Thank you J.K. Bevill – Lost Creek Publishing

Kerry Bevill’s blog went silent a few months back but we stayed in touch. He continues to be a wonderfully giving, supportive friend. For all of us who know and appreciate how giving and generous he was in sharing and reblogging I wanted to share this and give a special shout out to Kerry. Thank you so much. Today a dog will be wagging because of you.

5.0 out of 5 stars There is a list, a very short list, …, October 8, 2014
This review is from: His Name was Ben (Paperback)
There is a list, a very short list, of books that I have read non-stop from cover to cover. The first, and the one that still haunts me, is Ernest Hemingway’s “Islands In The Stream.” The second is Steven King’s “The Stand.” Recently, in December 2013, I added Paulette Mahurin’s “The Persecution Of Mildred Dunlap” and this month, October 2014, I added Paulette’s “His Name Was Ben.” I believe both of Paulette’s works should be made into movies and I have discussed this with her. Since some time has passed since we talked about the movie version of her first work, I do not remember who I decided should star. Since “His name was Ben” is fresh in my mind, I have decided that Leonardo DiCaprio should play Ben and Cote de Pablo should play Sara. So, there is my short list and, I believe, all works herein should be on everyone’s short list.
Other Recent Amazon Reviews:
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Story!!!, November 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: His Name was Ben (Kindle Edition)
Where to start with this… In the beginning, there were aspects of this novel that nagged at me. There were a couple instances of awkward dialogue, once or twice when I was surprised by a character’s behavior, and a small bit of ‘head-hopping.’ And yet I’m still rating it five stars. Why?

Because the story is that good. Despite those minor nits turning me against the novel at first, this is a plot that refuses to be ignored, bringing tears to my eyes at the very end and pulling me in further with each moment shared by the Ben and Sara. From the moment she steals his phone number to an awkward dinner with her family, to their final moments together, this plot tugged at my strongest emotions. As I read, I stopped caring about the technical imperfections, focusing instead on this doomed love story of two cancer patients clinging to the hope of an experimental treatment. Did it remind me a little of The Fault in Our Stars? I think that might be an insult to this book. There’s a definite maturity here that TFIOS never managed to achieve for me, a realness to the love and pasts of both of these characters.

I would recommend this novel to anyone, especially those who want a realistic tale of star-crossed romance and a couple who manages to find love despite their fates. Ben touched my heart in more ways than I thought he would, and I can assure you I won’t be forgetting his name anytime soon.

About The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

The year 1895 was filled with memorable historical events: the Dreyfus Affair divided France; Booker T. Washington gave his Atlanta address; Richard Olney, United States Secretary of State, expanded the effects of the Monroe Doctrine in settling a boundary dispute between the United Kingdom and Venezuela; and Oscar Wilde was tried and convicted for "gross indecency" under Britian's recently passed law that made sex between males a criminal offense. When the news of Wilde's conviction went out over telegraphs worldwide, it threw a small Nevada town into chaos. This is the story of what happened when the lives of its citizens were impacted by the news of Oscar Wildes' imprisonment. It is chronicle of hatred and prejudice with all its unintended and devastating consequences, and how love and friendship bring strength and healing. Paulette Mahurin, the author, is a Nurse Practitioner who lives in Ojai, California with her husband Terry and their two dogs--- Max and Bella. She practices women's health in a rural clinic and writes in her spare time. All profits from her book are going to animal rescue, Santa Paula Animal Shelter, the first and only no-kill shelter in Ventura County, CA, where she lives. (see links below on Ventura County Star Article & Shelter) To find out more please go the The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap on facebook or Amazon or e-mail us at the gavatar addresses. Thank you. (photos: of Paulette, her family, and a reading at The Ojai Art Center, July 2012)
This entry was posted in HIS NAME WAS BEN, REVIEWS, REVIEWS FOR HIS NAME WAS BEN. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Thank you J.K. Bevill – Lost Creek Publishing

  1. tazzielove says:

    I always liked visiting his site. A real good guy.

  2. tazzielove says:

    Reblogged this on tazziesplace and commented:
    J.K. Bevill-Lost Creek Publishing wrote a really nice review for His Name Was Ben.

  3. Wow again. Paulette, you and Terry should be grinning from ear to ear!

    • Hi Yvonne. We sure are. There are so many good people out there willing to help and who are supportive. That’s shining through with this book as well and I’m truly grateful for it. I know some buy to help support dogs. I hope they enjoy the read as well. Very appreciative of your stopping by and kind words. Love, Paueltte

  4. Oh I wanted to cry
    Yisraela

  5. Wow, you are rubbing elbows with some top shelf names. When you go on the book promo circuit, give me a shout out every once in a while, would ya? 😉

  6. natuurfreak says:

    It gives such a warm feeling that so much people will helps you.You derserve it 100%

  7. Clowie says:

    What fun to play at picking stars for the film version!

  8. It was fun, Clowie. Made me smile and Max, Bella, and Lady gave lots of wags. 🙂

Leave a Reply

