Books help dogs get out of kill shelters

I’m grateful that my books continue to sell and that readers take the time to write reviews, which further helps to promote them. All profits from all my books go to help dogs, like those featured below, to get out of kill shelters and land safely with rescues, foster homes, or their forever homes. Thank you to all who have purchased one of my books, spread the word, written a review, or helped in any other way. To all of you, I am grateful.
CURRENT REVIEWS OF THE PERSECUTION OF MILDRED DUNLAP
on March 29, 2016
Well written interesting, information.
LINK FOR PURCHASE OF ALL MY BOOKS:
GRATEFUL DOGS
Asher:Phoenix freedom ride

Phoenix’s freedom ride

Bear's been rescued

Bear’s been rescued

Bear's freedom photo - she's a happy girl

Bear’s freedom photo

COOPER'S FREEDOM PHOTO.jpg

Cooper’s freedom photo

Dandelion with new dad

Dandelion getting love from new dad

Dandelion getting love from new mom.jpg

Dandelion getting love from new mom

Dandelion and her new sibling

Dandelion with new sibling in great big yard

Dandelion in her new home putting on some well needed pounds

Dandelion loving the food and putting on some well needed pounds.

Duke-11 y:o male akita is out and free

Duke, 11 year-old male Akita has been rescued

DUKE'S FREEDOME PHOTO.jpg

Duke’s freedom photo

Gabriel's freedom photo.jpg

Gabrielle with new mom

Gabriells

Gabrielle’s freedom photo

Stay tuned for more photos with the arrival of my new book soon to be released. The Seven Year Dress  is the story of a Jewish teenage girl’s coming of age during the persecution and destruction that occurred in Berlin under Hitler’s regime. From the safety of her loving and comfortable home through the evil gates of Auschwitz she endured a living hell. This is her unforgettable story. Based on the life of a woman I rented a room from while attending UCLA, it was a story I had to write.

About The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

The year 1895 was filled with memorable historical events: the Dreyfus Affair divided France; Booker T. Washington gave his Atlanta address; Richard Olney, United States Secretary of State, expanded the effects of the Monroe Doctrine in settling a boundary dispute between the United Kingdom and Venezuela; and Oscar Wilde was tried and convicted for "gross indecency" under Britian's recently passed law that made sex between males a criminal offense. When the news of Wilde's conviction went out over telegraphs worldwide, it threw a small Nevada town into chaos. This is the story of what happened when the lives of its citizens were impacted by the news of Oscar Wildes' imprisonment. It is chronicle of hatred and prejudice with all its unintended and devastating consequences, and how love and friendship bring strength and healing. Paulette Mahurin, the author, is a Nurse Practitioner who lives in Ojai, California with her husband Terry and their two dogs--- Max and Bella. She practices women's health in a rural clinic and writes in her spare time. All profits from her book are going to animal rescue, Santa Paula Animal Shelter, the first and only no-kill shelter in Ventura County, CA, where she lives. (see links below on Ventura County Star Article & Shelter) To find out more please go the The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap on facebook or Amazon or e-mail us at the gavatar addresses. Thank you. (photos: of Paulette, her family, and a reading at The Ojai Art Center, July 2012)
This entry was posted in REVIEWS. Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Books help dogs get out of kill shelters

  1. tazzielove says:

    Love seeing those puppy faces.

  2. Oh those puppy dogs. So sweet and so lucky all because of your books. May the new one sell as well or even better than your other books.

    • Thank you so much. It’s profits from my books and a whole lot of other good people contributing and helping. A lot of beautiful collaborative effort. Very grateful for your kind words, Yvonne. And I hope you and all your end are well. ❤

      • My son is doing very well as of 3 months past his ATV wreck. Only sign of his TBI (as far as I can tell, presently) is a speech impediment which is not severe. He has difficulty pronouncing some words if he is excited or anxious. Goes to speech therapy x3 per week. I call him a miracle.

      • Yes, he is a miracle. Thank goodness he’s recovering. The speech impediment may resolve in time. One can hope. This life we live is so fragile and precious. I’m reminded of it every day. Sending love to you and your family. Paulette

  3. So generous of you to give your time and book revenues to this wonderful cause. Much love from the UK! ❤

  4. cindy knoke says:

    I do hope you know I have have donated and will continue to donate to your efforts because I am so impressed with what you do, why you do it, and how you do it.
    You rock. And your doggies break my heart. Each one.

    • Bless your sweet heart, Cindy. I firmly believe that helping in any way, whether it’s getting a dog out of a kill shelter, helping rescue an abused spouse or child, lending a hand and some time to the homeless, etc. all of that makes the world a better place. That’s what it’s all about. Dogs are my passion and I’m grateful for anyone who jumps on this bandwagon. Thank you! ❤

  5. cindy knoke says:

    PS- I want Bear! ❤ ❤

  6. cindy knoke says:

    I just did another, to Santa Paula Animal Shelter. I hope this is correct.

    • That’s really generous of you. Profits from my first book go to them. Profits from my second book go to Canine Adoption Rescue League in Ventura County, and profits from my third book go toward individual dogs (like those above) getting out of a multitude of kill shelters. I’m among one of the many who pledge to get them out or directly help with this effort in some way. It takes a bunch of us to help one dog. Once the light shines on them and interest is gathered the changes they will be adopted/fostered increases immensely. Any help you give anywhere to help a dog assist along with the efforts I’m trying to put forth. I can’t thank you enough. ❤

  7. makagutu says:

    Hi Paulette, hope you have been well this many days.

  8. Ben and Mildred. Angels. 🙂

  9. natuurfreak says:

    Thanks to your books a lot of dogs are happy now.

  10. So many success stories makes me happy. And our rescue boy is doing VERY well!

  11. Best post of the day, dear Paulette. Seeing all the doggies, makes us very happy.
    I think that must be a hard book to write, but we already love the caption. Thanks for your Easter wishes, while we were gulped down by the introooders. Hope you had a wonderful time as well:) Double Pawkiss:)❤

    • Aww, your sweet pawkisses always make our hearts purrrrr. Thank you so much. And yes it was a very difficult subject matter to research. Unthinkable really but in such tragedy there is depth and from that a different and comforting compassion sprang forth. These things are going on now and it is a continuing sorrow for my heart that the human condition doesn’t rise above hatred and persecution. As always I so appreciate your stopping by and lightening my day. Many pawkisses back to ya’ll. ❤ p.s. saving the dogs is the benediction for dealing with tough matters and all the work put in.

  12. paws2smile says:

    Fantastic! I love when you post pics of all the pups! 🙂

  13. The new book sounds awesome – and you know I love to see so many dogs finding a safe place!

  14. You are a true hero! My favorite breed of dog is “rescue”. I have six rescues. Three cats and three dogs. I can’t imagine my life without them. Thank you for your generosity.
    Hugs,
    Leah

    • Ah Leah, you are a kindred soul. Thank you so much for rescuing all your fur babies. I’m right there with you on “can’t imagine my life without them.” And thank you for stopping by and your supportive sweet comment. Made my day! ❤

      • You are so sweet! Thank you for responding. My first rescue came at the age of five. We lived on 40 acres in the middle of almost nowhere. My mom came across five kittens that were all alone. They were approximately 3-4 weeks old. We figured their mommy probably got hurt or killed by the pack of wild dogs that roamed the countryside. Mom used to have a picture of me in my twin bed at the age of seven with all five cats and all three dogs snuggled up against me. It’s a darn good thing I was tiny for my age! Mind you, these were not small dogs. One adult Dalmatian and two adult Airedale Terriers. Those were honestly the happiest days of my often painful childhood. I was born bipolar and they didn’t care. I didn’t fit in with other children.
        I rescued Rocky almost two years ago from a humane society in the next county over there. I actually went to look at a 3 month old female Shepherd mix to go along with our other female Shepherd mix. Wile searching for her kennel, I found myself standing in front of another kennel with the most beautiful boy Shepherd mix who was jumping at least five feet in the air. Nonstop. I looked into his eyes and he begged me to take him home with me. I know. People are really going to think I have a lot of screws loose now. They speak to me with their eyes and I can feel their spirits. I explained to my husband that our plans were now changed. That was his last day with a guarantee he would not die. He had been thrown out of a moving vehicle and a kind man took him to the pound.
        There are many days in which my pain meds just don’t seem to work and he can sense it. He will come and lay over my hip and demand that I put my arm around him. Crazy as it may sound, he soothes me and makes it bearable. My pain level goes down every time. He was abused and neglected and found a safe place with us. He will not leave my side. He goes everywhere I go in the house. Always.
        I apologize for being so long-winded. I always am. Isolation has a way of doing that. You truly are a hero. It is such an honor to meet you.
        Hugs,
        Leah

      • Thank you so much, Leah. For your open poignant communication. Animals have a way of comforting that I think us “humans” could learn a lot from. I understand what you’ve written. Big hug to you. ❤

Leave a Reply

