says:

    That’s fantastic xx

  14. A happy surprise–in a doctor’s office no less! Congrats my friend, well deserved. 🙂

  15. A very nice complimentary write up about you book, its acclaim, and your contribution to animal rescue. Just wonderful. It was a feel good glowing moment for you.

    • Hi there! So happy you got to see it. The timing couldn’t have been better, there in the doctor’s office. It was pretty exciting made even better that it was on an editorial page written by Professor Scamp, a dog. BOL!! Happy weekend to you. 🙂

  16. jmsabbagh says:

    Its delightful to hear heartfelt new,.jalal

  17. 68ghia says:

    Cudo’s P.
    You deserve it, and the dogs can only be helped by the publicity.
    Congrats!

  18. natuurfreak says:

    Very nice surprice for you.

  19. You have a remarkable presence in the world and for this significance to receive recognition is probably long overdue. Then again, this delay must be due to your modesty, dear Paulette. Best wishes, as always to you, your husband and to Max and Bella.

  20. Good things just follow you everywhere–as well they should. You are an angel! 🙂

  21. I have to get this book. I do–I am such an admirer of the strides you have made with it–the cause you support through it…I was just re-reading your story of Tazzie (and the tick) over at AadiRohilla’s place, and had to come by. Paulette, you and your husband are animal angels.

    • Oh you are so sweet. I just went back and read it again and cried. We now have two portraits of Tazzie in our bedroom!! And, her collar still hangs in our entrance. Today at the dog park, I met a woman who rescued 8 dogs, in various stages and ages, and travels around with them. She lives in Arizona. I can’t tell you what it did to my heart to see her with them, all the effort and love she gave and to think that’s 8 dogs freed and room for 8 more off death row. What dogs give to me, to the lives they touch, leaves me speechless. They are the angels. I’m truly grateful for this connection with you. Been reading your amazing posts more lately and am so impressed with your talent. Such an honor to have this conversation. Hugs, 🙂

  22. yayay!! I just bought the paperback–and went for the newest edition–to maximally benefit the shelter.

    🙂

  23. JK Bevill - Lost Creek Publishing says:

    Reblogged this on lost creek publishing.

  24. Congratulations Paulette! I’m sure this will help more animals find loving homes – I just shared my own childhood stories of my family’s cats with my kids for bedtime tonight and somehow I thought of you. Glad to have dropped by today. Have a great weekend 🙂

    • That is so sweet, such an endearing image of you at bedtime with your children, telling stories of the family’s cat. I bet they loved it. And, you made my day that during this you thought of me. Big cyber hugs to you and your family. 🙂

      • Thanks, and just to let you know, the (stray) we adopted was pregnant at the time so we ended up with more than 1 cat in the family – and that was the part of the story they enjoyed most. Hugs to you also and enjoy your weekend.

      • Awww, I love that, that their favorite part involved more than one live saved. That deserves an extra special hug to them and tell them it’s from a lady far away but close at heart. Love that you came back to share this. 🙂

  25. beebeesworld says:

    Thanks for continuing to read my blog. beebeesworld

  26. Hi Paulette. Thank you for liking my poem ‘ The Department Store!’ Best Wishes, The Foureyed Poet.

Leave a Reply

