TV Show: Meet my hubby

 

Free Assistance via Self-Help Legal Clinic

http://ourventura.com/free-self-help-legal-access/2470/

 

Hosting the head of The Canine Adoption Rescue League, Mary Saputo (August 25, 2013)

http://ourventura.com/canine-adoption-and-rescue-league/2353/

Being interviewed by Ken McAlpine (writer for National Geographic) on Lesbians in history, writing and animal rescue: (May 11, 2013)

http://ourventura.com/frontier-lesbians/2172/#more-2172

I have finished my two auditions and they liked my interviewing! I got the volunteer job. I’m scheduled to interview someone from the Ventura Cancer Society to talk on taking the fear out of hearing, “You’ve got cancer.” That will happen in April next year. Meanwhile, I’m on call as a stand-in if another host can’t show.

 

 

About The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

The year 1895 was filled with memorable historical events: the Dreyfus Affair divided France; Booker T. Washington gave his Atlanta address; Richard Olney, United States Secretary of State, expanded the effects of the Monroe Doctrine in settling a boundary dispute between the United Kingdom and Venezuela; and Oscar Wilde was tried and convicted for "gross indecency" under Britian's recently passed law that made sex between males a criminal offense. When the news of Wilde's conviction went out over telegraphs worldwide, it threw a small Nevada town into chaos. This is the story of what happened when the lives of its citizens were impacted by the news of Oscar Wildes' imprisonment. It is chronicle of hatred and prejudice with all its unintended and devastating consequences, and how love and friendship bring strength and healing. Paulette Mahurin, the author, is a Nurse Practitioner who lives in Ojai, California with her husband Terry and their two dogs--- Max and Bella. She practices women's health in a rural clinic and writes in her spare time. All profits from her book are going to animal rescue, Santa Paula Animal Shelter, the first and only no-kill shelter in Ventura County, CA, where she lives. (see links below on Ventura County Star Article & Shelter) To find out more please go the The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap on facebook or Amazon or e-mail us at the gavatar addresses. Thank you. (photos: of Paulette, her family, and a reading at The Ojai Art Center, July 2012)
This entry was posted in CONVERSATIONS, INTERVIEWS, OUR VENTURA TV - CAPS, PERSONAL POSTS, TV SHOW, Volunteer Work. Bookmark the permalink.

70 Responses to TV Show: Meet my hubby

  1. Lovely to see all your involvements and engagements. You and hubby are of wonderful benefit to your community. I applause you both.

  2. tazzielove says:

    That was a lot of fun.

  3. Well of course your hub is as wonderful as you are, it just makes perfect sense, doesn’t it?
    From the daughter of an attorney, tell him hello, and except for the fact that I am not logical and couldn’t pass that part of the LSATs, I’d be one too!

    • From Terry to you: “From what my wife tells me about your wit and writing, you could pass that part of the LSAT. And… hello back. Nice to meet you.” He was standing over my should dictating to moi. Only for you!😉 What area did your dad practice in? Who knows maybe the hub and your dad knew each other? Hugs to you.🙂

  4. makagutu says:

    Good work mate, really impressive

  5. fournier0917 says:

    Sounds interesting, but can’t seem to open the video attachment… Jean-Jacques

    • Hi JJ, If you’d like to watch it perhaps try this: http://ourventura.com/ then click on “Our Ventura TV Shows” and the first one up is mine with Terry. If you can’t get to it directly try copy and pasting to your browser. It’s a little over 12 minutes with Terry talking about his pro-bono work in the Self-Help Legal Clinic, helping with taxes, and animal rescue activities. Hope all’s well with you and yours.🙂

  6. 68ghia says:

    Congrats on making the grade P!! And congrats on all your interviews🙂
    You have quite a bit more guts than me – I can’t think of anything worse than to be in front of a camera! But you it suits perfectly😉
    Carry on the good work!
    xxx

    • Very sweet of you to say, but really where I’m comfortable doing this up on a stage in front of people, I feel like I’m going to die from a heart attack. Weird huh? We all have different strengths and otherwise. Also, the people at the station were really nice, not intimidating at all. I might not have felt so comfortable where it otherwise.🙂

  7. natuurfreak says:

    Great you are living between such good people who are always readdy to helps each other.
    Thanks for all your engagements.

  8. I’m impressed with all that you do and stand for and now I’m impressed by all that your husband does as well. Paulette, you are a fortuate lady to have a life partner who shares your compassion for the needy and for the animals. I applaud you both. ~yvonne

  9. Alison says:

    What a pleasure to “meet” your guy! Of course he’s as wonderful as you are! And you are getting so good at interviewing. Congrats on getting the job! What fun!

  10. What a super chap!
    And what a good team you made on that interview…you never less than professional, him so good at explaining what he was aiming to do…

  11. sknicholls says:

    Just downloaded your book and can’t wait to read it! Awesome interviews. You say about to have a heart attack, but but look so happy and composed.

    I have a blog post short story about our doggie, Daisy, how she was an adopted rescue dog, and how her daddy, (my husband) was challenged by her behavior. She is on Prozac now and doing much better. It is filed under short stories, I think. Your community support is applaudable. What a wonderful contribution to have the book sell profits helping such a worthy cause.

    So very happy for you that this book is doing well. You should have gotten the Pulitzer! It is such an important story to share. Intolerance has not died and there is a chance to make a difference. I will do a book review both at Amazon and on my blog. Next week, I will include you with some other authors in a “shout out” on my Sunday Summations post. Keep Writing🙂

  12. Oh wow, thank you so much for your incredibly supportive wonderful communication. The comment about feeling like I was going to have a heart attack was when I was on stage in front of a live audience. I get anxious when public speaking but have had to force myself to do it several times. This TV show was done with just me, Terry, the producer and director. There wasn’t a live audience. For me, I think that would have been very distracting, anxiety producing. I’m Going to go to your site and look for that post about Daisy. Again, thank you so much for your support. It means a lot to me and the furry friends you’ll be helping. Hope you enjoy the read.🙂

  13. gita4elamats says:

    What a great guy! You two are amazing!

  14. gita4elamats says:

    Reblogged this on ELANA – The Voice of the Future and commented:
    My sister, the interviewer! Wow! BOL from Tara!

  15. seeker says:

    Congratulation, oh what a feeling….

  16. We’ll done my fried. Way to give to humanity. Much love to you now and always.

  17. Clanmother says:

    I am so very excited to see you in action! You and Terry are creating new ways in which to inspire the best in all of us!🙂

  18. I’m listening to the two of you talk and I can hear such generosity of spirit in both of you. It seems like having the two of you in the world, makes part of the world a much better place. Kudos to both of you!

  19. Paulette, were you this active before the book, or did the book launch these other career opportunities for you? Which ever way it went, I’m so happy for you and the community at large!🙂

    • Way back when before the book was started and the tick bite, I was really active (working the second busiest ER in LA County and then some). When I got Lyme disease it afforded me time to write and ergo the book. By the time the book was finished I was healthy enough to be working part-time in a rural clinic (still working there very part-time). The TV hosting volunteer gig is every couple months so that doesn’t take too much time. The main things that occupy a lot of time are writing and doing the pro-bono work with women with cancer but most of that is on the phone, hand-holding. I’ll tell you, my friend, it energizes me to spent some of my time helping someone else. I think it’s just how I was made, in the genes. If I go into a relapse, which happens now occasionally, everything gets put on hold. Never know when the gas tank is going to empty. Know you understand this all too well. xoxox🙂

  20. FlaHam says:

    Paulette, First off, let me say you’ll make a beautiful couple, you seem to mesh well. It is great that Terry was able to so rapidly transition from the “Govt” world to the work he is doing now, and from the mental benefiits that come with it. So few have that opportunity or skills to make such a worthwhile transition. Then it was wonderful to watch your interview, and how bubblely you were when talking about your book. That was fun for me. Thank you for sharing these moments. Take care, Bill

    • Hey my friend Bill, I’m so glad you got to see these. Makes our friendship a little more visual, lol. We had a lot of fun doing this and really feel grateful for all the things we’re involved in, first and foremost taking care of each other as we age. How are you doing? I think it’s time for another chat. Please phone if you feel like it. Been thinking of you daily and sending heal fast thoughts and also a few cyber smiley faces.🙂

  21. Denise Hisey says:

    What a dynamic duo you two are to the greater community!

  22. Clowie says:

    Congratulations to both of you! That was a terrific interview.
    I’ll watch the other two at the weekend.

  23. I applaud your humble and loving heart. You and your husband. You never seem to seek great gratification or applause. That makes you an even better person than you give yourself credit for, Keep up the positive work and influence on the world my dear.
    Yisraela

  24. mixedupmeme says:

    After being out for a bit I knew I could not read everything I missed. Scrolling down your list I new this interview was the one I wanted to see. Volunteering really makes a difference to so many lives. Did you all practice that interview? lol You should have grilled him while you had the chance!

    • I’m glad you saw this one. It was the second interview of the two I did for my audition and I picked Terry so I could practice (grill, lol) him. The first one was with the head of a big animal rescue group where I live and I had no foreplay with her and thankfully it went okay, probably cause we were talking all things dogs. Terry does a lot of volunteer work and all the legal he does is pro-bono so I thought talking about volunteering from an attorney might be a good idea. He was a really good sport and he enjoyed it. The next ones I do won’t be rehearsed, gulp.😉

  25. JK Bevill - Lost Creek Publishing says:

    Reblogged this on Lost Creek Publishing.

  26. kanzensakura says:

    Oh Paulette, this is so wonderful. You and your husband are doing such good things to help make this world a better place.

    • Awww that’s so sweet of you to stop by and say this but really we’re lucky we have the time and interest to help out a little. Lot of good people out there doing the same. It’s food for my heart and helps me/us sleep at night.

      BTW: just saw your post on finding the Salinger letter. That’s so exciting. So glad you refound it and shared with us. A piece of Americana.🙂

  27. cindy knoke says:

    How wonderful you both are! I still want to visit but maybe in the fall????

Leave a Reply

