A Manly Man ~ truly

This reminds me of Ben and Sara, the couple I worked with way back the, the couple who are the subject of my new book, the couple who inspired me to laugh in the face of devastation and be inspired as long as my heart beats and my lungs will with oxygen. This is a two minute and forty-two second video that will forever live in your heart. One act of kindness, one moment of deep inspiration, one thing seen through the eyes of a child exploring the miracles that abound, and our lives are never the same. I love Huntie, who I am reblogging from. If you stop by and meet her, you’ll love her as well.

Chasing Rabbit Holes

I saw this and had to share….

View original post

About The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

The year 1895 was filled with memorable historical events: the Dreyfus Affair divided France; Booker T. Washington gave his Atlanta address; Richard Olney, United States Secretary of State, expanded the effects of the Monroe Doctrine in settling a boundary dispute between the United Kingdom and Venezuela; and Oscar Wilde was tried and convicted for "gross indecency" under Britian's recently passed law that made sex between males a criminal offense. When the news of Wilde's conviction went out over telegraphs worldwide, it threw a small Nevada town into chaos. This is the story of what happened when the lives of its citizens were impacted by the news of Oscar Wildes' imprisonment. It is chronicle of hatred and prejudice with all its unintended and devastating consequences, and how love and friendship bring strength and healing. Paulette Mahurin, the author, is a Nurse Practitioner who lives in Ojai, California with her husband Terry and their two dogs--- Max and Bella. She practices women's health in a rural clinic and writes in her spare time. All profits from her book are going to animal rescue, Santa Paula Animal Shelter, the first and only no-kill shelter in Ventura County, CA, where she lives. (see links below on Ventura County Star Article & Shelter) To find out more please go the The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap on facebook or Amazon or e-mail us at the gavatar addresses. Thank you. (photos: of Paulette, her family, and a reading at The Ojai Art Center, July 2012)
This entry was posted in REVIEWS. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to A Manly Man ~ truly

  1. tazzielove says:

    It does remind me of Ben & Sara. I love that guy. What an inspiration.

  2. I saw this on Chasing Rabbit Holes as well.

  3. huntmode says:

    Dear Paulette, thank you for the reblog. When I see acts like this, I want to send it forward so that others catch fire and act on their love. By the time I came to say thank you, the review of His Name was Ben was posted on top. I read it and marveled at the story and your strength to tackle such difficult, painful and exalting stories. We owe you a debt. xxoo Huntie

  4. Barb says:

    What truly amazing and selfless people this couple are and what they are doing. The video made my heart sing for them, thank you for sharing it here Paulette.

  5. I wonder how many of this awesome men still exist? I know I have one of them. Inspiring video
    Yisraela

    • For my money, I think there are a whole lot of these kinds of beautiful men, and women who’d do the same in reverse, given the opportunity to shine in the light of love. This one is exceptional though. I’m so happy to hear you have one of them. Wow, lovely, and lucky for him as well! ❤

  6. Gee I wrote a comment on somebody’s blog. Haven’t the time to go back and see whose.This is quite the video and everyone who is in dire straits health wise needs a partner such as this man. Very inspirational.

  7. Littlesundog says:

    This is the first I’ve heard of this… and it won’t be forgotten. What amazing people we connect with via the blogging community. I am quite removed from social media and I prefer it that way… but when I see something along the nature of this video, I feel a connectedness with like-minded people, and I feel hope for that kind of love and compassion in the world. Thank you for sharing this. It was simply beautiful.

Leave a Reply

