Mankind has learned nothing from history

As all my profits are going to help get dogs out of kill shelters I want to thank all who have purchased my book and taken the time to write a review. I’m truly grateful for your support and feedback. Review from Romania:

5.0 out of 5 starsA story that will stay with me forever, August 2, 2015
This review is from: To Live Out Loud: A Novel (Kindle Edition)
A story that will stay with me forever, To Live Out Loud was a touching, terrifying book at times. So well written. Terrifying as it makes me realize, once again, that mankind has learned nothing from history and mistakes are repeated over and over again. I’m sad to see prejudice and narrow mindedness, the main themes of Mrs. Mahurin’s novel are so valid in our modern times, and so called ”democratic” countries. The principle of the freedom of the individual subordinated to that of national security is tackled in a masterful way in the story. Told in the first person by Charles Mandonette, lifelong friend of Emile Zola, the novel presents in a fictionalized form the great scandal that divided the French society during the Third Republic, because of the fixation in the minds of French nationalists that there was a conspiracy to destroy France’s Catholic identity. The most easily identifiable enemies were the Jews, because many were rich and their talents had led to a disproportionate presence in the judiciary, the civil service, the press and even the army. To Live Out Loud is a message novel, hatred or judgmental attitude highlighted in the smooth flowing story. Documents of that time are interspersed with fiction which makes the book a very special one. I read Zola’s books but I must confess my ignorance on this aspect of his great character – his courage and determination, his belief that truth must be defended no matter the consequences, and his dedication in fighting against injustice and prejudice. Even if defending the truth may jeopardize his own reputation and name. The pace and quality of the writing kept me anxiously flipping pages to see what would happen to Dreyfus and Zola. I wasn’t familiar with this critical event in the history of France so To Live Out Loud was a captivating view on the events. As I read all the other books written by this author, I can say that Mrs.Mahurin has an art in writing that just captivates you and you get sucked into the story.
Review from South Africa
5.0 out of 5 starsLoving this out loud., August 2, 2015
Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: To Live Out Loud: A Novel (Kindle Edition)
So I finished reading this book yesterday. I am glad I could not write my review directly because yesterday I was still thinking that this book is a very strong 4* read.It is a novel yes but it is foremost a historical novel. Which is something I love. However it is a short read with the emphasis on the historical aspect leaving little in the way of character development. And for me, identifying with a character is extremely important. So more than 24 hours later I keep playing the story over and over in my mind. And I have changed my mind.I cant relate so well with any of these characters because; I am not this selfless. I have never been so effused by a cause that I literally put my life on hold for it. Offered my life for it. I have never met a person whom is so utterly human and at the same time such a true hero whom I could admire. My own fallacies is the reason I had difficulty relating. I have heard the term – The Dreyfus affair before but honestly I assumed it was simply another American scandal and I was too lazy to look into it or question it. I am not sure what the curriculum is in other countries but in South Africa we have only touched on the French Revolution and learned about France’s role in WWII as a side note. Loving history as much as I do I now realize that I have an entire country to study up on. I loved the French location etc giving the book some more depth and more to love. I can only hope to find a person I can admire this much. That in a very small way I can live my life out loud like this. Taking a stand. Making life better.
on August 2, 2015
Paulette Mahurin has brought to life the France of the late nineteenth century…a society turning on itself in the wake of the humiliation of its defeat by Prussia and the challenge to those responsible for the defeat by the Paris commune; a country where scapegoats were required. This is a superb, human picture of those involved in the Dreyfus affair – a great introduction, too, for those who have vaguely heard of it without appreciating its significance in the wider context of discrimination.
on August 2, 2015
Paulette Mahurin, a writer well known for taking on biases (see her first novel, The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap) makes self-examination happen again, this time with To Live Out Loud, the exquisitely rendered fictionalized portrait of the Dreyfus Affair, a true story of anti-semitism and the fallout from (extremely brave)writer Emile Zola’s public letter accusing the government of the unlawful conviction of Alfred Dreyfus, a French-Jewish Army General Staff officer sentenced to life on Devil’s Island, for espionage (but of course he didn’t do it). Mahurin has a firm grip on her material, and pacing and language are superlative, which means I’ll be giving To Live Out Loud to all my friends come the holidays. Highly recommend.
on August 4, 2015

I am so glad I read this book for so many reasons. Here is one or two

First of all, all proceeds goes to rescuing dogs. Now that is a cause I understand and hooray for the efforts of the author to do something so noble.
Secondly. I have a 10 year old daughter, and although this book might be a bit above her head at this stage I fully plan that she read it once she is ready. I believe all children should see a good example and the more the better.
What better example than one where a man gives his life to give back honour to another mans live.

I think my husband, a history buff may love this as well. So now I have an idea for a virtual Christmas stocking filler to boot.

MORE RECENT REVIEWS:
on August 4, 2015
I was given a copy of this book to do a read and honest review on. Based on the 1895 scandal that rocked a nation and divided France, a Jewish soldier was unjustly sentenced to a lifetime imprisonment to Devil’s Island. When the news broke that he was falsely accused, Emile Zola stepped up to the plate to expose the facts to exonerate Alfred Dreyfus. The riveting events that are portrayed, based on factual events, make for a compelling read in this fictionalized story based on the true unfolding of the Dreyfus Affair and Zola’s attempts to free Dreyfus. Taken from courtroom transcripts and documented historical references the author weaves a story with scenes and dialogue that read like a top rate thriller, right down to the last page. Highly recommend.
5.0 out of 5 starsZola and Dreyfus in Search of Justice, August 4, 2015
Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: To Live Out Loud: A Novel (Kindle Edition)
Paulette Mahurin took her unusual title for this powerful little book from Emile Zola: “If you ask me what I came into this life to do, I will tell you: I came to live out loud.” In the aftermath of the travesty of Alfred Dreyfus’ 1895 trial and conviction for treason, Emile Zola is driven to use the power of his words, reputation, health and financial status to undo the injustice that tears at his soul. He is a devout Frenchman at heart and to see the anti-Semitism, lies, cover-ups and intrigue in the army, the judiciary and political camps is more than he can tolerate. He must find a way to redeem Dreyfus. The task he sets himself pulls on the strength of family and friends as assaults are made on his name, his allies, his home and his safety.
Mahurin uses the literary device of the fictional friend, Charles Mandonette, as narrator, interpreter and observer to follow Zola in his life and efforts. Charles, a father figure to Zola, guides, supports and agonizes over Zola as the writer digs into the matter of Dreyfus’ case. A noted novelist, playwright and liberal journalist, Zola hopes his article, J’Accuse , will result in a charge of libel against him, allowing Zola to introduce evidence on behalf of Dreyfus. He, sadly, underestimates the deep veins of corruption and power at work through the army, the government and the Catholic Church. Zola’s attorney is unable to secure their goal in the suit or in appeal and Zola ultimately flees to England for his safety as venom pours from the mouths and actions of Parisians. In 1899, the new government unseats the corrupt politicos, the power of the church and the army until Zola’s new trial gains the goal of freedom for Dreyfus by way of a presidential pardon.
In the generous use of Zola’s own words, a letter to the court by Lucie Dreyfus and other resources, Mahurin draws the reader into the intrigue and anguish of this historically true story. Her use of dialog and ruminations by both men are done in the spirit of the day, with speech patterns in a cadence reflective of the setting and era. The reader experiences the conflict, angst and courage of Zola as he paces, drinks his teas and wines, seeks fresh air. Seen through Charles’ eyes, Zola is drawn as a compassionate risk-taker who wants justice above all else. It will be more years before Dreyfus is exonerated and Zola does not live to see it.
Paulette Mahurin is a risk-taker in that she writes of challenging subjects: Lesbian relationships in The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap; the devastation that is cancer in His Name Was Ben; and, now, anti-Semitism and political corruption in To Live Out Loud. Mahurin’s two historical fiction books, set over 100 years ago, speak to the present. In a world increasingly marred by violence, pessimism easily takes root. Mahurin shows us that courage, hope and trust in humankind is not to be lost when such as Mildred, and Zola follow their hearts and beliefs. Each found support from others to champion their causes and prevail.

About The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

The year 1895 was filled with memorable historical events: the Dreyfus Affair divided France; Booker T. Washington gave his Atlanta address; Richard Olney, United States Secretary of State, expanded the effects of the Monroe Doctrine in settling a boundary dispute between the United Kingdom and Venezuela; and Oscar Wilde was tried and convicted for "gross indecency" under Britian's recently passed law that made sex between males a criminal offense. When the news of Wilde's conviction went out over telegraphs worldwide, it threw a small Nevada town into chaos. This is the story of what happened when the lives of its citizens were impacted by the news of Oscar Wildes' imprisonment. It is chronicle of hatred and prejudice with all its unintended and devastating consequences, and how love and friendship bring strength and healing. Paulette Mahurin, the author, is a Nurse Practitioner who lives in Ojai, California with her husband Terry and their two dogs--- Max and Bella. She practices women's health in a rural clinic and writes in her spare time. All profits from her book are going to animal rescue, Santa Paula Animal Shelter, the first and only no-kill shelter in Ventura County, CA, where she lives. (see links below on Ventura County Star Article & Shelter) To find out more please go the The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap on facebook or Amazon or e-mail us at the gavatar addresses. Thank you. (photos: of Paulette, her family, and a reading at The Ojai Art Center, July 2012)
This entry was posted in REVIEWS and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Mankind has learned nothing from history

  1. tazzielove says:

    Excellent reviews!

  2. Paulette, I had no idea that you had another book out. No wonder you have been so quiet. The reviews are wonderfully written and you can be proud that you have now authored three beautifully written books that have sold well if not very well.

    Yvonne D.

  3. Clanmother says:

    We must stand firmly together against intolerance and hatred. My quote for today was by Ralph Waldo Emerson: “The purpose of life is not to be happy. It is to be useful, to be honorable, to be compassionate to have it make some difference that you have lived and lived well.” Perhaps that is the true definition of happiness! 🙂

  4. I’m not so worried that my review didn’t make it… 🙂

  5. natuurfreak says:

    Wish you a big succes with your new book.

  6. Clowie says:

    Great reviews!

  7. jakesprinter says:

    Great stories ..well done my friend !

  8. jmsabbagh says:

    Hi, not only humans have learned nothing from history ,they refuse to admit that History repeats itself.Today more than ever people ought to respect History,otherwise the futures looks so dim.Best regards.Jalal

  9. agenda19892010 says:

    Happy Sunday ☺.

  10. ZIGMA says:

    Awful just keep it up

  11. agenda19892010 says:

    Happy Monday ☺

  12. agenda19892010 says:

Leave a Reply

