His Name Was Ben and Her Name is Paulette Mahurin

My sweet new cyber sister, Lorna, has done (& edited, wink wink) and interview with me and my new book, His Name Was Ben. She, herself, is a great writer, has two books out, and has a blog that’s one of my favorites. She’s a gifted comic and woman.

Lorna's Voice

You're not gonna want to miss a word of what I'm hearing! You’re not gonna want to miss a word of what I’m hearing!

Are you ready for another dizzy blonde interview with an accomplished author-blogger?

Too bad. I know you’re already hooked because of my dizzy blondeness and her literary famosity.

A mixture like ours is kersplosive…in a good way.

Hang on! This is no ordinary blah-blah interview. Hang on! This is no ordinary blah-blah fall-asleep-in-your-chair interview.

I kept this interview short because Paulette is one busy person. Actually, she’s more like three busy people. Just take a gander (look) at her part of her bio:

Semi-retired, she continues to work part-time as a Nurse Practitioner in Ventura County. When she’s not writing, she does pro-bono consultation work with women with cancer, works in the Westminister Free Clinic as a volunteer provider, volunteers as a mediator in the Ventura County Courthouse for small claims cases, and involves herself, along with her husband, in dog rescue.

And she has a

View original post 1,395 more words

About The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

The year 1895 was filled with memorable historical events: the Dreyfus Affair divided France; Booker T. Washington gave his Atlanta address; Richard Olney, United States Secretary of State, expanded the effects of the Monroe Doctrine in settling a boundary dispute between the United Kingdom and Venezuela; and Oscar Wilde was tried and convicted for "gross indecency" under Britian's recently passed law that made sex between males a criminal offense. When the news of Wilde's conviction went out over telegraphs worldwide, it threw a small Nevada town into chaos. This is the story of what happened when the lives of its citizens were impacted by the news of Oscar Wildes' imprisonment. It is chronicle of hatred and prejudice with all its unintended and devastating consequences, and how love and friendship bring strength and healing. Paulette Mahurin, the author, is a Nurse Practitioner who lives in Ojai, California with her husband Terry and their two dogs--- Max and Bella. She practices women's health in a rural clinic and writes in her spare time. All profits from her book are going to animal rescue, Santa Paula Animal Shelter, the first and only no-kill shelter in Ventura County, CA, where she lives. (see links below on Ventura County Star Article & Shelter) To find out more please go the The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap on facebook or Amazon or e-mail us at the gavatar addresses. Thank you. (photos: of Paulette, her family, and a reading at The Ojai Art Center, July 2012)
This entry was posted in BLOGGER'S REVIEWS, EXCERPTS, HIS NAME WAS BEN, INTERVIEWS, REBLOGS, REVIEWS FOR HIS NAME WAS BEN. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to His Name Was Ben and Her Name is Paulette Mahurin

  1. tazzielove says:

    She’s hilarious. Enjoyable interview. 🙂

  2. Okay, so how much of the shenanigans from the interview were edited out? I get the feeling y’all had a little fun with that interview. 😀

  3. I will never reveal my secret for zany success! But it has a lot to do with working with really great authors! Thanks so much for the shout-out, Paulette, cyber-sister, o’mine! 🙂 ❤

  4. Very very cute<3
    Yisraela

  5. People are wonderful. 🙂 Fun and lively interview!!! ❤

  6. Sage says:

    Loved the interview, Paulette! I have the book and it’s my next read.

  7. Lorna is a funny gal- that is funny as in ha-ha funny. I left a very silly comment about the interview on her blog. Now I feel like an idiot that should have known better. But I think her interview was great and it made me laugh.

    • I read what you wrote and loved it! Yours made me laugh and anything that makes me laugh tops my list of good stuff. You are among friends who don’t judge and just wanna have a little fun. Don’t be so hard on yourself, we love you! All that aside, I know the feeling, lol. I am laughing because I can’t tell you how many times I’ve felt silly and in replay, when I can’t take it back, feel like an … Big hug to you. p.s. My father was English, from a dirt poor family, but what they had was silly senses of humor. I grew up with that and love love love it.

  8. Clowie says:

    I enjoyed reading this interview!

    • She’s a hoot and I’m so glad you saw it. She’s got a gift, a comedic gift, that is incredible. And if you were to read her memoir it would blow your fur off, a lot of hard times and deep. She’s a good cyber friend, who I hope to meet some day. Like you, Clowie. ❤

  9. olganm says:

    Great interview! I subscribe to the ‘Make ‘Em Laugh’ approach as much as I can and you’ve done a great job of it. Keep smiling!

    • Hi there and yes yes yes to what you said! If we aren’t having fun aren’t smiling, what’s the point of it all? Laughter ranks very high on my what’s-important-in-life list. And, it’s hard to hate, hold grudges, be socked in, or suffering, when we’re laughing. Big hug and smile to you. 🙂

  10. jmsabbagh says:

    Unique personality ,great interview. Regards.Jalal

Leave a Reply

