Reader writes, “my mother went through cancer treatment…”

Thank you Chasity Tarantino for reading my book and this very poignant, lovely review. I hope your mother is now doing well.

5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!, November 12, 2014
This review is from: His Name was Ben (Kindle Edition)
“His Name was Ben” was such a beautiful story. I was really touched by the characters and their situation. It is a story of heartache, pain, and tragedy, but it also showcases the love, hope, and strength that such pain can bring out in a person. Not only did I believe this story was amazing and the characters so strong, but it was written brilliantly.
I related to this story on a personal basis as well. My mother went through Cancer treatment in 2013 and the diagnosis was grim, reading ‘His Name was Ben’ brought back a lot of those feelings and experiences. I think anyone with a big heart will love this story and I believe it can be a really big eye opener for many who don’t have very much personal experience with Cancer.
This story is full of love, hope, faith, and trust. It’s a heart wrenching story that is ultimately beautiful in its despair. The characters were relatable and believable, the writing was on point. The backgrounds of these characters made their story even more potent.
An amazing read and I recommend it to everyone; you might want to get yourself a box of tissues to go with it though.
5.0 out of 5 stars I really enjoyed this book, November 13, 2014
This review is from: His Name was Ben (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book.it reminded me that there is really love out there,and I hope with everything that is holy there will one day be a cure for cancer.five-star review all the way it really makes you think that some people have it worse than you.Thank you Paulette for writing this book.there is hope and love out there.
5.0 out of 5 stars I read this book and appreciated the great writing, the dialogue, November 16, 2014
By
Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: His Name was Ben (Paperback)
I am not a fan of romance novels, feeling that they are the stuff of fiction
and fantastical thinking, what’s portrayed in movies or fanciful
thinking. But, I read this book and appreciated the great writing,
the dialogue, especially around the dinner tables, yapping about past
Heisman trophy winners, etc. I also like the scenes where the characters
are living in the moment, just being, and must admit this author
knows how to write and write exceptionally well she does.
5.0 out of 5 stars Touching Love Story, November 16, 2014
This review is from: His Name was Ben (Kindle Edition)
A story of courage and hope as Ben and Sara , two cancer patients, show that life can be full of surprises. Falling in love can bring a healing and aliveness in the face of death. This is a transformational book, a must read for anyone who feels afraid of illness and life’s “slings and arrows.”
It’s great to find an uplifting book on a depressing topic.
5.0 out of 5 stars Sara and Ben though each fighting their own battles with cancer found love and friendship in each other and an affirmation about, November 17, 2014
This review is from: His Name was Ben (Kindle Edition)
His Name was Ben gripped me from the first paragraph and didn’t let go. Sara and Ben though each fighting their own battles with cancer found love and friendship in each other and an affirmation about life. Throughout the entire book, I hoped and prayed for a miracle. Reading it brought laughter, tears and hope that someday, somewhere there’ll be a cure. Ms. Mahurin’s writing style had the pages flying in my hands, before I knew, I finished the book. Her insight insight into the human mind and heart is a wonderful journey that left me uplifted.
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you for making me remember my true passion., November 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: His Name was Ben (Kindle Edition)
What can I say. I spend most of my working life as an EMP so I saw more than most and loved helping others. I would still be doing that today if not for my daughter and the demands of domestic life.
What does that have to do with his name is Ben? Everything. I can see the author knows what she is talking about, that she is not afraid to talk about the truth of a disease that kills and the love story and hope although not the type one would expect from such a book truly moved me.
I love this book and think it is a must read for all, especially if you or a family member of close friend is suffering from cancer. It might give hope, but it is guaranteed to give you a better understanding of the disease.
5.0 out of 5 stars Emotionally charged, November 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: His Name was Ben (Kindle Edition)
This was book that was filled with the fight for life as well as romance and the courage to live. When Sara met Ben, it changed her world. Not just hers, but his as well. The strength and courage of the couple as they both battle the demon Cancer, was a very emotional and inspiring book. I read this book in one sitting and I highly recommend it to anyone who loves a good story. It’s full of emotions, not just ups and downs, but with just the characters trying to live and stay alive. Sometimes the best cure one can find is love.
4.0 out of 5 stars heart wrenching tale of love and friendship, December 8, 2014
This review is from: His Name was Ben (Paperback)
“His Name Was Ben”, by Paulette Mahurin is a tender, heart wrenching tale of love and friendship. Sara is battling an aggressive form of breast cancer when she meets Ben in the waiting room of her oncologists office. She is immediately drawn to him and surreptitiously gets his phone number. She has just entered a clinical trial for a new treatment for her cancer and is hopeful it will work.

Ben has been diagnosed with pancreatic cancer with only a 25 percent one year survival rate. He’s visiting the oncologist for a last-ditch effort at stopping the forward progress of the disease.

Sara and Ben end up going out on a date even though he is less than eager to start a relationship. They quickly become friends and then more. As they both struggle with their treatments they help each other work through emotional issues from their pasts.

Amazon.com reviews:

About The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

The year 1895 was filled with memorable historical events: the Dreyfus Affair divided France; Booker T. Washington gave his Atlanta address; Richard Olney, United States Secretary of State, expanded the effects of the Monroe Doctrine in settling a boundary dispute between the United Kingdom and Venezuela; and Oscar Wilde was tried and convicted for "gross indecency" under Britian's recently passed law that made sex between males a criminal offense. When the news of Wilde's conviction went out over telegraphs worldwide, it threw a small Nevada town into chaos. This is the story of what happened when the lives of its citizens were impacted by the news of Oscar Wildes' imprisonment. It is chronicle of hatred and prejudice with all its unintended and devastating consequences, and how love and friendship bring strength and healing. Paulette Mahurin, the author, is a Nurse Practitioner who lives in Ojai, California with her husband Terry and their two dogs--- Max and Bella. She practices women's health in a rural clinic and writes in her spare time. All profits from her book are going to animal rescue, Santa Paula Animal Shelter, the first and only no-kill shelter in Ventura County, CA, where she lives. (see links below on Ventura County Star Article & Shelter) To find out more please go the The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap on facebook or Amazon or e-mail us at the gavatar addresses. Thank you. (photos: of Paulette, her family, and a reading at The Ojai Art Center, July 2012)
This entry was posted in AMAZON, HIS NAME WAS BEN, REVIEWS, REVIEWS FOR HIS NAME WAS BEN. Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Reader writes, “my mother went through cancer treatment…”

  1. tazzielove says:

    Very powerful review.

  2. Excellent review for an excellent book ❤

  3. Wonderful!

    I got my first ever bad review. Had to happen, but with so few reviews, it stands out like a sore thumb. 😦 Oops, don’t mean to be a downer. I really am thrilled at your success! 🙂

  4. ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
    What a wonderful review!

  5. natuurfreak says:

    Sorry i want to say it is an heartwarming review

  6. She is absolutely right. ❤

  7. Barb says:

    A very personal and heartfelt review.

  8. It is worth it when you can connect with even just one heart ache.
    Blessings Paulette
    Yisraela

  9. Clowie says:

    That’s a lovely review.

  10. I did 43 cancer radiations for prostate in May and June. Now take a hormone shot for many many months into future I suppose. Some side effects but not of dramatic as most report. I suppose it is a rite of passage for most men my age. I stubbed two toes on furniture leg recently and that was really dreadful.

    • Thank you so much for sharing this, Carl. My brother-in-law is going through the same treatment as you are and from him and all the prostate cancer cases I’ve worked with there are good statistics for a long healthy future. I’m glad to hear that the side effects are not overly hard on you. And boy I sure understand the pain of a stubbed toe, all the nerve endings in that little body part sure can scream when affronted. You have my every best wish for a total recovery. Bless you for your posts and making the world a lighter, happier place for us who follow you. Big hug, Paulette ❤

  11. Your reviews are so well written and thoughtful! And btw, thanks for your review of my book on Amazon, I’m really glad you liked it.

Leave a comment