Introducing: His Name Was Ben

My book just went live on Amazon paperback and Kindle for anyone interested in reading it. As with The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap profits are going to rescue dogs.

http://www.amazon.com/His-Name-was-Paulette-Mahurin-ebook/dp/B00NTACZ5Q/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top

SYNOPSIS ON BACK COVER: SYNOPSIS Hearing the words “it’s cancer,” threw Sara Phillips’ life into chaos, until an unexpected turn of events and a chance encounter with a stranger changed everything—his name was Ben. Based on real events, Ben and Sara discover that when all else fails, healing can come in the most unexpected ways. Chilling and heart wrenching, His Name Was Ben is a triumph over the devastating circumstances and fear experienced when faced with a terminal illness. In this narrative, the power of love conquers shadows and transforms the very nature and meaning of what it is to be fully alive. From the award winning, best-selling author of, The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap, comes a story filled with soul and passion that will leave the reader thinking about it for days after the last page is closed. “Paulette Mahurin compassionately renders an insightful tale about love and life in the moment, when a moment is all there is. Both ordinary and extraordinary, Sara and Ben kept me up at night rooting for them, as did Mahurin of course, a writer of exceptional heart, for her tender and wise depiction of love against all odds. A rare pleasure, His Name Was Ben is not to be missed.”—Lee Fullbright, author of The Angry Woman Suite “Against the biggest of obstacles a couple can face, the positive message is that it is never too late to start living.” –Christoph Fischer author of Sebastian. Paulette Mahurin lives with her husband Terry and three dogs, Max, Bella, and Lady Luck in Ventura County, California. Profits from her books go to rescue dogs.

AMAZON REVIEWS:

5.0 out of 5 stars This book offers many gifts to the reader. September 22, 2014
Format:Paperback
Mahurin, who wrote the wildly successful and award-winning “The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap,” has done it again! She is an adept writer who knows how to create complex characters living complicated lives, tugging the reader into the world she creates. The details and dialog ring so true that I felt I was in the story with them, often forgetting that I was reading. Paulette Mahurin’s writing is that good!This time, we’re drawn into the intimate lives of two cancer patients. It’s clear Paulette used her medical background and extensive research because the sections on the types of cancer, treatment options, and side effects are quite sophisticated. But this is no maudlin read. Instead, courage, hope, love, wisdom, and even levity are woven throughout the individual and collective journeys the characters take.

This book offers many gifts to the reader. To me, the best books offer more than just a memorable story, which this one certainly does.

The best books linger with you long after you’ve read them because they’ve taken you on an ethical or philosophical journey. “His Name Was Ben” took me on such a journey. If I was facing a terminal illness, would I opt for toxic treatment or let myself die naturally? Would I have the courage to start a relationship knowing that I had cancer AND that he had cancer? Does cancer matter since none of us knows what going to happen in the next moment? These questions still haunt me after reading this book.

The best books also take you places you’ve never been, or get you to see things in ways you’ve never seen them. They open up new perspectives. Again, Mahurin’s book gave me this gift. I learned a great deal about cancer treatment, its side effects and the emotional toll it takes on both the patient and loved ones. I love reading fiction and learning things that apply to real life!

At its core, this book is a story about accepting oneself, being open to romance, overcoming fear, and taking chances. Basically, it’s a love story about life, about living life consciously rather than on automatic pilot. Thank you Paulette for the gift of this book.

5.0 out of 5 stars for joy and love September 20, 2014
By Mr.
Format:Paperback
Mahurin writes with heart and passion, a story not about facing death but what it is to be alive. And it’s never too late. This every living, breathing moment, is here to be valued, a point driven home in this poignant read. This is a must read for anyone facing a terminal illness, anyone with a family me member with a terminal illness, or anyone wanting a glimpse into revelations that bring the miraculous living moment to the present, for joy and love. A truly beautiful romance novel that I will read again and again.
5.0 out of 5 stars sweet, tender love story about real issues that touch …, September 20, 2014
By
Ronni L. Sanlo (Los Angeles, CA United States) – See all my reviews
This review is from: His Name was Ben (Paperback)
His Name was Ben is such a dear, sweet, tender love story about real issues that touch people’s lives. From true love to precious pets and friends, to crazy family members, this book held my attention from start to finish. Actually, I could not stop reading until I turned the last page. Paulette Mahurin has written yet another powerful, passionate book that will surely touch every reader’s heart.

About The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

The year 1895 was filled with memorable historical events: the Dreyfus Affair divided France; Booker T. Washington gave his Atlanta address; Richard Olney, United States Secretary of State, expanded the effects of the Monroe Doctrine in settling a boundary dispute between the United Kingdom and Venezuela; and Oscar Wilde was tried and convicted for "gross indecency" under Britian's recently passed law that made sex between males a criminal offense. When the news of Wilde's conviction went out over telegraphs worldwide, it threw a small Nevada town into chaos. This is the story of what happened when the lives of its citizens were impacted by the news of Oscar Wildes' imprisonment. It is chronicle of hatred and prejudice with all its unintended and devastating consequences, and how love and friendship bring strength and healing. Paulette Mahurin, the author, is a Nurse Practitioner who lives in Ojai, California with her husband Terry and their two dogs--- Max and Bella. She practices women's health in a rural clinic and writes in her spare time. All profits from her book are going to animal rescue, Santa Paula Animal Shelter, the first and only no-kill shelter in Ventura County, CA, where she lives. (see links below on Ventura County Star Article & Shelter) To find out more please go the The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap on facebook or Amazon or e-mail us at the gavatar addresses. Thank you. (photos: of Paulette, her family, and a reading at The Ojai Art Center, July 2012)
This entry was posted in REVIEWS, REVIEWS FOR HIS NAME WAS BEN and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

54 Responses to Introducing: His Name Was Ben

  1. tazzielove says:

    Off to a great start.

  2. I’m not sure I can read this now. I don’t know how it will affect my mood. I hope you understand.

    • Of course I understand. First and foremost, take care of you, trust your intuition, and be happy. That’s my wish for you. And I so appreciate your saying this to me. FYI: it’s got a lot that’s uplifting and centers on a miracle drug that came out of a cancer study at UCLA. But it does involve two cancer patients and I don’t want to spoil the plot. Again, take care of you and feel free to stop by any time.❤

  3. seeker says:

    Reblogged this on The Seeker and commented:
    Calling all book lovers. This is a new book written by Paulette. The first one was a #1 best seller “The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap.

  4. seeker says:

    Here’s to a successful book, Paulette!

  5. cindy knoke says:

    Congratulations! And bravo too!

  6. cindy knoke says:

    Kudos! Congrats! And well done! Thank you Paulette!

  7. Looks great Pauline. It’s on my wish list. I’m just so backed up because I haven’t been able to do much print reading. Me and my eyes are having an issue. But I will get there, promise. It’s just going to take a while.

    • Hi Marilyn. I understand about eyes and print. I have to pace myself or it’s back to the eye doctor. And, there’s a just so many books out there, it’s hard to pick one, or ten, to read. If you ever get around to this one, I’d love your feedback. Meanwhile, continue to be kind to your eyes. Love, Paulette

  8. Rajiv says:

    I must check it out!

  9. Reblogged this on HUMPTY DUMPTY MURAL MAGIC and commented:
    This is one book I cannot wait to read.

  10. Jean-Jacques says:

    As I said on your blog post… Hey Paulette… How great! I look forward to ordering it as soon as I return to Canada. Good luck for again an extremely worthy cause, and I’ve no doubt a terrific read. JJ

  11. Paulette you continue to astound the literary world. Good job and I know your heart is also in the continuing work of animal relief.
    Bless you
    Yisraela

  12. Can’t wait!!! Going over to Amazon for a little buying excursion! 🙂

  13. ladysighs says:

    Adding my cheers for you and congrats!

  14. Barbara says:

    This is a book I must read Paulette, I’ve just ordered it from Amazon.

  15. Let the accolades begin for this wonderful book from such a talented and generous writer!❤

  16. sknicholls says:

    Reblogged this on S.K. Nicholls and commented:
    From the award winning best selling author of “The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap” and new book, “His name was Ben” by Paulette Mahurin

  17. Sue Vincent says:

    Congratulations, Paulette.

  18. Littlesundog says:

    Congratulations, Paulette!!!

  19. natuurfreak says:

    Also very nice photo in front of the book

  20. Awww, congrats Paulette! I’ll be reading for sure!
    ❤ Christy

  21. The reviews on Anazon or glowing. I am so happy to read these good things for you and I know that your are thrilled. I aim to get the book soon, I hope. ~yvonne

  22. Pingback: Introducing: His Name Was Ben | nativemericangirl's Blog

  23. Mustang.Koji says:

    Paulette, making the rounds here… Congratulations on another publication! It indeed sounds like a story that draws you – and your heart – in. Going to take a look-see!

Leave a Reply

