The Seven Year Dress makes you a part of that moment in history…I felt as though I knew Helen.

My book is in the top 1% for sales on Amazon Kindle Store and is #57 in top 100 for the literary-fiction-historical category. I’m deeply grateful for everyone who has purchased, read, and taken the time to review my book. In the name of tolerance, a special thank you also to everyone who has spread the word to help promote this book.  All profits from my books go to help get dogs like Andy and Frosty (featured below) out of kill shelters. Thus far in 2016, 60 dogs have been freed. Last year 148 dogs were freed.

AND please for everyone who’s purchased a book could I humbly ask you to write a review when you’ve completed the read. I have just found out that Amazon promotes and ranks books according to number of reviews in addition to sales. Every voice helps spread the word and that is an energy that can help a dog.

 

LINK TO PURCHASE ALL MY BOOKS and to see all reviews for all my
books click on the books cover:
RECENT REVIEWS FOR THE SEVEN YEAR DRESS
on July 16, 2016
When I started reading this book I was worried about being horrified about the subject matter. This author quickly rid me of those feelings. The characters come alive, they’re actual people that I can relate to. The writing takes you to that moment in time, you feel the emotions, the pain and the fears.
I grew up reading the Holocaust stories of my generation. The Seven Year Dress takes all of that information and makes it so much more real and makes you a part of that moment in time. I had a hard time putting it down, just wanted to keep on reading and find out what happened to my favorite characters. Definitely another home run book for this author, can’t wait for her next one!
on July 19, 2016
I have read, watched and heard so many things about the Holocaust growing up,but this story really hit my heart. I could see in my mind every detail of this story as if I were living it. I felt as though I knew Helen and could feel everything she went through. As I read this book all I could think is it needs to read by everyone. Paulette is such a beautiful writer Thank You for such a wonderful story.
on July 18, 2016

Wow, another well written historical novel from Paulette! We didn’t want to put it down. Given all the amazing reviews, and the fact that The Seven Year Dress is still in the top 1% of sales on Amazon for historical fiction novels, and that all profits from Paulette’s books are used to help rescue animals, this is a definite “must read” for 2016!

 

RECENT REVIEWS FROM THE PERSECUTION OF MILDRED DUNLAP:

on July 20, 2016
Good book.
on June 29, 2016
This story in this book seemed so real. Several places made me wonder, if the story was fact with a little fiction added. Once started it was very difficult to lay aside to prepare dinner.

 

Andy's been rescued

Andy’s been rescued

Andy's freedom photo

Andy’s freedom photo

Andy's happy in her new home

Andy happy in her new home

Frosty's been rescued

Frosty’s been rescued

Fosty is now safe with a wonderful dog rescue- Delaney's Dog Rescue

Sweet senior Frosty was rescued by Delaney’s Dog Rescue and will be placed with a loving family.

THE SEVEN YEAR DRESS: AMAZON RANK IN THE KINDLE BOOK STORE OUT OF OVER 1.5 MILLION BOOKS.

#57   Screen Shot 2016-07-21 at 3.28.31 PM

 

About The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

The year 1895 was filled with memorable historical events: the Dreyfus Affair divided France; Booker T. Washington gave his Atlanta address; Richard Olney, United States Secretary of State, expanded the effects of the Monroe Doctrine in settling a boundary dispute between the United Kingdom and Venezuela; and Oscar Wilde was tried and convicted for "gross indecency" under Britian's recently passed law that made sex between males a criminal offense. When the news of Wilde's conviction went out over telegraphs worldwide, it threw a small Nevada town into chaos. This is the story of what happened when the lives of its citizens were impacted by the news of Oscar Wildes' imprisonment. It is chronicle of hatred and prejudice with all its unintended and devastating consequences, and how love and friendship bring strength and healing. Paulette Mahurin, the author, is a Nurse Practitioner who lives in Ojai, California with her husband Terry and their two dogs--- Max and Bella. She practices women's health in a rural clinic and writes in her spare time. All profits from her book are going to animal rescue, Santa Paula Animal Shelter, the first and only no-kill shelter in Ventura County, CA, where she lives. (see links below on Ventura County Star Article & Shelter) To find out more please go the The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap on facebook or Amazon or e-mail us at the gavatar addresses. Thank you. (photos: of Paulette, her family, and a reading at The Ojai Art Center, July 2012)
This entry was posted in REVIEWS, THE SEVEN YEAR DRESS. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to The Seven Year Dress makes you a part of that moment in history…I felt as though I knew Helen.

  1. tazzielove says:

    Wow, #67 out of top 100 for the literary fiction historical category is great. Bravo.

  2. tazzielove says:

    Reblogged this on tazziesplace and commented:
    The Seven Year Dress ranked #57 in the top 100 books in the literary fiction historical category in the Amazon kindle bookstore.

  3. Bless those dear dogs pea picking hearts. Love the photos-such sweet dogs.

  4. Littlesundog says:

    These are great photos – they just melt my heart!

  5. This is Amazing, Paulette! Pawkisses for Good Luck to all of the rescued doggies and your books❤❤❤

  6. Well done Paulette. How wonderful to be able to help those unwanted dogs. Andy has huge ears like my Podencos! Frosty is a beautiful looking older dog. Often overlooked and left behind😦

    Incidentally, the photos don’t always come up properly on my iPad, the Andy ones work OK, but the Frosty ones are cut off right. Odd. And, natch, I want to look at happy dog photos.

    • Good morning my friend. I know about the photos and it’s frustrating. I’ve tried to left space them, center them, but apparently it’s the way they sit on the page and can’t find out how to change that. I’ve asked how I can change it and tried everything but it doesn’t show on my blog page. They are centered in the e-mails and when I am working on the post. Weird and I apologize. If you ever want me to send you the photo in an attachment to an e-mail send me your e-mail address and I’m happy to do that. Yes, Frosty is an older dog and thankfully was rescued. Such a cutie. And I just love Andy’s ears, that photo is too precious. Thank you so much for stopping by and sharing the joy.❤

      • Good afternoon🙂 I’m thinking it’s the theme. It doesn’t work on my ipad or phone, but I haven’t tried the computer as I rarely use that to blog. Is it meant to be tablet/mobile compatible?

        Separately I’m hoping to read this after summer. Right now I’ve put a halt on all book-related things as I have other crap to sort and I don’t want yours to get lost in the TBR pile.

        The only other thing re the photos might be downsizing them? For me, the blog comes up with huge wide margins and takes a long time to load. I tried looking horizontally but made no difference. It’s a shame, as I think the rescued dogs are a big part of this blog and your books.

      • Thank you so much for taking the time with this. I’ve tried to downsize and it still lands off the side. I don’t have a smart phone or tablet so can’t check on that. I get the photos from facebook, rescues, foster parents, new family parents of the dogs, and some center perfectly – others off the side. I don’t want to leave any off because they do show up on the e-mails and in Reader oddly enough but not on the blog page. I’ll also query wordpress for help. And if anyone out there sees this and has the same problem with a resolution I’m all eyes.

        And I’m excited to have you read my book when it’s right for you. Thank you for your interest. And support.❤

  7. Yay for more rescued dogs and great reviews!

  8. Deziz World says:

    ConCats to you and to poor sweet Frosty. We;s so glad he was helped. We’s sendin’ some purrayers fur him to get all better.

    Luv ya’

    Dezi and Raena

  9. Kev says:

    Great news, Paulette! 😀

  10. Lara/Trace says:

    So proud of YOU!

  11. natuurfreak says:

    Gorgeous what you did

Leave a Reply

