I know firsthand how the dreaded “C” word coming from an oncologist’s lips can set one’s world into a tailspin

A deeply heartfelt thank you to Craig Furchtenicht for this thoughtful review.

5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful lesson in living, November 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: His Name was Ben (Kindle Edition)
This is my first go-round, reading the work of Paulette Mahurin. It will definitely not be my last. She had me from the first paragraph and kept me tight in her literary grips until the final line. I was thoroughly impressed by her skills as a writer but I would have to say her mastery of dialogue was the one that kept me fully committed to the novel. From the initial phone conversation with Ben to the tense banter between Sara and her seemingly callous mother, the cleverly orchestrated exchanges were spot on. I usually do not let my full range of emotions kick in while I am reading fiction, but this book left me hugging my pillow and dabbing my eyes. Being the spouse of a cancer survivor, this book touched a bit too close to home at times. I know firsthand how the dreaded “C” word coming from an oncologist’s lips can set one’s world into a tailspin. I also know how tales of adversity in the face of death can inspire hope that sometimes seems so far out of reach. The subject matter not only touches on Sara and Ben’s disease but the many issues that they have faced during their lives. Mahurin pulls no punches in her writing so don’t expect a candy-coated version of the truth. It is a beautiful mixture of love story, tragedy and inspiration. I would recommend this to anyone who has been diagnosed with a terminal illness and their loved ones.
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark Tale with Plenty of Spiritual Strength and Light, November 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: His Name was Ben (Kindle Edition)
This is one of those real life dramas that I usually try to escape from in my reading, as opposed to plunge myself into. Especially when the tale is captured with this degree of vividness and proof that the author did her homework; there was no not feeling all the heart-wrenching emotions that go along with cancer therapy and struggling to survive the attempts to cure the person as much as the disease. But paradoxically, by making me live through this as if I were battling to survive late stage cancer myself, the book exacted its own healing, strengthening me to deal with the worst life can throw at me, which, in the final analysis, is what we hope all novels we pick up will give us, but that few truly do. Most are instead a temporary reprieve, an escape. And no, this story isn’t just about finding inner strength to carry an unbearable burden, it’s about the transformative power of love and relationships and of fully inhabiting the moment at the instant you most want to flee from it.
5.0 out of 5 stars Their love is presented with great dignity, December 7, 2014
This review is from: His Name was Ben (Paperback)
‘His Name Was Ben’ by Paulette Mahurin is one the most touching stories
I’ve read in a long time. Though the title reveals what will happen to Ben, it
doesn’t take away from the reader’s anticipation. The reader follows both
Sara and Ben on their plight, as cancer patients, to face the horrendous
disease and help one another.Their love is presented with great dignity. The author depicts how Sara reacts
to having lost her breasts to cancer and how Ben praises her beauty even though
she has no breasts. Their love keeps growing until the very sad end. This story of love conveys that every day we have, can and should be enjoyed.
Tazzie is a dog to be remembered.
Sara’s difficulties with her awful past are intertwined very well into the story.
This well-written, well-edited novel is both sensitive and enlightening to how people can overcome the horrors of the BIG C.
Juliet C.B. Aharoni
A must-read

5.0 out of 5 stars His Name was Ben by Paulette Mahurin is an excellent book. It held my interest throughout the book …, December 8, 2014
This review is from: His Name was Ben (Kindle Edition)
His Name was Ben by Paulette Mahurin is an excellent book. It held my interest throughout the book and I found it very interesting. Paulette’s visualization is so good that it makes me feel as if I am right there in the story. I recommend this book. In fact, I have already told my friends and family to buy this book and read it.
5.0 out of 5 stars Told with style and charm, 10 Dec 2014
This review is from: His Name was Ben (Kindle Edition)
“His Name was Ben” is a captivating love story between Sara and Ben, two people self- absorbed by their separate episodes with cancer, yet their lives achieve a new meaning when they meet each other. As we get to know these two scarred souls and the hard challenges they have already had to overcome, we come to like them more and more throughout this romantic tale.

I was particularly moved when Sara first met Ben in the waiting room. They chatted briefly and Sara was instantly attracted to the handsome stranger. Yet, because his prognosis was more serious than hers, Ben was hesitant to start a relationship. I shared Sara’s stress and fears as she was torn about whether or not to call Ben because of her own self-doubts.

As a side note, another reason that this book made my heart jump, besides the romance between Sara and Ben, was a reference in the text to the Self-Realization Institute locate in Malibu. Sara had gone there to find peace. I lived in LA for a short time and I attended services at the Institute. On one memorable occasion TV star Dennis Weaver (of Gunsmoke and McCloud fame) gave a guest sermon at the institute.

As an outstanding romance novel, this book hits all the right notes, and does it with style and charm.

It would make a great read for the beach, or to curl up with on the couch on a cold night.

All Amazon.com Reviews:

About The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

The year 1895 was filled with memorable historical events: the Dreyfus Affair divided France; Booker T. Washington gave his Atlanta address; Richard Olney, United States Secretary of State, expanded the effects of the Monroe Doctrine in settling a boundary dispute between the United Kingdom and Venezuela; and Oscar Wilde was tried and convicted for "gross indecency" under Britian's recently passed law that made sex between males a criminal offense. When the news of Wilde's conviction went out over telegraphs worldwide, it threw a small Nevada town into chaos. This is the story of what happened when the lives of its citizens were impacted by the news of Oscar Wildes' imprisonment. It is chronicle of hatred and prejudice with all its unintended and devastating consequences, and how love and friendship bring strength and healing. Paulette Mahurin, the author, is a Nurse Practitioner who lives in Ojai, California with her husband Terry and their two dogs--- Max and Bella. She practices women's health in a rural clinic and writes in her spare time. All profits from her book are going to animal rescue, Santa Paula Animal Shelter, the first and only no-kill shelter in Ventura County, CA, where she lives. (see links below on Ventura County Star Article & Shelter) To find out more please go the The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap on facebook or Amazon or e-mail us at the gavatar addresses. Thank you. (photos: of Paulette, her family, and a reading at The Ojai Art Center, July 2012)
This entry was posted in HIS NAME WAS BEN, REVIEWS, REVIEWS FOR HIS NAME WAS BEN. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to I know firsthand how the dreaded “C” word coming from an oncologist’s lips can set one’s world into a tailspin

  1. tazzielove says:

    Very thoughtful sharing in this review.

  2. natuurfreak says:

    Een heel pakkend revieuw

  3. Jean-Jacques says:

    Great review from Craig Furchtenicht, and all those prior accolades. I guess it is past time I buy me a copy of this best seller. In the meantime, once again, congratulations! >

    Jean-Jacques

  4. What an emotion-packed review. Congratulations. ❤

  5. Barb says:

    A superb and touching review from Craig Furchtenicht. Your book is opening new doors Paulette, wonderful!

  6. The weirdest part of having been diagnosed with cancer twice (two separate cancers) in two weeks was that I don’t remember feeling anything at all. After all the surgery and getting back on my feet, sort of, I was so depressed that I could barely breathe … yet oddly, I remember very little of that either. It’s 4 years later … and it’s still pretty much a blur. It happened but there’s no detail and little emotion.

    • Dear Marilyn, Thank you so much for this communication. I feel honored you shared it here with us. What you write is not unusual and some authorities attribute it to the shock of getting such a diagnosis, facing one’s mortality, that it creates such an adrenaline rush there is nothing to do but be present, without the thinking and emotional sequela that comes when there’s not such an imminent reaction. Without the thinking and emotions to try to make sense out of it while it’s happening (creating linear memory), it can remain a blur. You and your posts are such a beautiful inspiration, all of it, what you write about you, your most loving relationship, etc. and I feel very grateful our paths have crossed. Love, Paulette

  7. Wow. Another great review. Makes you proud I’m sure.

    • Thank you so much, Yvonne. I don’t know that I’d call what I feel as proud. More gratitude that in some very small way my words and the story I shared touched another life in this way. I don’t take ownership of things very well, or easily, and write a lot off to feeling/being lucky. What makes me the happiest is to envision that there will be lives impacted, of the dogs that the profits go to, and that keeps me hoping that in another small way the world becomes a better place. Sending you love and hopes you are doing well and continue to do well. Enjoy the holiday time. Love, Paulette

  8. jbw0123 says:

    Hi Paulette — Just featured your book on my bloggers’ books page: https://holdouts.wordpress.com/indie-bloggers-books-memoirs/

  9. What a simple yet honestly emotional review.. Good job connecting.
    Yisraela

  10. ❤ I can't see enough of these Paulette!!!! 😀

  11. I’m so happy for you. You’re obviously making an impact. Congrats on the book and keep writing your passion. Thank you so much for the follow. You actually beat me to the visit I’d planned on today. I’m so glad we’ve reconnected.

    Happy holidays,
    Diana

Leave a Reply

