End Of An Era…

RIP Nelson Mandela. Beautifully written homage to a great man.

seyisandradavid

English: Young Nelson Mandela. This photo date...

Nelson Mandela has gone the way of all mortals but his legacy lives on. I just heard the news of his passing and I couldn’t help it as a shudder passed through my body at the news. Many people have been expecting his passing, Mandela was ill but he lived well and achieved so much with his life.

My only hope is for humanity to emulate this iconic man, who fought against apartheid (mind you, he didn’t do it alone)  and won. He fought against prejudice and believed all men to be equal. He fought against the evil in men, against hatred, against racism…

There would be lots of words, but I can only say this… may we all leave a great legacy behind… Mandela is gone, he did his bit and generations yet unborn would learn about it.

It’s the end of an era…

Rest In Peace Nelson Mandela!

View original post

About The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

The year 1895 was filled with memorable historical events: the Dreyfus Affair divided France; Booker T. Washington gave his Atlanta address; Richard Olney, United States Secretary of State, expanded the effects of the Monroe Doctrine in settling a boundary dispute between the United Kingdom and Venezuela; and Oscar Wilde was tried and convicted for "gross indecency" under Britian's recently passed law that made sex between males a criminal offense. When the news of Wilde's conviction went out over telegraphs worldwide, it threw a small Nevada town into chaos. This is the story of what happened when the lives of its citizens were impacted by the news of Oscar Wildes' imprisonment. It is chronicle of hatred and prejudice with all its unintended and devastating consequences, and how love and friendship bring strength and healing. Paulette Mahurin, the author, is a Nurse Practitioner who lives in Ojai, California with her husband Terry and their two dogs--- Max and Bella. She practices women's health in a rural clinic and writes in her spare time. All profits from her book are going to animal rescue, Santa Paula Animal Shelter, the first and only no-kill shelter in Ventura County, CA, where she lives. (see links below on Ventura County Star Article & Shelter) To find out more please go the The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap on facebook or Amazon or e-mail us at the gavatar addresses. Thank you. (photos: of Paulette, her family, and a reading at The Ojai Art Center, July 2012)
This entry was posted in REBLOGS. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to End Of An Era…

  1. tazzielove says:

    Great man who did a lot of good.

  2. FlaHam says:

    Paulette, this is indeed a worldwide sad day. We have lost a leader of people.

    Take care, Bill

  3. He truly did great things with his life. We should be so inspired.

  4. Probably never again will there be another man who did as much as Mr. Mandella. True greatness and genuine humaness are an extreme rarity.

  5. FreeRangeCow says:

    My heart hurt as I read the headline. I am thankful for his strength, spirit, inspiration. I hope his soul finds peace!

  6. jmsabbagh says:

    Great post,Nelson Mandela brought new meaning for reconciliation ,forgiveness and humility to achieve the peace and harmony ,many world leaders failed to do.Hoping that politicians will follow his example and serve the people not their own selfishness.Regards.jalal

  7. natuurfreak says:

    His forgiveness was so great that we all can take a lesson from him

  8. Jean-Jacques says:

    We who ache for a human world of truly practising humane people, who are so rather than talk so, can not but echo your sentiments. Jean-Jacques

  9. WordsFallFromMyEyes says:

    Wonderful reblog. I can’t get enough of Mandela, you know. Every post or article I see, I learn more, and see more photos I’ve never spied before. What a magnificent human being.

    27 years in prison didn’t break him from his mission: unreal.

    • I know what you mean. I keep replaying something I read that he said when he got out of prison and I paraphrase, “If I continue to hate and be angry then I haven’t left prison.” I find this extraordinary and a lesson I hope to aspire to, to be able to let go of the emotions I harbor to those who have hurt me. I admired him deeply for walking the walk and showing me what’s possible. Big hug to you.

Leave a Reply

