I tot tagged! Passing it along.

I got tagged! That means I’ve got to answer four questions and tag three fellow authors in my blogging community. In turn, they get to do the same. Now that makes me feel better…getting someone else to share the burden. ;) This is a great way of supporting each other as authors by helping our works get a little bit more attention out there, wherever there is. :)

First let me thank Kev, who tagged me. Have a visit to his site, his writing, and his books. They don’t disappoint: http://kevs-domain.net/2014/02/09/omg-i-got-tagged/

What are you currently working on?

His Name Was Ben, is my second book. It’s a love story between two people who met in their oncologist’s office and developed a life changing relationship. It’s based on a real couple I worked with and had the honor of writing a short story about while in college. It won a national award and was published. This book is an expansion of their story into a full length novel. Although it involves a couple with terminal illness, it’s a story about life and hope, about change, about what’s possible, and what real love is–and the power it has over one’s health and very life.

How does your work differ from others in the same genre?

I don’t know that genre to genre one can claim great differences other than the uniqueness each author brings to their work, what is personal to them. I see a lot of myself appear in the various characters that I write about, a lot of my flaws, and in that I learn more about the make up of the characters, and myself.

Why do you write what you do?

The first thing that comes to mind, is that the writing does itself. I don’t know that I can really put my finger on why I wrote, The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap, or why I am now into the third rewrite with my editor on, His Name Was Ben, but these ideas come and with them comes a chemistry that moves me, a passion that directs me, and my hand hits the keys. I have to have an interest, something that propels me into liking the story, and not doing it just to write or claim to be a writer. I’m not limited to any specific genre, for it’s the story that grabs me, moves me, and holds me to the process, not the genre. In all this there is a deep love and gratitude that I enjoy the journey for it’s in the traveling day-by-day that I experience and live with the benefits, wherever that may take me or the story.

How does my writing process work?

I sit down and write. I just do it. Sometimes it flows. Sometimes it’s work. But, if I don’t make myself sit down and write then nothing happens. I’m a morning person. I grab my cup of tea/coffee, sit my butt down, and there it goes. As far as structure, I usually have an idea of the storyline but that can change once I sit and write. The first writing is a vomit out, of start (theme & character intro), middle (conflict), ending (resolution and wrap up loose ends). Then I read it through and do the self-editing, cut cut cut, before sending it to my editor, beta readers, etc.

You’ve been tagged:

The rules of this tag are to answer the following four writing questions, and then tag three other authors. Next week these three authors will answer the same questions and tag three others, and so the chain continues to grow larger. This will enable readers to get to know more authors and their books. It will also allow everyone to get to know these authors a little better.

Lorna Lee’s book, How Was I Supposed to Know, was a great and important read. Honestly written, sociology Professor Lorna Lee, pours her life of addiction and dysfunctional relationships onto the page with a depth that grabs and holds the reader to the page and to the soul of it’s author. I loved this book.

http://lornasvoice.com/how-was-i-supposed-to-know-a-memoir/

Jeri Walker-Bickett’s, Popular Poe Stories in Plain English, was masterfully written. Writing about the father of the modern day thriller, she does a beautiful job of interpretative writing that was more enjoyable to this reader than the original, which is to compare her to Edgar Allan Poe. Not only is she a superb writer she also works as an editor and writing consultant. A visit to her site will not disappoint. http://jeriwb.com/published-books/

Jean-Jaques Fournier’s, Issues of Black and White, is a book of poetry at its best. The words, delicately and intelligently chosen, on the pages of his book take the reader into what it is to be human, wounds, joys, with nothing in between left out. It’s hard to pick out just one of his books for they all expand and capture so much and from these pages the reader learns, and opens. http://fournierjj.wordpress.com/books/

 

About The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

The year 1895 was filled with memorable historical events: the Dreyfus Affair divided France; Booker T. Washington gave his Atlanta address; Richard Olney, United States Secretary of State, expanded the effects of the Monroe Doctrine in settling a boundary dispute between the United Kingdom and Venezuela; and Oscar Wilde was tried and convicted for "gross indecency" under Britian's recently passed law that made sex between males a criminal offense. When the news of Wilde's conviction went out over telegraphs worldwide, it threw a small Nevada town into chaos. This is the story of what happened when the lives of its citizens were impacted by the news of Oscar Wildes' imprisonment. It is chronicle of hatred and prejudice with all its unintended and devastating consequences, and how love and friendship bring strength and healing. Paulette Mahurin, the author, is a Nurse Practitioner who lives in Ojai, California with her husband Terry and their two dogs--- Max and Bella. She practices women's health in a rural clinic and writes in her spare time. All profits from her book are going to animal rescue, Santa Paula Animal Shelter, the first and only no-kill shelter in Ventura County, CA, where she lives. (see links below on Ventura County Star Article & Shelter) To find out more please go the The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap on facebook or Amazon or e-mail us at the gavatar addresses. Thank you. (photos: of Paulette, her family, and a reading at The Ojai Art Center, July 2012)
This entry was posted in INTERVIEWS, LINKS: FACEBOOK, TWITTER, GOODREADS, AMAZON, SHELFARI, etc., PERSONAL POSTS, PROMO, PROMOTING OTHER SITES, REVIEWS OF OTHER BOOKS. Bookmark the permalink.

54 Responses to I tot tagged! Passing it along.

  1. Congratulations, Paulette.🙂 I did, too, but I don’t think I can compete with your speed at posting – Well done, my friend 🙂

    • Congratulations to you as well. You know I love your book and all you do for animal welfare around the world. Very well deserved. This is the first time I’ve responded to an award or mention like this and interestingly enough my second book is with the editor now so I had a little time to do it plus it’s lovely to pay it forward to shine a light on other deserving authors. Hugs & love to you!🙂

      • Such kind words, as ever, Paulette. You are such a sweet person. When are you expecting to launch the new book? Is it a follow up? Do let me know. I will order a copy. I enjoyed ‘Mildred” so much. I can’t wait to read your next one. Lots of luck with it.~ Amelia ♥

      • That is so sweet of you to say. I’d be happy to gift you a kindle book copy from Amazon whenever I get it up. Mailing out of the U.S. is a little costly so I try to avoid it because I’ll probably also be donating profits from this one to some charity as well. And, whenever you do your next one please let me know. Mungi lives in my heart, such an endearing wonderful story–for all ages. Love Paulette

      • Worry not, Paulette. As soon as I know it is out, I will buy a copy. ‘Mildred’ still has pride of place in my bookcase.🙂

        My second book is not progressing as fast as I would like it to. All this blogging and research is taking time. Regrettably, I am only half way – Eeeeek! I hope to have it finished by the end of the summer, though ~ Hugs, Amelia

        P.S. This is a reply to your last comment. I didn’t know where else to put it🙂

      • So sweet! And, by all means I want yours the minute it hits the press. Can’t wait. Please put me on your mailing list. xoxo

  2. tazzielove says:

    Congratulations! Well deserved and nice to pay it forward!🙂

  3. Congratulations! Your writing process is pretty close to mine; I have an idea, I sit down to write, then the story writes itself; or maybe the characters just tell their own story, and I am merely the conduit.

  4. Kev says:

    Wow! Paulette, that was quick! Thanks for passing the torch. Great post!🙂

  5. sknicholls says:

    Thank you for sharing! I love to hear how the process works for others. I feel the same about the passion of the story and why i write: “…These ideas come and with them comes a chemistry that moves me, a passion that directs me, and my hand hits the keys. I have to have an interest, something that propels me into liking the story, and not doing it just to write or claim to be a writer. I’m not limited to any specific genre, for it’s the story that grabs me, moves me, and holds me to the process, not the genre.”

    • Hi there and thanks so much for stopping by. I’m with you on enjoying hearing about others’ processes. I learn a lot. The love of story, the nature of story, has always been with us, the differing versions/genres just another way of communicating some of the fundamental basic themes.🙂

  6. Brenda says:

    Congrats! Yep, sit down and do it, that covers it for me, too.

  7. seeker says:

    Tagging is a sure way to get you to come out Miss. P. So you have been busy that is why we hardly hear from you. Good luck with the new book. from the other p.

  8. Congratulations!!! 🙂

  9. natuurfreak says:

    Congratulations Paulette.Well done and deserved

  10. Misaki says:

    Great answers, and congrats:-)

  11. I really liked this post. Enjoyed reading about your writing process and also the links to three talented authors. I know I will get your book when it hits the shelves. Is this the book that has the dog in it?

    ~yvonne

  12. jbw0123 says:

    Congratulations! It’s good to read about how other writers go about this process. Best wishes with editing book no. 2.

  13. I love reading about the process of other writers. You are so unique, so different. Congratulations and thank you for being you🙂

  14. Clanmother says:

    Thank you Paulette for sharing your thoughts on writing and moving forward into a new project. I learn something new every time I stop by for a visit. Also appreciate the comments – always joyful and life-affirming.🙂

    • I’m always so happy to hear from you, Rebecca a sister in spreading kindness into the world. I learn a lot from your writing as well; it’s so thoughtful, novel, full of great facts and history, with inspirational comments back to those who love and follow you.🙂

      • Clanmother says:

        By the way, I finished your book last week!! It was a Kindle version that allowed me to see what others had highlighted as important. Oh Paulette, it was a joy to read – thoughtful, generous, yet you identified the darker side that creates bitterness and strife. Most of all, there was redemption, a way to overcome! I am so very glad that we have connected. You continue to inspire and transform. Hugs coming across the wires!🙂

      • You just made my day. I’m humbled and grateful for your communication, especially in the light of tolerance that I know sits in both our hearts, justice for all. Love, Paulette

  15. makagutu says:

    If only I could just sit and write a few pages, maybe I could end up with 100 page book on a myriad of topics.
    Congratulations my friend

  16. I always do enjoy process posts like this one because we get to hear about what you’re working on. Thanks for tagging me. A slightly different version of this is also going around as a Writing Process Blog Hop, and my post will go up on Mon. 3/3.

  17. FlaHam says:

    Paulette, Congradulations, I am so looking forward to your next book, heck I may even pay for itr LOL. This is a very even handed way of getting to know the various authors who blog and I appreciate that. But you scared me LOL I thought you tagged me and I was going to have to chase you down. BTW I liked what Clan said about Mildred. Take care, have a great one. Bill

    • Hi my friend, Bill. It is so wonderful to meet and get to read/know our blogging friends. And, in some cases like ours take it a step further, into a lovely friendship. Clan is a sweetheart and I value her support and yours immensely. And, whenever book 2 comes to the light of day, I’d be happy to gift you a copy.

      Got all our fingers and paws crossed over at our place that you get out of the hospital tomorrow and homeward bound. Hugs, Paulette

  18. Thanks for tagging me, Paulette! You’re helping me even before my book is ready for Prime Time! Your book sounds marvelous. I can’t wait to read it!🙂

  19. Lots of lovely news, Paulette. Good on you.
    Can’t wait for your new book.

Leave a Reply

