A Reader Writes: I Have Finally Found My Place In This World, But More Importantly My Place With God

  • This coming year my New Years resolution is going to be that I have zero tolerance for bigotry, racism, or bullying, and I am starting it today. I have been struggling with my faith in God because of all the so called Christians spewing hate, saying that to believe I needed to believe the way they do, to be saved. Yesterday I realized I didn’t have to struggle, I could believe in God, let him into my heart, believe in the Universe, believe in Mother Earth. Believe that we are all created equal, no matter the color of our skin or who we choose to love. My God truly is great and loving and doesn’t care who we love as long as we love. God, the Universe and My sweet Mother Earth are all one and the same, and only want us to take care of each other, the creatures on this earth and the earth it’s self. My heart is so full today, and I am filled with peace. I have FINALLY found my place in this world, but more importantly my place with God.

    thank you for this wonderful book, it played a very strong part in my search for God

    Unlike ·
    • The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap This absolutely took my breath away. May I have your permission to put this on my blog site and show it around?
    • Sally Dennis Young please do, I really can’t thank you enough for the helping me with my struggle to find God
    • The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap Sally Dennis Young: everything you needed to find has always been with you. I’m extremely grateful my book helped shine a light back to what is true for you. I had an interview recently in which someone asked me if I was down on the Church, to which I wrote, nothing in my book or my heart is down on any religion (church, temple, mosque, etc). The point of the story, the point of intolerance, is directed at hatred, a heart that doesn’t see another in all their beauty as being a human being, just like me, after all we are all human. The point of hatred is that it makes an individual bad and diverts away from accuracy, which is simply this “I do not agree with, nor do I like, something you do, but I accept our differences.” The whole point is can we embrace differences without hatred toward an individual? I am grateful our paths have crossed.
    • Write a comment…

About The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

The year 1895 was filled with memorable historical events: the Dreyfus Affair divided France; Booker T. Washington gave his Atlanta address; Richard Olney, United States Secretary of State, expanded the effects of the Monroe Doctrine in settling a boundary dispute between the United Kingdom and Venezuela; and Oscar Wilde was tried and convicted for "gross indecency" under Britian's recently passed law that made sex between males a criminal offense. When the news of Wilde's conviction went out over telegraphs worldwide, it threw a small Nevada town into chaos. This is the story of what happened when the lives of its citizens were impacted by the news of Oscar Wildes' imprisonment. It is chronicle of hatred and prejudice with all its unintended and devastating consequences, and how love and friendship bring strength and healing. Paulette Mahurin, the author, is a Nurse Practitioner who lives in Ojai, California with her husband Terry and their two dogs--- Max and Bella. She practices women's health in a rural clinic and writes in her spare time. All profits from her book are going to animal rescue, Santa Paula Animal Shelter, the first and only no-kill shelter in Ventura County, CA, where she lives. (see links below on Ventura County Star Article & Shelter) To find out more please go the The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap on facebook or Amazon or e-mail us at the gavatar addresses. Thank you. (photos: of Paulette, her family, and a reading at The Ojai Art Center, July 2012)
This entry was posted in CONVERSATIONS. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Reader Writes: I Have Finally Found My Place In This World, But More Importantly My Place With God

  1. neelkanth says:

    A very fascinating writeup. Nice.
    Thank you for your ‘like’ on my blog with a ‘following’. I too have liked yours and am following it with immediate effect. Let us jointly move in our chosen direction.

  2. seeker says:

    Wow, I don’t know what to say about opening up to the divine. That is marvelous! I am intrigue about Mildred Dunlap. I must seek this out. Thank you for seeking me.

Leave a Reply

