Max & Bella come out of hiding

IMG_0226

Me, Max, here when I was a puppy. You can see my missing paw. I was thrown away into a kill-shelter cause the biped who bred my folks couldn’t sell me.

IMG_0399

Here we are today, almost 2 years old. Mommy gave us the birthday, September 25, cause that’s our daddy’s birthday. We get to have a triple celebration this month.

IMG_0247

Me, Max, on top and me, Bella, on the bottom (that’s before I had my eye surgery and you could see my eyes). We love each other so much.

IMG_0228

Me, Bella, when I was a puppy. I didn’t like where I was born, the people weren’t nice to me so I ran away from home. Someone found me and brought me to a kill-shelter where lucky for me I got adopted by my bipeds. wag wag (I’m the one that wags the best cause no one cropped my tail,- Max has a little stub, BOL)

IMG_0266

Nap time for me, Max. One last chew for Bella before catching some zzzzzzz. We’re heading into our teen age here. wag wag

Hello Tara, Savannah, Clowie, Rumpy, DeDe, Sage, Misaki, Baby Rae, and all our other cyber buddies out there (if we forgot your name, blame our biped).

Me, Max: I’m a purebred rottie who was born missing a paw, thrown into a kill shelter and landed with my forever family, Terry & Paulette. When I came to them I was very ill, dehydrated, and had to be put in ICU. It took me months to get my parvo titer to take so I couldn’t be out socializing, nor could my new sister, Bella, cause my immune system was underdeveloped. The good news…I got better, my parvo titer took, and that was close to a year and half ago. Now, I’m a big boy who loves to run, play ball, go to the dog park, but most of all be a lap dog. I’m very affectionate. And, modest.

Me, Bella. I’m a rottie, sharpei, and we think hound mix (cause I sniff like crazy). I was homeless and landed with my forever family with one small detour through a kill shelter. As I few my eyes inverted and scratches my corneas. Medication did not help so I have to have an operation done to remove skin around both eyes. I spent the first 8 months of my life in and out of a Victorian collar (& I might add I think I looked prettier in mine than Queen Victoria). Now, my eyes are fixed and I can see which is good cause my favorite thing to see is the ball being thrown.

We’re so happy to have the life we do with our family who we love and we know love us. But, we have to admit that our biped mom, Paulette, needs to take more photos and get her tech ducks in a row. She’s allergic to cameras and tech things. Maybe some day that’ll change and you’ll see more of us. But for now, it’s me, Max & me, Bella wagging off with a grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrreat big BOL.

About The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

The year 1895 was filled with memorable historical events: the Dreyfus Affair divided France; Booker T. Washington gave his Atlanta address; Richard Olney, United States Secretary of State, expanded the effects of the Monroe Doctrine in settling a boundary dispute between the United Kingdom and Venezuela; and Oscar Wilde was tried and convicted for "gross indecency" under Britian's recently passed law that made sex between males a criminal offense. When the news of Wilde's conviction went out over telegraphs worldwide, it threw a small Nevada town into chaos. This is the story of what happened when the lives of its citizens were impacted by the news of Oscar Wildes' imprisonment. It is chronicle of hatred and prejudice with all its unintended and devastating consequences, and how love and friendship bring strength and healing. Paulette Mahurin, the author, is a Nurse Practitioner who lives in Ojai, California with her husband Terry and their two dogs--- Max and Bella. She practices women's health in a rural clinic and writes in her spare time. All profits from her book are going to animal rescue, Santa Paula Animal Shelter, the first and only no-kill shelter in Ventura County, CA, where she lives. (see links below on Ventura County Star Article & Shelter) To find out more please go the The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap on facebook or Amazon or e-mail us at the gavatar addresses. Thank you. (photos: of Paulette, her family, and a reading at The Ojai Art Center, July 2012)
This entry was posted in DOGS RESCUED, MAX & BELLA, PERSONAL POSTS. Bookmark the permalink.

77 Responses to Max & Bella come out of hiding

  1. Adeena says:

    Both are so sweets. πŸ™‚

  2. seeker says:

    Lucy and Maurice are wagging their tails as well. Max and Bella you are such a delight to watch not just for you biped Paulette, but to me and others. Pawkisses from Lucy, Maurice and their human.

  3. 68ghia says:

    Too lovely PπŸ˜‰
    They are both cute dogsπŸ™‚
    xxx from me for both of them!

  4. tazzielove says:

    We love our kids.πŸ™‚

  5. Beautiful story and beautful dogs. Please do more posts of the dogs. Don’t care if you or the “dogs write” the posts. Either way will be good! πŸ™‚

  6. Such handsome dogs. I so love a happy ending.

  7. tazzielove says:

    Cute!

    ________________________________

  8. Clowie says:

    Hey Max and Bella, it’s nice to see you on the blog! Lap dog! BOL!! They tell me I’m too big for that – and I don’t think you’re much smaller than me!

    • You’re a perfect lap dog. They’d save a ton on blankets and heating bills. Talk to them, you’re a grrrrrrrrrrrrrreat teacher, BOL!! Teahc them what a great lap… Me, Max, I weigh 58 lbs, small for a rottie but then I’ve a big personality. Bella’s fatter, she weighs 65. But don’t tell her I called her fat. She’ll flatten me. BOL and many happy wags to you, Clowie. Max (& Bella…shhhhh)

  9. Max and Bella, and BOL, chuckle every time. πŸ™‚ They are good looking barkers.

    • Awww, you’re so perceptive, BOL and we think you’re pretty cute as well. BTW: we love cartoons and have been enjoying your sketches a lot. Wagging and wagging every time we see one. Maybe you can do a special one about furry friends? BOL BOL, Max & Bella

      • I actually DID do one about a furry friend. It’s the only one I attempted. I will do it just because you asked. Because in some of the people’s worlds, that I have learned of, furry friends are the only friends they have. And they are their entire world. For you, Max and Bella, and for all those people loving and being loved by their furry friends. And thank you for the nice words.

      • Oh boy, oh boy, yipppppeee Auntie Colleen. We’ve just adopted you in case you’re wondering. wag wag, Max & Bella

  10. Angeline M says:

    Max and Bella, you have friends up in NorCal. Piper, a Boston Terrier, Mr., Che, Buddy, and Rocko, all Chihuahuas…and their Grandma (AngelineM) say have a BOL kinda day! We love your photos!

    • Piper, Mr., Che, Buddy, and Rocko we’re sooooooo excited to meet you in cyberspace but boy would we love to wag wag in pawsom. Aren’t we lucky we have each other to play with, keep company, steal ball and food from, wag together, and get rubbies from our bipeds?!! Life is sooooo good and we bet your piped Grandma is terrific. Give her special wags from us, BOL. Max & Bella

  11. Pingback: Max And Bella | The Chatter Blog

  12. gita4elamats says:

    MAX! BELLA! Finally, I get to see my cousins as pups and you were as big as me, Tara! I’ve been asking Auntie Paw (telepathically) for pictures of you both! When I grow up I’m going to be as big as you two and we can start the pony express! BOL!πŸ˜†

  13. Oh Max and Bella, you are very wuvly pups! I understand how it is to be unwuved as a puppy, so I send extra wuv toooyooooowoooowoooooo! Ku
    http://www.haikubyku.com

  14. Ku!!! wag wag wag wag. You’re gorgeous and so talented…we just saw your haiku and copied it to post here. There’s more for everyone to go and see over at your posts and sure hope the do, plus they’ll get to see your wonderful face. Oh, we’d love to meet and play with you but till then give your biped mommy a nice wag and BOL from us. wag wag, Max & Bella

    From Ku:
    Posted on September 2, 2013
    photo

    Me enjoying my blogging break

    My name is Kuruk

    It’s Pawnee for Bear, it is

    His wisdom’s in me

  15. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

    Beautiful family there…
    nothing like a happily ever after being really happy…
    Thank you for sharing …
    Take Care…You Matter…
    )0(
    maryrose

    • LadyBlueRose!!! wag wag wag wag. Your comment made us feel all warm and wiggly inside. You sound like you’d be lovely to hang out with. We are pretty excited to come out of hiding and make new cyber friends like you. Wag wag, Max & Bella p.s. you matter too, what a beautiful thing to say.

      • LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

        Max and Bella are wonderful…they look so content in being happy….
        as their kindred spirits must be there to teach them what real love is…( which is a gift to know how to do)they are learning well I Believe..
        Thank you for your kind words…I am a hermit LOLs..I have my zoo..sewing and gardening which is playing with the Faeries more these days …as I create habitats for them and the wild life here…
        you have wonderful stories…I like that
        )0(

      • Your life sounds like it’s idyllic, like a place we’d love to hang out in. Sounds so lovely. What a delight having this conversation with you. Big cyber hugs from all of us.πŸ™‚

  16. Teepee12 says:

    Rotties are wonderful, sweet family dogs … All they need is a good home.

    • So true! Me, Max, I’m the sweetest dog in the whole world. No no, I am, me Bella! BOL BOL. M&B (p.s. We’ve been rescuing rotties for the last 28 years and in all that time only had one serious challenge, a puppy who a gang banger was trying to make into a fighting weapon–very sad situation. He never lost his aggressive edge but his loving sweet side came out with us and we kept him protected and away from any potential trouble till his early death at the age of 7). Max is a purebred and loving to a fault, Bella a mix and completely docile. Both are people and other animal friendly and dearly loved by all who meet them. Love, Biped Paulette

  17. makagutu says:

    Beautiful story Paulette

  18. FlaHam says:

    Paulette, Max and Bella are both great looking dogs, And it quite apparent they feel the loved given to them by their bypids. Please take care, Bill

  19. natuurfreak says:

    Some lovely dogs and a great story.

  20. They are both so beautiful!

  21. FreeRangeCow says:

    Tears spring to my eyes. AWESOME!

    • FreeRangeCow!!! We’re so happy to see another pawsome animal loving friend stop by here. Yeah, lotta happy tears from gratitude in our little happy family over here. But, we love to adopt new uncles and aunties so please feel welcome back any time. wag wag, Max & Bella

  22. Oh my goodness, P, I love these photos! Your babies are so beautiful!

  23. Pingback: Videos and Pictures of My Zoo — Kid Friendly! | Running On Sober

  24. WordsFallFromMyEyes says:

    In the second-last photo, Paulette, how interesting it is to me his chubby face (so gorgeous) – but thing is, just above each eye is a brown fur dot, or mound. How beautiful is the detail of all animals, I then think. Just beautiful.

    • Interestingly enough, as Bella grew her eyes inverted (I learned then it was common to sharpeis and rotties) and were had for her to open. Those two brown markings looked like her eyes. When her real eyes became irritated, ulcerated, we operated to remove the skin that was inverting and scratching them. She healed beautifully and now she’s back to 4 eyes, lol. She’s a lot of fun. So if her bro, Max. love our furry kids. Hugs to you!πŸ™‚

  25. You are such an angel to take in souls that need so much. Every pup I adopted needs lots of love to get over emotional trauma, and only one had serious physical issues, although I didn’t know it when I adopted him. When I found out shortly after adopting him, I was in such puppy love that I did not take the vet’s recommendation to put him down right away. Wolfer lived a good long life–you know, you read about him in my book!

    • What you said about not knowing when you adopted that your furry kid had problems happens. We had no idea about Bella’s eyes before we rescued her. With Max we suspected we’d be in for some issues because he was from a puppy mill and already had a deformity (missing paw) but luck has been with us that we’re able to take on some dogs that have special needs, surely not having to put kids through college has enabled us to give more to our furry kids, lol. All the emotional trauma, now that’s the real challenge, especially with the rottweiler breed (big dog and sometimes misunderstood nature), and we’ve had our hands full at times, but the loving reward back from them, our full hearts… you know! Hugs to you and Mr. Scrappy.πŸ™‚

  26. Francina says:

    adorable doggies,:-)

  27. archecotech says:

    I love when I hear these kind of stories. Very dog should have a master like this.

  28. damemiracle says:

    Très émouvant, merci! Bon week-end, Gigi

  29. natuurfreak says:

    Just back from a 5 days citytrip in Berlin I’m happy i can visit your bog..
    Lovely photo’s.

  30. huntmode says:

    Max and Bella, I am catching up on your stories. Very glad to hear you are now doing so well and thriving. Does BOL stand for Barking Out Loud? (be kind; I had never seen it before. It took ChatterMaster above to give me a clue) Best ~ HuntMode, Ella, the Greythound and Elby, That Cat!

    • Aww, huntmode, we’re so excited to see you here. yes, BOL means bark out loud. MOL = mew out loud. COL = chirp out loud. And, I’m sure there are a tons of other ones. I didn’t know what it was when I first saw it either. I still also have to look up a lot of the acronyms that are floating around in cyberspace. I’m a late bloomer. Thankfully, everyone/everyfurbody here is currently doing well. Max & Bella have both had their share of very scary health issues. When we first got Max we had him in ICU dehydrated and really ill. Then recently Bella had a bite or infection and we nearly lost her. That and all the tendon tears, coughs, etc. have kept food on our vet’s plate so for now we’re extremely grateful they are okay and so are we. Lots of hugs and wags to you all from your friends down in Ojai.πŸ™‚ Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

