What more do I want?

This is one of those things I needed to see. And want to share. So beautifully simple. So helpful. A big cyber hug to all my cyber friends.

Breath of Joy

“He who is contented is rich” ~ Lao Tzu

Being deeply grateful for what you have is the key to happiness. It is believed by people who practice awareness that there are unlimited things for us to be grateful for. Gratefulness comes more easily with humility and having respect for others but with minimal or no expectations. It is important to remember that we need to focus on the good we have and not on what we don’t have.

In spiritual retreats and programs we are asked to list five or ten reasons every night for which we ought to be grateful and in just a few days beautiful changes start taking place – we feel more at peace and our anxiety levels reduce. It is also amazing that the reasons for which we need to be grateful also keep increasing more and more.

Lets welcome gratitude and contentment in…

View original post 21 more words

About The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

The year 1895 was filled with memorable historical events: the Dreyfus Affair divided France; Booker T. Washington gave his Atlanta address; Richard Olney, United States Secretary of State, expanded the effects of the Monroe Doctrine in settling a boundary dispute between the United Kingdom and Venezuela; and Oscar Wilde was tried and convicted for "gross indecency" under Britian's recently passed law that made sex between males a criminal offense. When the news of Wilde's conviction went out over telegraphs worldwide, it threw a small Nevada town into chaos. This is the story of what happened when the lives of its citizens were impacted by the news of Oscar Wildes' imprisonment. It is chronicle of hatred and prejudice with all its unintended and devastating consequences, and how love and friendship bring strength and healing. Paulette Mahurin, the author, is a Nurse Practitioner who lives in Ojai, California with her husband Terry and their two dogs--- Max and Bella. She practices women's health in a rural clinic and writes in her spare time. All profits from her book are going to animal rescue, Santa Paula Animal Shelter, the first and only no-kill shelter in Ventura County, CA, where she lives. (see links below on Ventura County Star Article & Shelter) To find out more please go the The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap on facebook or Amazon or e-mail us at the gavatar addresses. Thank you. (photos: of Paulette, her family, and a reading at The Ojai Art Center, July 2012)
This entry was posted in REBLOGS. Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to What more do I want?

  1. Jean-Jacques says:

    I love it, especially as a response to my reply to your comment on my latest poem, Every Season – has a reason – Excellent…!

  2. Gratitude certainly changed my attitude. I am thankful every day that I began my Gratitude Journal blog well over 2 years ago, because once I was diagnosed with cancer, it helped me stay positive. I’m not sure I could have stayed this positive without it.

    • Hi Ruth, I really appreciate what you wrote. It’s very powerful. And I understand it subjectively as well, being that I was stricken with life-changing Lyme Disease. Were it not for finding gratitude I don’t know what would have become of me. Such a simple thing, to stay positive, and so important for our well-being. A big cyber hug to you, my friend.❤

  3. Thank you for shearing this❤
    Alison
    xox

    • Happy to share this one. The “with minimal or no expectations” smacked me ‘tween the eyes. Boy has that been killing me. You two exemplify living this way, and working through the times when it isn’t all that easy. The words here, with this post I shared, fit well with how you two appear to live, walking the walk. Big hug to you both.❤

  4. seeker says:

    You picked a good one, Paulette. I follow his wisdom. Big Hugs and❤ to you and the doggies.

  5. natuurfreak says:

    Love this message and wisddom Paulette.

  6. Barbara says:

    Great message Paulette. There are so many people hurting in the world today, when I look at my own life, I am grateful for what I have.
    The turning point for me was when my hubby was in ICU last December critically ill. As you can imagine, all sorts went through my mind. Thankfully, he survived but we both look at life very differently now, treasuring each and every day, and being thankful for what we have.

  7. That us so beautiful. It is like honey on bread.
    Very sweet Pauline.
    With love
    Yisraela

  8. Pingback: What more do I want? | Embrace the Light

  9. Thank you, thank you, thank you-this was a wonderful reminder of how gratitude lists can really give us perspective-

  10. FlaHam says:

    Paulette, those were special words for me, thank you for leading me to them. Take care, Bill

  11. Clowie says:

    That’s a lovely message.

  12. A very important reminder in this chaotic world. Thanks, Darlin’!🙂

  13. Sage says:

    So true. It’s easy to dwell on the here-and-now problems in our lives, but to take the time to reflect on the goodness that is and has been there, is what more of us need to do.

  14. jbw0123 says:

    Thank you for a much-needed reminder.

  15. Lucy says:

    I really enjoyed reading this, such a fresh and wonderful reminder for me. Thanks so much for sharing, I do so appreciate you.

    Love and Light
    Lucy🙂

Leave a Reply

