Amazon Review: It is a story of humankind, the way we treat one another…

I continue to be extremely humbled and grateful for those who read my book and take the time to write reviews. Thank you to Fenny @ Hotchpotch for your most thoughtful generous review. All profits are going to Santa Paula Animal Rescue Center, the first and only no-kill shelter in Ventura County, CA.
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful and well told story that could easily be applicable to today, November 29, 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap (Kindle Edition)

The story is set in the late 1800’s when daily life was very different and decorum was of the utmost importance. Mildred’s persecution is spearheaded by Josie’s resentment of her inheritance, something unusual at that time, and her need for revenge. She is a very unlikable character,getting under my skin – I wanted her mask to come off so badly and uncovered for who she really is. But will she get what she really deserves?

In under 200 pages the author is able to deal with societies issues of that time with such depth and detail, painting a very clear and relatable picture. Each character comes to live as motives, history, life experiences and related emotions are described, giving great understanding of the underlying personal issues that influence the daily life of a small town, and how it is all knotted together even since previous generations.

It is a story of humankind, the way we treat one another, what influences us in our actions, opinions and decisions and what happens when we judge what we don’t know and don’t understand. How come that some busy bodies can manipulate and lie their way around and get away with it? Even so, they get entangled in their webs.

One of the central themes is the outrage concerning Oscar Wild when found with another man. It sets f a series of events for Edra and Mildred as they seek to protect themselves from the gossip and onslaught of certain towns people. Will they succeed at keeping them at bay? When is enough really enough? Will justice in some measure prevail? And at what cost? Is there anyone trustworthy to be found?

I got really invested with a lot of the people/characters as I got to know them better. It gets you rooting for the underdog, the people who are at the mercy of the town gossip.

Very well told with a beautiful flow in the story.

5.0 out of 5 stars couldnt put it down, December 12, 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap (Kindle Edition)

Very interesting for that time period. Mahurin did a great job capturing the emotions of mildred and edrea. Thought enjoyed

All Amazon.com Reviews:

http://www.amazon.com/review/R2URD3FSZL8YAW?_encoding=UTF8&ASIN=B008K9DV4U&cdMSG=addedToThread&cdPage=&linkCode=&newContentID=Mx20B3IYB1E4O41&newContentNum=1&nodeID=&ref_=cm_cr_pr_cmt&tag=#CustomerDiscussionsNRPB

About The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

The year 1895 was filled with memorable historical events: the Dreyfus Affair divided France; Booker T. Washington gave his Atlanta address; Richard Olney, United States Secretary of State, expanded the effects of the Monroe Doctrine in settling a boundary dispute between the United Kingdom and Venezuela; and Oscar Wilde was tried and convicted for "gross indecency" under Britian's recently passed law that made sex between males a criminal offense. When the news of Wilde's conviction went out over telegraphs worldwide, it threw a small Nevada town into chaos. This is the story of what happened when the lives of its citizens were impacted by the news of Oscar Wildes' imprisonment. It is chronicle of hatred and prejudice with all its unintended and devastating consequences, and how love and friendship bring strength and healing. Paulette Mahurin, the author, is a Nurse Practitioner who lives in Ojai, California with her husband Terry and their two dogs--- Max and Bella. She practices women's health in a rural clinic and writes in her spare time. All profits from her book are going to animal rescue, Santa Paula Animal Shelter, the first and only no-kill shelter in Ventura County, CA, where she lives. (see links below on Ventura County Star Article & Shelter) To find out more please go the The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap on facebook or Amazon or e-mail us at the gavatar addresses. Thank you. (photos: of Paulette, her family, and a reading at The Ojai Art Center, July 2012)
This entry was posted in REVIEWS, REVIEWS: THE PERSECUTION OF MILDRED DUNLAP. Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to Amazon Review: It is a story of humankind, the way we treat one another…

  1. tazzielove says:

    A very thoughtful well written review. Kudos!

  2. Alison says:

    I’m so happy for you to be having so much deserved success with your book. How many reviews now?
    xoxox

    • Hi Alison and thank you. I’m not sure of the exact number as there are different sites they are posted to, including several different Amazon sites around the world. But, I have been blessed with some good numbers and am truly grateful for the attention. xoxox

  3. FlaHam says:

    Paulette, I love reading the reviews as well. Take care, Bill

  4. Wow! Paulette these wonderful reviews just keep coming. Very well done, my friend. A fantastic review. 🙂

  5. seeker says:

    What a superlative review. Is it out in paper yet?

  6. Congratulations! Good reviews by readers are golden!

  7. Clanmother says:

    I am celebrating!!! Jumping up and down with excitement. 🙂

  8. Uzoma says:

    It’s always sweet to read the reviews about your book, Paulette. May they continue to pour in. Blessings, my dear friend.

  9. I can picture a bit of a happy dance going on ! 🙂

  10. Another FAN-tas-TIC review. Can you hear the drum roll from my end? 😛

  11. mixedupmeme says:

    Nice review. Great Thanksgiving gift.

    I know you have probably been asked and have probably already answered:
    Are you working on anything new?

    • Thanks, meme! It was a lovely Thanksgiving gift for which I was definitely thankful.

      I am working on another book, “His Name Was Ben”, about a couple, both with terminal illness, who met and fell in love. It’s based on a real couple I worked with years ago and wrote a short story on which was published back in my college days. I’m slugging along on rewrites. Who knows if it’ll ever see daylight. For now, I enjoy the writing process which gives me something to do during some of my physical down days which happen a little more regularly in the winter.

  12. Your book continues to influence people, hopefully for the better. The review was one of the best I’ve read, showing that the book really was read from start to finish. Congratulations!

    • I really appreciate your stopping by and commenting here, Barbara. I think the story line holds some universal themes that everyone can relate to. For instance, kindness and friendship can dissolve hatred, gossip is harmful in ways one can’t contemplate and in ways that poisons our hearts. Yes, there are also some very controversial themes but they aren’t presented in a get in your face way. In fact, the book’s been suggested by the group that sits on the American Library Board to be considered by 9-12th graders children for a good LGBT themed book for that age group to read. It’s not always easy to try to get a message across without offending, as you surely know from some of the comments back and forth on your recent post about “forced to apologize.” I think we share in common our desire to hold to what we feel is right without putting someone else down because they aren’t in our corner. Again, thank you so much for stopping by. It makes my heart feel good to build bridges to other kind people.

  13. gita4elamats says:

    The tributes keep rolling in! Congratulations!

  14. natuurfreak says:

    Nice revieuw..Lovely to read.

  15. Fantastic review. As soon as I’m on my feet properly, I really want to order your book and read it. In the meantime, I would happily do a blog post for Santa Paula. The more people who know about the pro-life rescues, the better.

    • Thank you! Take care of yourself. I just went to your site to remind myself of where you were located and see you’re in South Africa? If in the U.S. and because of all you do to help animals I would have gifted you a book as the air fair in the U.S. is only $2.50 and I’m happy to do that. Out of country is a little prohibitive and I feel guilty diverting funds into that and not the animals. If you have a kindle I’m more than happy to gift you one, just let me know. I know you haven’t asked but you’re already doing so much to help and it’s my way of saying thank you. It’d be great to have you feature Santa Paula Animal Rescue Center at your site whenever you’re up to it. Just give me a holler. Again, please take care of you and all that’s on your plate. Holding you in my heart and very grateful for our connection. Love, Paulette P.S. if you’re ever involved in fundraising for any of your shelters and would like me to donate some eBooks just let me know.

      • That is so sweet of you but, unfortunately, I don’t have a kindle. Your offer for fund raising would be greatly appreciated. I’ll let you know if and when I’m doing something where you can help. In the meantime, please send me info on the shelter. My email is susan at dcrprocess dot co dot za. I’d be happy to do a post about them.

      • Thank you!

        Just sent you their links via your e-mail. That’d be great if I could also help you back with any fundraisers by donating eBooks.

  16. BeWithUs says:

    Happy December, my dear kindhearted friend!

    Your lovely blog has been nominated the ‘Blog Of 2013’ award.

    (http://cncfashionaccessories.wordpress.com/2013/12/02/do-save-your-last-dance-for-us-on-this-cold-cold-night/)

    Your kind acceptance is much appreciated.

    Have a great day ahead, always~ Cheers!!

  17. That is an amazingly well written review. No spoilers and all kinds of information. Kudoz, Paulette, another home run. 🙂

Leave a Reply

