GLITCH IN THE KINDLE FORMATTING OF HIS NAME WAS BEN

Dear friends,

I obtained my kindle copy of my book, His Name Was Ben, last night. The formatting is way off from the paperback with sentences starting mid page, indents missing in places where they should be, what should be one paragraph broken into two, etc. I’ve written to kdp select for help with reformatting. Once I hear from them, I’ll pull the book, have reformatting done, and put it back up. For anyone who has purchased a kindle book the Amazon policy is they will exchange it for the properly formatted one. If anyone has a problem with this, I will gift you a copy of the kindle book myself. The paperback will remain on Amazon. And, for anyone who would like to read the book but can’t afford it, I’ll happily send you the text pdf, if you’d like. All I ask in exchange is sometime in the future you return the act of kindness to someone else, including a dog. My apologies for anyone reading the kindle book now and distracted by the poor formatting.

Paulette Mahurin

About The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

The year 1895 was filled with memorable historical events: the Dreyfus Affair divided France; Booker T. Washington gave his Atlanta address; Richard Olney, United States Secretary of State, expanded the effects of the Monroe Doctrine in settling a boundary dispute between the United Kingdom and Venezuela; and Oscar Wilde was tried and convicted for "gross indecency" under Britian's recently passed law that made sex between males a criminal offense. When the news of Wilde's conviction went out over telegraphs worldwide, it threw a small Nevada town into chaos. This is the story of what happened when the lives of its citizens were impacted by the news of Oscar Wildes' imprisonment. It is chronicle of hatred and prejudice with all its unintended and devastating consequences, and how love and friendship bring strength and healing. Paulette Mahurin, the author, is a Nurse Practitioner who lives in Ojai, California with her husband Terry and their two dogs--- Max and Bella. She practices women's health in a rural clinic and writes in her spare time. All profits from her book are going to animal rescue, Santa Paula Animal Shelter, the first and only no-kill shelter in Ventura County, CA, where she lives. (see links below on Ventura County Star Article & Shelter) To find out more please go the The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap on facebook or Amazon or e-mail us at the gavatar addresses. Thank you. (photos: of Paulette, her family, and a reading at The Ojai Art Center, July 2012)
This entry was posted in HIS NAME WAS BEN. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to GLITCH IN THE KINDLE FORMATTING OF HIS NAME WAS BEN

  1. Haven’t come across any yet πŸ™‚

  2. “you return the act
    of kindness to someone else
    including a dog”

    i love especially the dog part & it’s a haiku.

  3. I haven’t started reading it yet. Amazon usually sends an email when an updated Kindle version is available. I’ll wait – because I don’t know when I’ll be ready to read it. πŸ˜€

  4. Jean-Jacques says:

    Sorry about that, but for me , not a problem because I’m a paper book addict. Jean-Jacques

    • I love a paperback as well but have been diving into my kindle of late, especially since someone gifted it to me. But really, there’s nothing like a good ole book. BTW: yours are exquisite and wouldn’t show as well, not even close on a kindle. Your cover and formatting is so beautiful in my hands. πŸ™‚

  5. Paulette – you are an act of kindness! Ordering my paper copy today wheee!

    • I’m sitting here, wanting to reach into my computer and give you a hug. We’re generating such a sweetness with all of this. Mine. Yours. The wagging doggies. I’m truly grateful for our connection and your sweet reply here has made a big difference in an otherwise rough day (ill dog this end). Thank you!

  6. Sorry to hear that. I was going to order when I saw your post. Guess what. This time there is availability at Amazon.CA! ❀ ❀ ❀

  7. Paulette I ordered it first thing this morning when I saw it was out. I had ten minutes to read before work so I didn’t have much time, but I didn’t notice a problem. I will not get back to it until tomorrow morning. So I’ll keep going and if there’s a problem then I will update it. πŸ™‚ And you are a gem of a human being.

    • Aww, thank you for this. Amazon will upgrade it. And if any problems with that, I’ll gift you a new copy. Just let me know.

      Also, wanted to share with you that Bill was reading this when he passed. He phoned me two days before he died to tell me how the book impacted his life. We spoke for a couple of hours about all sorts of things. It was my last gift with our beloved friend. He never got to finish it, but then that’s probably exactly what is meant to be. I’m glad to share this with you. ❀

      • Oh Paulette! That is wonderful! I keep going over to his blog just…because. He sure did love to talk and write and share. I can only imagine how thrilled he was to have the chance to read this and discus it with you. Maybe he’ll finish it through us as we read it. I’m not worried about it, if it is a problem I’ll get the reissue.

        Now I have a feeling I will be reading for two. πŸ™‚ Thank you for sharing this with me. ❀

      • Oh my, what a response. Crying as I’m writing. That guy sure did touch a lot of us. It was odd, toward the last rewrite to make the editing corrections I kept thinking of him and how I wanted to get the book to him, to share, and so I asked if he wanted it as is. He got to and loved one of the “juicy” parts and we had a good laugh over that. I think if he’s in contact with anyone who’s reading it, it’ll be you. He loved you and couldn’t stop talking about your visit together. No surprise! I feel you over the cyberspace divide and it’s a great comfort to me with our loss of Bill. Thank you, Colleen. ❀

  8. Paulette: I’m delighted to add ‘His Name Was Ben’ to my October order with Amazon. I’ll post my review of ‘The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap’ soon. You wrote a story that had languished far too long in the telling. I’ve introduced your book to both the Kansas and Arkansas public library systems with my strong endorsement.

    • Coming from you, Sheri, this means a lot to me. I’m deeply moved by what you wrote as I so admire you, what you have to say, how you touch so many of us with your honest and well written word, and to share this with you was special. The message in The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap certainly is universal and all of us who can need to do our part to shine a light on stopping hatred, especially in these very scary times. If your library wants a copy of the book and can’t afford it, tell them they can contact me for one and I’ll be glad to donate it to them. I have donated several copies to other libraries around the U.S. as well and wanted to contact more but just don’t have the time.

      Because His Name Was Ben is such a different subject, much more medical plot, and since you’re so intimately familiar with the system, I’d love to have your feedback on it. Readers feedback helps me learn, grow, and improve.

      Wishing you a good day. Love, Paulette

  9. Sorry to hear that, Paulette. Just when you thought everything was out there and you could breathe a sigh of relief…. 😦 I hope things with Bella are going better. ❀

    • Hi there! I’m always so happy when you pop up over the cyber horizon. The kindle format is being worked on by the woman who did the formatting/design of my book. She has done corrections and it’s back up. A few more corrections are being done (indents and some spacing) and it should look much better. She’s able to get the corrections up without the book going off line which is a relief. And Amazon is changing out the copies of anyone who asks. I even had mine downloaded kindle book changed yesterday. Live and learn. The paperback to kindle conversion can be problematic for us lay techies.

      Went to the vet with Bella yesterday and the diagnosis is still up in the air, between doggie rheumatoid arthritis and Sharpei fever. She goes in in 3 weeks for another tap and hopefully that will give us more info. And we have to monitor her urine for protein to know if we’re dealing with the later which is more serious. She’s been upgraded to mild exercise (can go for walks on her leash), can sleep with Max & Lady but we have to be sure Max doesn’t get too rambunctious with her (male dogs! lol), she is off all medications ‘cept prednisone and something to protect her stomach from that, but most significantly her mood is up and her tail is wagging. Phew, guess I needed to vent here. Thanks for asking. ❀

Leave a Reply

