Over the Edge? Not Me!

Two days ago I received an email from a woman named Simone, from the on-line magazine Retirement and Good Living. She had seen a comment I wrote on one of their articles and went to check out who I was. Upon seeing the volunteer work I’m involved in she asked if I’d like to write an article on volunteering. It’s a great magazine featuring topics on health, money, travel, etc. and a blog where other people write the articles. Below is the article I wrote for them on volunteering.

http://retirementandgoodliving.com/over-the-edge-not-me/

About The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

The year 1895 was filled with memorable historical events: the Dreyfus Affair divided France; Booker T. Washington gave his Atlanta address; Richard Olney, United States Secretary of State, expanded the effects of the Monroe Doctrine in settling a boundary dispute between the United Kingdom and Venezuela; and Oscar Wilde was tried and convicted for "gross indecency" under Britian's recently passed law that made sex between males a criminal offense. When the news of Wilde's conviction went out over telegraphs worldwide, it threw a small Nevada town into chaos. This is the story of what happened when the lives of its citizens were impacted by the news of Oscar Wildes' imprisonment. It is chronicle of hatred and prejudice with all its unintended and devastating consequences, and how love and friendship bring strength and healing. Paulette Mahurin, the author, is a Nurse Practitioner who lives in Ojai, California with her husband Terry and their two dogs--- Max and Bella. She practices women's health in a rural clinic and writes in her spare time. All profits from her book are going to animal rescue, Santa Paula Animal Shelter, the first and only no-kill shelter in Ventura County, CA, where she lives. (see links below on Ventura County Star Article & Shelter) To find out more please go the The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap on facebook or Amazon or e-mail us at the gavatar addresses. Thank you. (photos: of Paulette, her family, and a reading at The Ojai Art Center, July 2012)
This entry was posted in ACTS OF KINDNESS, PROMOTING OTHER SITES, Volunteer Work. Bookmark the permalink.

67 Responses to Over the Edge? Not Me!

  1. tazzielove says:

    Good article.πŸ™‚

  2. Deb says:

    Congrats, and what a great article you wrote!

  3. tazzielove says:

    Reblogged this on tazziesplace and commented:
    Article from Paulette on Volunteering.

  4. That was a wonderfully informational article!!

  5. Great article Paulette, though I feel a bit exhausted just reading about all you both doπŸ™‚
    Was it your comment on our article that Simone read? I think she’s a force of nature.
    As are you!
    Hugs and love
    Alison❀
    xox

  6. Fabulous article, Paulette. Informative and entertaining.

  7. Paulette, You’re such a great writer. I thought your article was wonderful. It struck so many of the right cords, and I know if I were capable I would be volunteering someplace doing something. Take care, be safe Bill

    • You do, give, so much with your blog. Needless to say it’s bettering lives, mine included. And don’t forget the people at the market, who are probably still smiling over your acts of kindness. We give of our hearts, volunteer if you will, in ways we can. You give plenty of what/where it counts.❀

  8. Jean-Jacques says:

    Congratulations Paulette… Most impressive, in spite of the fact of already being aware in part of yours and Terry’s devotion to the needy and less fortunate, above and beyond high call of commitment. Again, Bravo! Jean-Jacques

  9. sknicholls says:

    Awesome and Congrats. Very well done.

  10. Great article and my, you are one busy couple! I planned on volunteering after I retired, but the Universe had other plans for me! Isn’t that how it always works?

    • It’s so true, Ruth, about the Universe having a mind of its own. The way I look at it is volunteering is just another way, one of many, to pour a little kindness into the world. A smile, helping a family member, a compassionate response to a blogging friend when in need, visiting a depressed dog in the shelter whenever time allows, or donating in some way what we can when we can are all pieces of the same pie; living from the heart. You do that beautifully and show a loving heart whenever we exchange communications. Thank you for that.:-)

  11. Paulette, the article that you wrote is priceless and I feel it will be an incentive for more individuals to volunteer their time to worthwhile and much needed projects and charities.

    • Hi there. It’s so good to hear from you and I hope you’re well. I the article helps shine a light on someone reading it and needing to get out and do something but might be at a loss for what. For some retirement can become lonely. This is a great way to stay connected.πŸ™‚

      • I am doing better now that I have a pacemaker. I became very ill with pulse dropping to 29, extreme dizziness and, weakness. Had to call an ambulance- too weak to drive myself. Thanks for the concern and I do hope that eventually I will have more stamina.and will be able to put out more posts.πŸ™‚

      • Thank goodness you’re doing better! That’s what’s important. Whether you write posts or not there are a lot of your cyber buddies that love you and will continue to wish you well. I’m certainly one of them. Love to you.❀

  12. Misaki says:

    How exciting, will read it now:-)

  13. Littlesundog says:

    Congrats, on a very informational article! I did not realize all that you and your husband are involved in! I am so proud to call you “friend”! What an inspiration you are!

  14. seeker says:

    There is no such thing as retirement when it’s your turn to give. Volunteer work is a full time job with no pay. What an excellent article you wrote, Paulette. Two of my sisters gave up their job to work on what matters the most in their life. I can’t wait to really stop working and start giving as a volunteer.❀ form P to P

  15. seeker says:

    PS May i use your article to quote you on retirement. I’ have this thought in the back of my mind to write about it.

  16. That article will open doors for people unsure how they will meet retirement.

  17. natuurfreak says:

    Well done .Great article write by you

  18. Barbara says:

    I didn’t realize you and your husband volunteered so much of your time to so many causes.
    I volunteer at our local Animal Welfare Centre and nothing compares to the feeling you get out of helping others and knowing you are making a difference.
    I’m sure your article gives an insight into volunteering that will help many retirees make the decision to do the same.

    • Hi Barb! We pace ourselves with what we do but have a couple of permanent weekly volunteer gigs. It all seems to work out. For a long time I wasn’t able to do much other than write at home and do mailings for an animal rescue group. That’s when I was at my worst with Lyme Disease. Since my health has returned about 90-95% I’m thrilled to be back out in the world and productive. Bless you for volunteering at the local Animal Welfare Centre, which you well know if near and ear to my heart. It’d be really lovely if this article does help someone find a way to fulfill their lives with volunteer work if that’s their calling.πŸ™‚

  19. jmgoyder says:

    That article is so inspiring – thank you!

  20. Bless you both for all you give!

  21. Excellent article. You are fluent in your words and heart.
    Yisraela

  22. jbw0123 says:

    Very nice –and inspiring — article.

    • Thanks so much! We got lucky that we enjoy doing this. It really has enhanced our lives. So many ways to give and make a difference. You and quite a number of my cyber pals write inspiring, informative, great articles. We just can’t know all the ripples of our actions.❀

  23. Clowie says:

    That’s a great article with lots of good ideas for someone who isn’t sure what to do with their time.

    • Thanks so much, Clowie. It was a lot of hit and miss until we found the right fit for us. I did all sorts of things, driving the meals on wheels van, being a receptionist in a retirement help center, etc., all great groups but didn’t fill my heart’s desire to serve. Then I/we (both me and my hubby) got very lucky and connected where we could put to use our education/experience (helps to keep our brains’ active) and the satisfaction quotient went out the roof. It’s so important to find that right fit and enjoy.πŸ™‚

  24. Fantastic article. Paulette. Kudos to you and your husband. You are such great examples of human kindness. When I your new book due out? I don’t want to miss it. πŸ™‚

  25. You’re becoming SO famous, my friend! How’s that book coming?πŸ™‚

    • Hi there my friend. I’m awaiting the proof and if it’s okay it’ll go to press. Maybe a couple more weeks? Can’t wait for yours to come out.❀

      • Maybe in a month or two. I had a line editor look at it and the cover is being created as we speak. Haven’t seen his ideas yet. After I go through all the editor’s fixes and changes, I’ll have to read it through myself one more time. I’m also thinking about changing POV to first person which will take even more time and rewriting. I think it will make the book feel more like my grandmother is telling her story…What do you think?

      • I think once you read it through again you’ll get a feel for whether you want to shift POV or not. This is a very personal, mission of love for you, story, a beautiful story and either way you can’t go wrong. One reader may gravitate to first person POV, another to a differing POV. Ultimately, it has to sit right with your insides, your heart, and then birth it to the world and brave the feedback, good or not so good. Regardless of POV, the story is a winner. Can’t wait till it sees daylight. Love, Paulette

  26. Sage says:

    This is what retirement is all about. Or is supposed to be. I didn’t realize your husband worked at NASA. We also did–back in the Apollo years. Good times.

    • Small world when you get to chatting with someone. He worked up at Ames for many years then was transferred down to Dryden to head up their legal dept. Lotta fun with the shuttle. Maybe someday we’ll need and you can all share stories. Sage would be welcome, of course.πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

